LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 04-07-2005, 11:03 AM   #1
TheLizard
LQ Newbie

Distribution: FC3

Rep: Reputation: 0
Samba Problem: Fedora crashes when transferring large files

First off, I'm fairly new to linux so bare with me.

The box is running Fedora Core 3 with Samba version 3.0.10-1. It's a 3.0 GHz box with a gig of ram. It's got 2 120gig SATA HDDs and 1 120gig IDE HDD. The MOBO is a Gigabyte GA-8INXP.

I can connect to the samba shares just fine, but I'm having a problem transferring large files. Small files will transfer just fine, but larger files (50MB or more) cause the server to crash.

When transferring a file from an XP box to the Fedora server, the transfer will stall (it doesn't always stall at the same point). The HDD light on the fedora server will become steadily lit (the hdds go crazy) and the GNOME GUI will lock up. I have to then cycle power to restart the box.

I haven't seen or heard of this problem before (I searched here and many other forums). Any ideas or advice?

Thanks

~TL

Old 04-07-2005, 11:13 AM   #2
apsivam

Distribution: Ubuntu, CentOS

Rep: Reputation: 15
have you tried the CLI smbclient?

Old 04-07-2005, 01:44 PM   #3
TheLizard
LQ Newbie

Original Poster
Quote:
Originally posted by apsivam
have you tried the CLI smbclient?
Yes, I've tried smbclient. smbclient connects to the XP machine and transfers part of the file (~24MB out of 120MB). smbclient reports the entire file has transferred (when it really hasn't) and the HDD light becomes steadily lit. The GNOME GUI is frozen and I have to cycle the power. Perhaps this isn't a samba bug, but a hardware bug?

I'm at a loss.

Thanks,

~TL