LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 08-08-2004, 07:50 PM   #1
omair_ca
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
tv wonder pro drivers

hi,
i am somewhat new to linux. I was having problems with sound on redhat 9 and fc1 and fc2 so i installed mandrake 10.0. I am not sure if i have tv wonder pro drivers installed or not. During installation it did seem to have found a tuner card but showed has happuage|win tv, which I assumed is ok as they may use the same driver. Now I am not sure if the driver is already installed or not and what I should do next. I have been trying to read forums about this but since I am new to linux so many times cannot make much with the information.

For now I can give you the following information that may help.

in /lib/modules/2.6.3-7mdk/kernel/drivers/media/video/cx88 I have the following files

cx8800.ko.gz and cx88xx.ko.gz.

In /etc/modprobe.conf I found the following line after installation of mandrake,

options cx8800 radio=0 card= gbuffers=4

I am not sure if the driver is already installed or I need to install it still. Also card= does not have any value. Is it missing? If you know what could be wrong, can you please help? I have an ATI tv wonder pro card.

I am not on the mailing list yet so can you please reply to my email address.
regards,

~Omair

Old 08-08-2004, 07:53 PM   #2
Novacat
LQ Newbie

Distribution: Fedora Core 2

I'd suggest getting the latest version of the CX8800 driver, not sure if that specific card is supported yet. Look for a patch that gives GPIO values.

Old 08-09-2004, 01:11 AM   #3
HappyTux

Distribution: Debian AMD64