LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-31-2020, 02:49 PM   #1
cary.perque
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2020
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
do off the shelf psu work with lenovo desktop


Hello

Not sure what I can add.

Hopefully it doesn't matter but IS6XM is the model number

thank you
 
Old 03-31-2020, 02:57 PM   #2
sevendogsbsd
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2017
Posts: 1,772

Rep: Reputation: 754Reputation: 754Reputation: 754Reputation: 754Reputation: 754Reputation: 754Reputation: 754
A little vague but assuming you mean to replace a PSU in a Lenovo desktop and are wondering if a generic one will do. I assume yes, but I would google the model number or get specs for it so your purchase matches. Also see if any of the connectors are proprietary. I haven't owned a commercial PC in years so not sure how they are now in terms of proprietary hardware.

Last edited by sevendogsbsd; 03-31-2020 at 03:02 PM.
 
Old 03-31-2020, 03:24 PM   #3
beachboy2
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Location: Wild West Wales, UK
Distribution: Linux Mint 19.2 MATE, MX-19, antiX, Manjaro
Posts: 2,900
Blog Entries: 16

Rep: Reputation: 1074Reputation: 1074Reputation: 1074Reputation: 1074Reputation: 1074Reputation: 1074Reputation: 1074Reputation: 1074
cary.perque,

Welcome to LQ forums.

An off the shelf PSU similar to this Corsair 350W should fit the bill:

https://www.ebuyer.com/726364-corsai...SABEgJ2ZPD_BwE

OR the 450w version:
https://www.ebuyer.com/835000-corsai...-cp-9020170-uk

Original PSU was either 280W or 320W:
https://support.lenovo.com/gb/en/solutions/pd013522
 
Old 03-31-2020, 03:25 PM   #4
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 14,261
Blog Entries: 9

Rep: Reputation: 3949Reputation: 3949Reputation: 3949Reputation: 3949Reputation: 3949Reputation: 3949Reputation: 3949Reputation: 3949Reputation: 3949Reputation: 3949Reputation: 3949
A whole bunch (literally) of connectors. They should be the same as on your old PSU, at least the ones that are connected.
Wattage should be sufficient - there's calculators for that on the net. One example.

Beyond that I don't understand what "off the shelf" means - as opposed to what?
 
Old 03-31-2020, 03:27 PM   #5
sevendogsbsd
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2017
Posts: 1,772

Rep: Reputation: 754Reputation: 754Reputation: 754Reputation: 754Reputation: 754Reputation: 754Reputation: 754
I think OP meant whatever one Lenovo had installed from the factory - didn't know if it was proprietary. For example, my old HP z800 had a proprietary power supply you could only get from HP.
 
Old 03-31-2020, 09:45 PM   #6
cary.perque
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2020
Posts: 5

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Thank you everyone . . . and for the welcome.

sevendogsbsd had it right, I wanted to replace lenovo psu with one I had (covid isolation)

What I ended doing was mcguyvering the old psu to get into the bios to get model number and brand name and also using the number on the motherboard and using a bit of google alchemy I finally found a couple half answers plus what beachboy2 said that lead me to conclude that it was OK

There was no smoke and I was able to reinstall.

thank you

Last edited by cary.perque; 03-31-2020 at 10:29 PM. Reason: credit where due
 
Old 04-01-2020, 02:04 AM   #7
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 14,261
Blog Entries: 9

Rep: Reputation: 3949Reputation: 3949Reputation: 3949Reputation: 3949Reputation: 3949Reputation: 3949Reputation: 3949Reputation: 3949Reputation: 3949Reputation: 3949Reputation: 3949
Great!
So the answer to your question is yes?

If you could plese mark your thread SOLVED (see my signature).
 
Old 04-01-2020, 03:12 AM   #8
beachboy2
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Location: Wild West Wales, UK
Distribution: Linux Mint 19.2 MATE, MX-19, antiX, Manjaro
Posts: 2,900
Blog Entries: 16

Rep: Reputation: 1074Reputation: 1074Reputation: 1074Reputation: 1074Reputation: 1074Reputation: 1074Reputation: 1074Reputation: 1074
Quote:
Originally Posted by ondoho View Post
Beyond that I don't understand what "off the shelf" means - as opposed to what?
The OP was asking whether it was okay to fit a different (i.e. off-the-shelf ) PSU with similar wattage rating, such as Corsair, Thermaltake, CiT etc, as opposed to the original Lenovo one.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[solved] unwanted power off, requires hard restart, good PSU & MB & HDD [PSU] galen Linux - Hardware 7 12-23-2018 09:24 AM
Anyone know of a good off-the-shelf NAS that supports NFS? netboy_541 Linux - Hardware 1 11-12-2008 10:41 AM
rsync to an off-the-shelf NAS JacekZ Linux - Networking 3 08-21-2006 08:32 PM
Is there any off the shelf wlan cards for FC5? tds2000_us Linux - Wireless Networking 1 07-30-2006 01:55 PM
Off the Shelf Desktop and Laptop PC's fieldyweb Linux - Hardware 6 02-18-2006 05:44 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration