LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 09-16-2005, 07:06 PM   #1
ben_h_24
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 15
how do i read a cd

I finally got mandrake 10.1 going, this is my first time using linux. How do I get linux to read my data cd and let me copy files?

Old 09-16-2005, 07:45 PM   #2
slackhack

Distribution: Arch, Debian, Slack

Rep: Reputation: 47
you have to mount the cd at a mount point. if your cd-rom is /dev/hdc and your mount point is /mnt/cdrom, as root you would do

mount /dev/hdc /mnt/cdrom

then you could cd to /mnt/cdrom and read the disc, or open the location with a file manager, etc.

Old 09-16-2005, 07:52 PM   #3
recursv

Distribution: Slackware

Rep: Reputation: 15
there is a graphical way, but i am not a mandrake user so i can only tell you the console way of doing it.

For the quick fix, as root in a console window type:
mount /mnt/cdrom

this could work , it depends if your cdrom is configured to be mounted in /etc/fstab. The fstab file contains entries on how to mount and who may mount certain file systems. That may sound complex but its easy after a the first time.

There are a bunch of entries in the fstab file. It should look something like this...
/dev/hda1 / ext3 defaults 0 0
what this means follows....
"device name" "mount point" "file system type" "options" "priority" "something"
Yeah, i;m a newbie too
So, what you want to look for is a line that points to your cdrom drive ( the easy way to find that is the mount point should be /mnt/cdrom ) and change the options to read
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom /iso9660 user,noauto,owner,ro