LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 12-05-2017, 11:37 PM   #1
dugan
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: Canada
Distribution: distro hopper
Posts: 11,225

Rep: Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320
FISH Settings


A lot of the environment-setup stuff that Slackware sets up for BASH and CSH (and I assume, ZSH) isn't done for FISH. Here's my atttempt at adding them back, on a system with ktown and Alien Bob's OpenJDK package:

Code:
set -x JAVA_HOME /usr/lib64/java

set -x PATH $PATH /usr/games /usr/lib64/qt/bin /usr/lib64/qt5/bin /usr/lib64/kf5 /usr/lib64/kde4/libexec $JAVA_HOME/bin $JAVA_HOME/jre/bin

set -x MANPATH $MANPATH /usr/man $JAVA_HOME/man

if status --is-login
    echo
    fortune fortunes fortunes2 linuxcookie
    echo
end

if [ -f $HOME/.dir_colors ]
  eval (/bin/dircolors -c $HOME/.dir_colors)
else
  eval (/bin/dircolors -c /etc/DIR_COLORS)
end

set -x KDEDIRS /usr
set -x QT5DIR /usr/lib64/qt5
set -x QT4DIR /usr/lib64/qt
set -x CPLUS_INCLUDE_PATH /usr/lib64/qt/include
    
set -x FREETYPE_PROPERTIES "truetype:interpreter-version=40"
set -x GDK_USE_XFT 1
set -x LANG en_US.UTF-8
set -x T1LIB_CONFIG /usr/share/t1lib/t1lib.config
set -x VDPAU_LOG 0

# This line, in particular, seems to be needed for KDE 5. 
# Without it you just get a black desktop.
set -x XDG_CONFIG_DIRS /etc/xdg:/etc/kde/xdg

set -x XDG_RUNTIME_DIR /tmp/xdg-runtime-$USER
mkdir -p $XDG_RUNTIME_DIR
chown $USER $XDG_RUNTIME_DIR
chmod 700 $XDG_RUNTIME_DIR

set -x PKG_CONFIG_PATH /usr/lib64/pkgconfig /usr/share/pkgconfig

Last edited by dugan; 12-06-2017 at 12:48 AM.
 
Old 12-06-2017, 12:37 AM   #2
Didier Spaier
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Paris, France
Distribution: Slint64-15.0
Posts: 11,057

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Thanks Dugan for sharing.

You made me discover yet_another_shell.

FWIW here is what I write in .profile, read by several shells including BASH:

Code:
export XDG_CACHE_HOME=/dev/shm/$(whoami)
mkdir -p /dev/shm/$(whoami)
chmod 700 /dev/shm/$(whoami)
export XDG_RUNTIME_DIR=$XDG_CACHE_HOME
Rationale:
1) Some upstream devs use XDG_RUNTIME_DIR for the same purposes as other use XDG_CACHE_HOME. Using the same directory for both helps e.g. to find a socket written in the former and looked for in the latter, or reverse, for instance.
2) Using /dev/shm provides an auto-cleaning of the cache when the system goes down for halt or reboot. This avoids the hassle of cleaning the cache manually or limiting it for applications cache-hungry like web browsers. Of course this is more useful when the system is used as a desktop or laptop than as an almost never rebooted server.
3) I didn't encounter an ill effect of these settings so far.

I will make this the default in upcoming Slint release.

As an aside, many people including me like to have /tmp in RAM, but i wouldn't like to impose that to others, especially newbies.

Last edited by Didier Spaier; 12-07-2017 at 01:19 AM. Reason: Typo corrected
 
Old 12-06-2017, 10:01 AM   #3
orbea
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2015
Distribution: Slackware64-current
Posts: 1,950

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugan View Post
A lot of the environment-setup stuff that Slackware sets up for BASH and CSH (and I assume, ZSH) isn't done for FISH.
In case anyone is wondering why, the reason is that fish is inherently incompatible with any bourne or C shell. In their efforts of making their shell user friendly they broke any and all compatibility. Note that this is also true between bourne and c shells, but those both have a long history of use while fish reinvented the wheel out of ignorance of how other shells work... (I have friends who are all about fish and have exposed me to it...)
 
Old 12-06-2017, 11:01 AM   #4
dugan
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: Canada
Distribution: distro hopper
Posts: 11,225

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320
Quote:
Originally Posted by orbea View Post
fish reinvented the wheel out of ignorance
Obviously, that's nonsense. Orbea, just a heads up: I'm tired of your attitude and I've had you on ignore since last week. Just so you know.

Last edited by dugan; 12-06-2017 at 11:07 AM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 12-07-2017, 01:17 AM   #5
orbea
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2015
Distribution: Slackware64-current
Posts: 1,950

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
That's not a very productive response, if you have some specific complaints you should come out and explain them. Or do you want me to just guess at what attitude you have grown tired of?

That said its not a non-sense complaint. They even broke compatibility with the standard POSIX array. Something that works even with true bourne shells.

See the heirloom shell.
https://slackbuilds.org/repository/1...m/heirloom-sh/

Code:
$ eval "set -- foo bar baf"
$ echo $1
foo
$ echo $2
bar
$ echo $3
baf
Or how about the lack of the standard 'and' or 'or' operators.
Code:
foo && bar
foo || bar
I assume people who are reading this thread want more than one view point so they can make their own informed opinions. If you just want to sing to the choir I'm not sure a forum is your best venue.

Last edited by orbea; 12-07-2017 at 01:18 AM.
 
Old 12-07-2017, 11:16 AM   #6
dugan
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: Canada
Distribution: distro hopper
Posts: 11,225

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320
EDIT:

Never mind. I just remembered that announcing that I have you on ignore and then continuing engage with you is silly.

Last edited by dugan; 12-07-2017 at 11:37 AM.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Konqueror fish into fish, nested fish command? Altrex Linux - Newbie 2 03-01-2013 04:36 PM
Fish out of water scandalist General 8 04-05-2012 11:03 PM
What firewall settings to use fish: on my lan? sirius57 Linux - Networking 4 02-29-2008 05:11 AM
and thanx for all that fish bid LinuxQuestions.org Member Intro 1 10-01-2004 02:32 PM
teach me to fish bandofmercy Linux - General 6 04-10-2003 01:40 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration