LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-21-2004, 04:48 PM   #1
abxbx
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: USA
Distribution: Slackware 10.0
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: 15
Cyrillic


I have the following packages installed:

x11-fonts-100dpi-6.7.0-noarch-1
x11-fonts-misc-6.7.0-noarch-1
x11-fonts-cyrillic-6.7.0-noarch-1
x11-fonts-scale-6.7.0-noarch-1
gnu-gs-fonts-6.0-noarch-1


Yet, Cyrillic doesn't show up on webpages or in the font selector in GNOME. Also trying to type with a cyrillic keyboard (or reading Russian web pages) results in just boxes with numbers in them. How do I get cyrillic working properly as a second choice? Thanks.
 
Old 07-22-2004, 12:22 AM   #2
todesengel
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Slackware 10.0
Posts: 54

Rep: Reputation: 15
I'd actually like to know this too... bump
 
Old 07-22-2004, 12:45 AM   #3
mdg
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 626

Rep: Reputation: 38
What browser are you using? You should have an option to set character encoding to cyrillic (or auto). In Firefox it's under "View" on the toolbar.

To type in cyrillic, edit the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file. In the Input Device - Keyboard section you need to add a line identifying the language you want:
Code:
Option     "XkbLayout"     "us,XX"
where XX is the language code (eg "fr" = french). I don't know the code for cyrillic - maybe "KO18"?

You also need a line for switching between languages:
Code:
Option     "XkbOptions"    "grp:switch,grp:alt_shift_toggle"
This allows you to switch between the two designated languages by pressing alt-shift.
 
Old 07-22-2004, 01:53 PM   #4
abxbx
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: USA
Distribution: Slackware 10.0
Posts: 23

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
That didn't work. I'm using GNOME and Mozilla 1.7. The problem is Cyrillic doesn't show up anywhere, period.
 
Old 07-22-2004, 03:21 PM   #5
suslik
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: OpenSuse 10.x
Posts: 262

Rep: Reputation: 30
Quote:
Originally posted by abxbx
That didn't work. I'm using GNOME and Mozilla 1.7. The problem is Cyrillic doesn't show up anywhere, period.
I had the same problem.

Switched from root to normal user and started seeing cyrillic in KDE\Mozilla. :0 Foreign languages on Linux are screwed up... seriously.
 
Old 07-23-2004, 03:14 AM   #6
mdg
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 626

Rep: Reputation: 38
If Cyrillic doesn't show up anywhere, you must be missing a needed package, or something is not configured.

Check in your kernel config file under "Filesystems - Native Language Support" and make sure that every possible option relating to Russian/Cyrillic language support is enabled either as a module or compiled into the kernel

eg:
Codepage 855 (Cyrillic)
Codepage 866 (Cyrillic/Russian)
NLS ISO 8859-5 (Cyrillic)
NLS KOI8-R (Russian)

There are a few others that might need to be enabled, but I'm not knowledgeable in Cyrillic languages. If you think there's a possibility it might be needed, enable it at least as a module.

edit: as for foreign languages being screwed up in Linux (previous post), I've set up other languages (non-latin based) in at least four different distros without any problems

Last edited by mdg; 07-23-2004 at 03:20 AM.
 
Old 07-23-2004, 09:05 PM   #7
abxbx
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: USA
Distribution: Slackware 10.0
Posts: 23

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Okay, how do I compile and insmod those modules? Where are they?
 
Old 07-23-2004, 11:57 PM   #8
mdg
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 626

Rep: Reputation: 38
First check in the /usr/src/linux-x.x./.config file (where linux-x.x is your active kernel source) and see if those options are enabled.

If they are compiled as modules (M) you just need to load them with "modprobe <module name>".

If they are not enabled (not set), you'll need to recompile the kernel to enable them.
 
Old 07-24-2004, 05:36 AM   #9
Xa!
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: .ru/moscow
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: 0
1) write in /etc/rc.d/rc.font
-----------------------
setfont -v Cyr_a8x16
mapscrn koi2alt
for i in 1 2 3 4 5 6; do
echo -ne "\033(K" > /dev/tty$i
done
loadkeys ru-ms
-----------------------

2) write in /etc/profile.d/lang.sh
-----------------------
export LANG=ru_RU.KOI8-R
export LC_MESSAGES=C
export LC_NUMERIC=C
-----------------------

3) edit (find this three lines) /usr/share/locale/locale.alias
-----------------------
...
russian ru_RU.KOI8-R
ru ru_RU.KOI8-R
ru_RU ru_RU.KOI8-R
...
-----------------------

4) edit /etc/X11/xorg.con
-----------------------
...
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic/
...
Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us,ru(winkeys)"
Option "XkbOptions" "grp:ctrl_shift_toggle,grp_led:scroll"
...
-----------------------
if all's done - enjoy cyrillic

PS: after all you can aditionally install ttf fonts from windows or somewhere else. how - look in yandex
 
Old 07-24-2004, 07:38 PM   #10
abxbx
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: USA
Distribution: Slackware 10.0
Posts: 23

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Okay thanks.

