LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Server
User Name
Password
Linux - Server This forum is for the discussion of Linux Software used in a server related context.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 10-22-2020, 10:34 PM   #16
colorpurple21859
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: Slackware Debian, Fedora, others
Posts: 7,354

Rep: Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590

Code:
Does it matter that it's not software RAID, but a HW RAID
I don't know, but I suspect it is part of the problem, maybe someone will chime in that knows more about it.

Last edited by colorpurple21859; 10-22-2020 at 10:40 PM.
 
Old 10-22-2020, 11:37 PM   #17
surfrock66
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2009
Posts: 19

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Sidebar, I have a 64GB spare SSD. Could I install that and put the UEFI partition there, and point it to the VD?
 
Old 10-23-2020, 07:18 AM   #18
colorpurple21859
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: Slackware Debian, Fedora, others
Posts: 7,354

Rep: Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590
I Think that will work, If it was me, I would a least give it a try. Maybe another option is set up a usb key to boot the system.

See if this gets you going
Code:
grub-install --target=i386-pc --modules="raid5rec" --boot-directory=/mnt/boot

Last edited by colorpurple21859; 10-23-2020 at 07:25 AM.
 
Old 10-23-2020, 12:01 PM   #19
surfrock66
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2009
Posts: 19

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Still no go; I ended up adding "/dev/sda" to the end since that didn't specify a target.

If I throw in the 64GB SSD, what would the procedure be for converting that to boot? I think I understand the general idea, but I want to make sure...

1) Partition the SSD, make a 1GB efi partition at the front, then make a 16mb partition after that. efi partition is FAT32 and flagged as boot, 16MB partition is cleared, labeled bios-boot, and has the bios_grub flag
2) Confirm the lettering (I'm guessing the new drive will be /dev/sdb) and repeat the grub-install commands to remove the modules, targeting /dev/sdb

I should be able to blow away /dev/sda1 and /dev/sda3 in that case, correct? I feel like I should do that first, extend /dev/sda2 so it takes the whole virtual disk, but then reboot because it'll now be known as /dev/sda1. Then, in a fresh live-environment cycle, I'd need to confirm all drive letters. How do I specify that /dev/sda will contain root?
 
Old 10-23-2020, 01:18 PM   #20
colorpurple21859
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: Slackware Debian, Fedora, others
Posts: 7,354

Rep: Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590
flag the efi partition esp. Mount /dev/sda2 /mnt, mount the new ssd efi partition to /mnt/boot/efi. On the first run do grub-install --boot-directory=/mnt/boot /dev/<ssd drive> .
If it was me I wouldn't do any partition changes on /dev/sda until the system was booting

Last edited by colorpurple21859; 10-23-2020 at 01:27 PM.
 
Old 10-23-2020, 02:28 PM   #21
surfrock66
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2009
Posts: 19

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Sounds good; my only reasoning for that is if I delete the partitions before /dev/sda2, is /dev/sda2 gonna get re-id'd as /dev/sda1?
 
Old 10-23-2020, 03:10 PM   #22
colorpurple21859
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: Slackware Debian, Fedora, others
Posts: 7,354

Rep: Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590
That is a good possibility, however if your fstab and grub.cfg uses uuids that shouldn't be an issue. Just hate adding a new issue before fixing the old issue.
 
Old 10-23-2020, 07:22 PM   #23
colorpurple21859
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: Slackware Debian, Fedora, others
Posts: 7,354

Rep: Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590
This may work better to reinstall grub by chrooting into the system from live iso.
Code:
mount /dev/sda2 /mnt
mount /dev/<efi partition> /mnt/boot/efi
mount --bind /dev /mnt/dev
mount --bind /proc /mnt/proc
mount --bind /sys /mnt/sys
mount -o bind /run /mnt/run
chroot /mnt
grub-install /dev/<drive with efi partition?>
exit
reboot
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 10-24-2020, 01:27 AM   #24
surfrock66
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2009
Posts: 19

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Ok, abort, per this, I'm out of luck on EFI: https://www.dell.com/community/Power...x/td-p/7521058

I embraced legacy boot, cleared out those partitions, made a 16MB bios_grub partition, booted into the live environment, did boot-repair, and it's now up and running perfectly.

Thanks for all the help; I've learned a bunch and appreciate your time!
 
Old 10-24-2020, 07:49 AM   #25
colorpurple21859
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: Slackware Debian, Fedora, others
Posts: 7,354

Rep: Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590Reputation: 1590
Code:
Ok, abort, per this, I'm out of luck on EFI
I don't think it really matters if one uses efi mode or legacy mode to boot a system as long as the system boots. The issue usually comes in when mixing uefi and legacy on a a multiboot system or when the system is using one and the live iso is using the other when attempting a fix. It is easier fixing a legacy boot from efi booted iso, then the other way around
AT least you got it working again.

Last edited by colorpurple21859; 10-24-2020 at 08:59 AM.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Infinite Grub Loop: GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB... beeblequix MEPIS 2 11-02-2013 10:56 PM
[SOLVED] Best way to revert to an older kernel on Slackware-current? Miranden Slackware 10 09-20-2013 10:05 AM
LXer: Linux Top 3-- SUSE Secures Boot, Ubuntu Boots Wayland, Slackware 14 Boots Up LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 08-12-2012 09:00 PM
Revert Ndiswrapper After Installing Wrong Driver on Ubuntu siliconpie Linux - Laptop and Netbook 1 12-11-2008 04:02 AM
Can I revert back to an older kernel? jspaceman Slackware 3 10-30-2004 04:07 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Server

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration