LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 06-26-2003, 09:26 PM   #1
Megos
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
Question Getting the GUI

I successfully installed Mandrake Linux 9.1 last night. After spending 4 hours messing with it, trying to get it to connect to my 2 computer crossover LAN, and trying to get it to utilize my modem, I gave up. I am totally new to Linux, having first used it last night. I've learned a few things. But man, it's like starting all over again. Everything I knew about computers and Windows is out the window.

I restarted my computer twice last night after installation. I got to the GUI each time. But today, after I got off work, I went to boot up and mess around (I am using dual boot with XP Pro, and 9.1) but both Linux options took me to a command prompt login screen this time. I didn't see this at all last night. How do I get into the GUI???? I know zero Linux commands. Please help me!!!

the dual boot screen gives me these options:

Linux
Linux - (something)fb
Failsafe
Windows
Floppy

Old 06-26-2003, 09:29 PM   #2
DrOzz

Distribution: slackware

Rep: Reputation: 60
well maybe if you were getting the gui before then maybe something went wrong, so you could post your /var/log/xfree86.0.log file, or even before you do that open up the file /etc/inittab and look for the line close to the top that says :
id:x:initdefault where x is the runlevel...
if it is 5 then you should boot to gui
if it is 3 then that is why you are booting to the console, so all you would have to do is change that 3 to the 5 and you will be in the gui....

Old 06-26-2003, 09:47 PM   #3
Megos
LQ Newbie

Original Poster