LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Security
User Name
Password
Linux - Security This forum is for all security related questions.
Questions, tips, system compromises, firewalls, etc. are all included here.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 04-08-2005, 02:10 AM   #1
TigerOC

Distribution: Debian Etc/kernel 2.6.18-4K7

Rep: Reputation: 49
Security risks of php based mysql queries

I am just getting started with dynamic website programming and was reading up methods of querying a mysql database. The php query routine requires the connection to be established with the user name and password. Since this php query is present in the internet folder and is world readable surely this is very high risk? Is there something I am missing or are there methods of linking the query from the public directory to a non public directory that will obviate this.

edit: I have just read this thread;

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...hreadid=310768

and this is exactly what I am talking about. Someone has obtained the mysql access details from the script and penetrated the database. What is to stop anyone using the same type of agent off the net penetrating the database in the same way.

Last edited by TigerOC; 04-08-2005 at 02:21 AM.

Old 04-08-2005, 03:42 AM   #2
TigerOC

Original Poster
I am going to answer my own question. If I am wrong could someone correct me.
The answer seems to lie in defining a user on the database and further defining the rights of the user on the database.
Reference article. .

Quoting from this article; the user can be defined as having read rights only and only to this database;

mysql> GRANT SELECT ON database_name.* TO utahep@localhost IDENTIFIED BY ‘utahep’;