I got this:
----------------------
#
# Native Language Support
#
CONFIG_NLS_DEFAULT="cp437"
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_437=y
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_737=m
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_775=m
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_850=m
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_852=m
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_855=m
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_857=m
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_860=m
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_861=m
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_862=m
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_863=m
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_864=m
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_865=m
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_866=m
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_869=m
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_936=m
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_950=m
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_932=m
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_949=m
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_874=m
CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_8=m
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_1250=m
CONFIG_NLS_CODEPAGE_1251=m
CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_1=y
CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_2=m
CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_3=m
CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_4=m
CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_5=m
CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_6=m
CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_7=m
CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_9=m
CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_13=m
CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_14=m
CONFIG_NLS_ISO8859_15=m
CONFIG_NLS_KOI8_R=m
CONFIG_NLS_KOI8_U=m
CONFIG_NLS_UTF8=m
----------------------------

So they're modules. But if I try 'modprobe NLS_KOI8_R' or anything like that I get that it's not found. Do I have to be in a specific directory or something first?

Last edited by abxbx; 07-24-2004 at 07:44 PM.
 
Old 07-24-2004, 07:50 PM   #11
abxbx
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: USA
Distribution: Slackware 10.0
Posts: 23

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Nevermind. I got it. Lowercase. I really need to get more sleep.

Last edited by abxbx; 07-24-2004 at 07:54 PM.
 
Old 07-24-2004, 08:08 PM   #12
abxbx
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: USA
Distribution: Slackware 10.0
Posts: 23

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
I did everything on here and nothing worked. Still the same old same old. Where do I get some fonts and where do I put them? What other packages could I possibly need?

Now cyrillic shows up in applications that are X-based, like Netscape (Not in Mozilla 1.7) and in the X font selector, it shows up. But not in GNOME or KDE based applications. Are there specific GNOME Cyrillic fonts I need? Actually, it seems all languages show up in X, just not in GNOME. Anywhere where I can get TTF fonts as well? Thanks.

Last edited by abxbx; 07-26-2004 at 07:16 PM.
 
Old 08-13-2004, 05:53 PM   #13
Braveheart1980
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Location: Greece!
Distribution: Ubuntu 9.10
Posts: 633
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 30
Well i am having a similiar problem with greek fonts!I have opened btw a thread here http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...5&pagenumber=1
and here
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...hreadid=210811

Has anyone solved this?
 
Old 08-13-2004, 05:57 PM   #14
gbonvehi
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Location: Argentina (SR, LP)
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 3,145

Rep: Reputation: 53
Well, cyrillic fonts aren't configured in default /etc/fonts/fonts.conf

Line 27 of that file is: <dir>/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/TTF</dir> <dir>/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Ty
pe1</dir>

add to that: <dir>/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic</dir>

so it is like: <dir>/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/TTF</dir> <dir>/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Ty
pe1</dir> <dir>/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic</dir>

save, and run: fc-cache -v
 
Old 08-19-2004, 01:42 AM   #15
kolchuga
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Belarus
Distribution: Mandrake 9.2+, Knoppix 3.4 Redhat 9
Posts: 53

Rep: Reputation: 15
as far as russian web pages, our pages have latin letter for the URL, so this is not a problem you wont need the Krilltzta letters. Why dont you just install the russian version of the OS? maybe easier.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cyrillic ?! manatwork Linux - Software 23 08-24-2005 07:18 PM
printing + cyrillic valeri_ufo Slackware 1 06-03-2005 06:55 AM
Cyrillic fonts qrz1800 Linux - Newbie 1 02-22-2005 08:14 PM
KPilot and Cyrillic encoding tolstyi Mandriva 0 12-05-2004 01:47 PM
Cyrillic in X, but not in GNOME. abxbx Slackware 1 07-26-2004 05:42 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration