LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-13-2018, 12:45 AM   #1
pjkemp
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2018
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
host to host direct ethernet connection not working


I have two 10 Gig NICs, one in a windows 10 box and one in a linux box.

i have them direct connected with a single cat 7 ethernet cable.

i've configured the windows with static IP 10.0.0.2 and the linux with IP 10.0.0.1

what are the other parameters I should choose for this configuration such as broadcast address and netmask. do i need a route command to make this work?

I would have thought that something like broadcast of 10.0.0.255 and netmask of 255.255.255.0 should work.

I'm a rank novice in the networking/routing area. if there is a tutorial explaining this somewhere I would be happy to look at it.

thanks in advance.
PK
 
Old 06-13-2018, 12:50 AM   #2
Honest Abe
Member
 
Registered: May 2018
Distribution: CentOS 7, OpenSUSE 15
Posts: 238
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 109Reputation: 109
hope you are using a crossover cable and not a straight cable.

To get you started - here
 
Old 06-13-2018, 12:59 AM   #3
pjkemp
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2018
Posts: 4

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
the NIC handles the crossover connection for me. thanks for the pointer honest abe!
 
Old 06-13-2018, 05:29 AM   #4
kaushalpatel1982
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Location: INDIA
Distribution: CentOS, RHEL, Fedora, Debian, Ubuntu, LinuxMint, PCLinuxOS
Posts: 161

Rep: Reputation: 9
I assume that you have configured 255.255.255.0 for netmask. Check firewall on both systems. if they are enabled then disable them.
 
Old 06-13-2018, 06:48 AM   #5
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 17,613

Rep: Reputation: 2340Reputation: 2340Reputation: 2340Reputation: 2340Reputation: 2340Reputation: 2340Reputation: 2340Reputation: 2340Reputation: 2340Reputation: 2340Reputation: 2340
That should work. Can you ping between the two computers?

Define not working.
 
Old 06-13-2018, 09:02 AM   #6
pjkemp
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2018
Posts: 4

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Not working....

Pinging the remote host fails, with destination unreachable... 255.255.255.0 is netmask.... iím Really at a loss to explain this.

....
Phil
 
Old 06-13-2018, 06:57 PM   #7
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 17,613

Rep: Reputation: 2340Reputation: 2340Reputation: 2340Reputation: 2340Reputation: 2340Reputation: 2340Reputation: 2340Reputation: 2340Reputation: 2340Reputation: 2340Reputation: 2340
What is the output of the command
route -n
 
Old 06-14-2018, 11:18 PM   #8
pjkemp
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2018
Posts: 4

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
looks like i'm dealing with a driver issue on the linux host. i checked the configuration with another host as target and everything is working just fine with the alternate host. now if i can get the driver updated and working.... ;-{)

Thanks for all the help everyone...
Phil
 
Old 06-15-2018, 05:41 PM   #9
jefro
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 18,550

Rep: Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778Reputation: 2778
Ping tends to be blocked by default in most distro's these days.

ID the nic and see if the driver is loaded. Then run ip or ipconfig to double check config. Doesn't have to be class based subnet. In some cases you can put a gateway address in but almost always not needed.

Every once in a while you have to mess with power to get some nic's correct for cable type. You'd think it would auto adjust on connection but they get locked on power up some times.

Last edited by jefro; 06-15-2018 at 05:43 PM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forwarding ping packets from one 1st host to 2nd host via 2rd host sachee Linux - Networking 1 09-25-2011 01:51 PM
I have two working ethernet interfaces, but I can't host services like SSH, HTTP, etc feci Linux - Networking 3 09-28-2010 02:10 PM
Establishing a VPN connection (host to host) using IPSec services adithya24 Linux - Networking 9 06-10-2009 08:44 AM
connection host-server-host pako0 Linux - Networking 1 10-03-2006 08:37 PM
How do we direct Multiple Domains to the Same Mail host? eciit Linux - Networking 1 08-26-2002 05:44 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration