LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions
User Name
Password
Linux - Distributions This forum is for Distribution specific questions.
Red Hat, Slackware, Debian, Novell, LFS, Mandriva, Ubuntu, Fedora - the list goes on and on... Note: An (*) indicates there is no official participation from that distribution here at LQ.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 03-31-2005, 01:29 AM   #1
lwiq
LQ Newbie

Distribution: nothing yet

Rep: Reputation: 0
new in linux, try to find the distribution that suit to me

i think that you heard that all the time (but you`l hear it again). i am new in linux, and i want to find the best distribution that must not be to hard to learn.
also i want to make programming with, to use blender, and must be easy to use multimedia.
if sameone can help me!!
i also want some tutorial and if it is posibil some free cd with - maybe you know a site that can offer me that

Old 03-31-2005, 02:06 AM   #2
alienDog

Distribution: Debian, Slackware

Rep: Reputation: 48
Just about any modern distribution will fullfill your requirements. Do some research and the decide what you really want from your system. Linux people have a tendency of favoring their own distro choices, but they might not be the right choices for you, so I won't go into recommending anything specific. However I do recommend that you choose one of the "major" distributions to ensure that you get help if you need it.

Just remember that Linux is not Windows, don't expect it to behave alike. It'll be different, but nothing that you can't handle. Once you have it up and running, it'll work practically forever, so investing some time in studying and doing a careful installation is well worth while. A good place to start is: http://distrowatch.com/ (see especially major distributions on the top menu).

Welcome to the club and good luck