LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Complete CCNA, CCNP & Red Hat Certification Training Bundle
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 02-12-2018, 10:51 AM   #1
newhorizons009
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2016
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Ping stops after cable connect


Hello All,

When my system boots up the ethernet port which is connected to my PC pings fine.

When I remove and insert the cable on either end, the ping stops and doesnt restore.

Messages I see is below.
libphy: stmmac-1:03 - Link is Down
libphy: stmmac-1:03 - Link is Up - 100/Full

Now if I do, ifconfig eth0 down and ifconfig eth0 up, the ping starts back again. Whats different is I see the link ready message which I didnt see when I plugged the cable back in.

eth1: device MAC address 00:11:ca:99:00:b1
IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth1: link is not ready
/etc/netplug.d # libphy: stmmac-1:03 - Link is Up - 100/Full
IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth1: link becomes ready

What may I missing in my netplugd ?
 
Old 02-12-2018, 02:42 PM   #2
jefro
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 18,254

Rep: Reputation: 2728Reputation: 2728Reputation: 2728Reputation: 2728Reputation: 2728Reputation: 2728Reputation: 2728Reputation: 2728Reputation: 2728Reputation: 2728Reputation: 2728
"When I remove and insert the cable on either end, the ping stops and doesnt restore."

Not sure that is a fault. What exactly do you wish to prove by this test? Kind of a lot going on in this. What is this Long Range Systems Inc. 00:11:CA?
 
Old 02-12-2018, 10:09 PM   #3
JJJCR
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,464

Rep: Reputation: 255Reputation: 255Reputation: 255
I'm not sure whether you are referring to let your system interfaces to automatically detect the connection when it gets disconnected.

If you're using static IP Addressing.

Try going to: /etc/network/interfaces

And set the settings of your NIC, to auto. see sample config below.

Quote:
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.8.5
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.8.254
 
Old 02-13-2018, 08:11 AM   #4
newhorizons009
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2016
Posts: 18

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
My problem is my system is pinging a host just fine, but after the cable is removed and replugged, the pinging stops. Until I do ifconfig eth1 down and ifconfig eth1 up. After doing that the pinging resumes.
 
Old 02-13-2018, 08:12 AM   #5
newhorizons009
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2016
Posts: 18

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by jefro View Post
"When I remove and insert the cable on either end, the ping stops and doesnt restore."

Not sure that is a fault. What exactly do you wish to prove by this test? Kind of a lot going on in this. What is this Long Range Systems Inc. 00:11:CA?
My problem is my system is pinging a host just fine, but after the cable is removed and replugged, the pinging stops. Until I do ifconfig eth1 down and ifconfig eth1 up. After doing that the pinging resumes.
 
Old 02-13-2018, 11:21 AM   #6
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 8,745
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141
^ isn't that the expected behaviour?
 
Old 02-13-2018, 12:45 PM   #7
newhorizons009
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2016
Posts: 18

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by ondoho View Post
^ isn't that the expected behaviour?
Expected behaviour would be to not do the ifconfig eth1 down and ifconfig eth1 up wouldn't it ? Plug the cable and the interface gets configured and its good to go without doing any manual commands.
 
Old 02-13-2018, 07:26 PM   #8
JJJCR
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,464

Rep: Reputation: 255Reputation: 255Reputation: 255
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by newhorizons009 View Post
Expected behaviour would be to not do the ifconfig eth1 down and ifconfig eth1 up wouldn't it ? Plug the cable and the interface gets configured and its good to go without doing any manual commands.
Have you tried changing the config to: auto eth0

Edit, try this also:
set eth0 config to:
ONBOOT=yes
check network level, type this at the command line:
/sbin/chkconfig --level 2345 network on

Last edited by JJJCR; 02-14-2018 at 03:25 AM. Reason: edit
 
Old 02-14-2018, 01:11 AM   #9
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 8,745
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141
Quote:
Originally Posted by newhorizons009 View Post
Expected behaviour would be to not do the ifconfig eth1 down and ifconfig eth1 up wouldn't it ? Plug the cable and the interface gets configured and its good to go without doing any manual commands.
actually you're right.

for me it raises the questions what actually manages your network connections.
on my system it's systemd, and nothing else:(*)
Code:
systemctl|grep eth
i could imagine networkmanager interfering, if you use it.

what distro, setup?

(*) on my distro, netplug isn't even in the repos anymore, i think systemd long since provides that functionality.
which systemd version?

Last edited by ondoho; 02-14-2018 at 01:14 AM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Server Stops Responding to ping/ssh/etc jughead Linux - Networking 3 02-11-2008 10:57 AM
ping stops to run prital Linux - Networking 1 02-14-2005 07:14 PM
Cable internet stops working while in use Khordes Slackware 4 11-20-2004 10:41 AM
Dell Latitude stops charging/ can't use with power cable connected Ollir Linux - Laptop and Netbook 0 08-07-2004 01:39 AM
Cable modem stops working after an hour of connectivity thepaemon Linux - Networking 2 05-31-2004 03:38 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration