LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 05-08-2005, 07:55 PM   #1
Dark_Sniper*

Distribution: Debian

Rep: Reputation: 30
trying to install Slackware on a P1 computer

hello im very new to linux. Im trying to learn it and everything well i have this old P1 computer that i want to put Slackware on. I can only use floppy right know and i made the 2 install floppys. Know the problem is that after i do both floppys. It ask for disk 3 "VFS: Insert disk #3 and press ENTER" know i didnt know there was a 3rd disk. i do have on cd the slackware. But this computer i dont know y but i cant use the cd-rom so a friend told me to make these boot disk. Bare.i and color.gz and then that would be it he said. But know i have to install a 3rd disk. I have no clue what to do.

Old 05-09-2005, 05:04 AM   #2
nnsg

Distribution: Slackware 9.1/10.1, Mandrake 9.1/10.1

Rep: Reputation: 15
Hi Dark_Sniper*,

You need a bootdisk and 2 rootdisks (install.1 and install.2), so it's 3 flloppy. As you said the cdrom drvie is not working, you may need to do a network install and need the network.dsk too.

Old 05-09-2005, 08:07 AM   #3
aes canis

Distribution: Slackware 13.37, Ubuntu 10.10

On another PC - it doesn't matter wether it is Windows or Linux, look at the contents of the Slackware CD. On most Linux installation CD you will find two folders, on the Slackware 10 CD at least, called bootdisks and rootdisks. On earlier releases, and on other distributions, they maybe called boot, the other dosutils.