LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-13-2004, 01:32 AM   #1
EThitop
Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware 10
Posts: 146

Rep: Reputation: 15
Why do I get an error when I try to compile amaroK? or any software for that matter.


When I try to compile software, I often receive errors at the end. This is an exampile of an error I get when I tried to compile amaroK.

Code:
# make

*** Warning: Linking the shared library libamarok_artsengine_plugin.la against the loadable module
*** libamarokarts.so is not portable!
grep: /usr/X11R6/lib/libfontconfig.la: No such file or directory
/usr/bin/sed: can't read /usr/X11R6/lib/libfontconfig.la: No such file or directory
libtool: link: `/usr/X11R6/lib/libfontconfig.la' is not a valid libtool archive
make[5]: *** [libamarok_artsengine_plugin.la] Error 1
make[5]: Leaving directory `/home/Erik/Downloads/amarok-1.0-beta4/amarok/src/engine/arts'
make[4]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[4]: Leaving directory `/home/Erik/Downloads/amarok-1.0-beta4/amarok/src/engine'
make[3]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/Erik/Downloads/amarok-1.0-beta4/amarok/src'
make[2]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/Erik/Downloads/amarok-1.0-beta4/amarok'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/Erik/Downloads/amarok-1.0-beta4'
make: *** [all] Error 2
Then when I type "make install" I get the following error:

Code:
# make install

*** Warning: Linking the shared library libamarok_artsengine_plugin.la against the loadable module
*** libamarokarts.so is not portable!
grep: /usr/X11R6/lib/libfontconfig.la: No such file or directory
/usr/bin/sed: can't read /usr/X11R6/lib/libfontconfig.la: No such file or directory
libtool: link: `/usr/X11R6/lib/libfontconfig.la' is not a valid libtool archive
make[4]: *** [libamarok_artsengine_plugin.la] Error 1
make[4]: Leaving directory `/home/Erik/Downloads/amarok-1.0-beta4/amarok/src/engine/arts'
make[3]: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/Erik/Downloads/amarok-1.0-beta4/amarok/src/engine'
make[2]: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/Erik/Downloads/amarok-1.0-beta4/amarok/src'
make[1]: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/Erik/Downloads/amarok-1.0-beta4/amarok'
make: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
Can someone please tell me what I can do to correct these problems??? I am using Slackware 9.1 (current).
 
Old 06-13-2004, 02:33 AM   #2
EThitop
Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware 10
Posts: 146

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Here's what I get when I try to use checkinstall (also, please note that I skipped straight to the error.

Code:
# checkinstall

*** Warning: Linking the shared library libamarok_artsengine_plugin.la against the loadable module
*** libamarokarts.so is not portable!
grep: /usr/X11R6/lib/libfontconfig.la: No such file or directory
/usr/bin/sed: can't read /usr/X11R6/lib/libfontconfig.la: No such file or directory
libtool: link: `/usr/X11R6/lib/libfontconfig.la' is not a valid libtool archive
make[4]: *** [libamarok_artsengine_plugin.la] Error 1
make[4]: Leaving directory `/home/Erik/Downloads/amarok-1.0-beta4/amarok/src/engine/arts'
make[3]: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/Erik/Downloads/amarok-1.0-beta4/amarok/src/engine'
make[2]: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/Erik/Downloads/amarok-1.0-beta4/amarok/src'
make[1]: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/Erik/Downloads/amarok-1.0-beta4/amarok'
make: *** [install-recursive] Error 1

****  Installation failed. Aborting package creation.

Restoring overwritten files from backup...OK

Cleaning up...OK

Bye.
 
Old 06-13-2004, 02:35 AM   #3
auditek747
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Distribution: Arch Linux
Posts: 464

Rep: Reputation: 30
Did you get any errors when you did ./configure?
(./configure --/opt/kde)
 
Old 06-13-2004, 02:45 AM   #4
EThitop
Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware 10
Posts: 146

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
amaroK's README file told me to use ./configure with some added parameters, like this:

Code:
./configure --prefix=`kde-config --prefix`
I did that and I didn't notice any errors when it went through it's process. I didn't notice any errors but after reviewing the configure log I tried CTRL+F and searched for "error" and came up with this:

Code:
conftest.c:2: error: parse error before "me"
Code:
conftest.cc:15: error: `exit' undeclared (first use this function)
conftest.cc:15: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once for 
   each function it appears in.)
Code:
conftest.cc:38: error: `strlcat' undeclared (first use this function)
conftest.cc:38: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once for 
   each function it appears in.)
And in addition to these it appears I have some "-pedantic-errors" errors.
They aren't many though, considering how large that config log file is, but they may be the errors that make the count.
 
Old 06-13-2004, 02:50 AM   #5
auditek747
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Distribution: Arch Linux
Posts: 464

Rep: Reputation: 30
kde-config is a program that gives you info about your kde installation.
typing kde-config --prefix will give the config directory, on Slack this is /opt/kde.
Try your configure with ./configure --prefix=/opt/kde
 
Old 06-13-2004, 02:58 AM   #6
EThitop
Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware 10
Posts: 146

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
After using ./configure with the prefix amaroK told me to use and/or using it with the prefix you told me to use I get this after configure is finished:

Code:
=======================================================
==== amaroK will be built with the aRts-engine     ====
=======================================================
==== amaroK will be built with the GST-engine      ====
=======================================================

Good - your configure finished. Start make now
Then I run "checkinstall" and I get this error:
Code:
*** Warning: Linking the shared library libamarok_artsengine_plugin.la against the loadable module
*** libamarokarts.so is not portable!
grep: /usr/X11R6/lib/libfontconfig.la: No such file or directory
/bin/sed: can't read /usr/X11R6/lib/libfontconfig.la: No such file or directory
libtool: link: `/usr/X11R6/lib/libfontconfig.la' is not a valid libtool archive
make[4]: *** [libamarok_artsengine_plugin.la] Error 1
make[4]: Leaving directory `/home/Erik/Downloads/amaroK/amarok-1.0-beta4/amarok/src/engine/arts'
make[3]: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/Erik/Downloads/amaroK/amarok-1.0-beta4/amarok/src/engine'
make[2]: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/Erik/Downloads/amaroK/amarok-1.0-beta4/amarok/src'
make[1]: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/Erik/Downloads/amaroK/amarok-1.0-beta4/amarok'
make: *** [install-recursive] Error 1

****  Installation failed. Aborting package creation.

Restoring overwritten files from backup...OK

Cleaning up...OK

Bye.
I wish there was a pre-made package for amaroK so I could at least install it. I still would like to learn how to build from source though, b/c it is something that would help me with ohter programs as well.
 
Old 06-13-2004, 02:59 AM   #7
auditek747
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Distribution: Arch Linux
Posts: 464

Rep: Reputation: 30
It looks like amaroK needs KDE-3.2.x

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/history/174658

Are you still running 3.1 from Slack 9.1 cd?
 
Old 06-13-2004, 03:00 AM   #8
EThitop
Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware 10
Posts: 146

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Nope, I have 3.2.x installed.
I don't know about QT though....?

Last edited by EThitop; 06-13-2004 at 03:01 AM.
 
Old 06-13-2004, 03:09 AM   #9
auditek747
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Distribution: Arch Linux
Posts: 464

Rep: Reputation: 30
Do you have QT devel?
 
Old 06-13-2004, 03:14 AM   #10
EThitop
Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware 10
Posts: 146

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
I see some QT programs, in Development I see QT Designer UI which is for creating a GUI for QT programs. I don't know if I have QT devel though, if it comes with Slackware 9.1 (current) then I have it.
 
Old 06-13-2004, 03:20 AM   #11
auditek747
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Distribution: Arch Linux
Posts: 464

Rep: Reputation: 30
You're missing something! Do you have this file? :

/usr/X11R6/lib/libfontconfig.la
 
Old 06-13-2004, 03:22 AM   #12
EThitop
Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware 10
Posts: 146

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Hmm no I don't have that file. I wonder why I don't have that file, you appear to have Slackware 9.1 as well, do you have /usr/X11R6/lib/libfontconfig.la ??? Also, earlier I tried running kde-config and I can tell that it's a program I have but the program didn't actually start.
 
Old 06-13-2004, 03:29 AM   #13
EThitop
Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Slackware 10
Posts: 146

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Also I would like to add that I really appreciate you helping me! Thanks!!!
 
Old 06-13-2004, 03:46 AM   #14
auditek747
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Distribution: Arch Linux
Posts: 464

Rep: Reputation: 30
typing kde-config --prefix in a terminal will simply say /opt/kde (in Slack)
As far as libfontconfig I think it should have been provided by Xfree.
I'm sure you have it, the directory is /usr/X11R6/include/fontconfig.
Maybe you got screwed when you went to Kde3.2.
 
Old 06-13-2004, 04:03 AM   #15
auditek747
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Distribution: Arch Linux
Posts: 464

Rep: Reputation: 30
You do have /usr/X11R6/lib/libfontconfig.so don't you?
Also /usr/lib/libfreetype.so ?

All this stuff should have been provided by Xfree.

You could be misconfigured or incomplete.

Did you mention that you could'nt build anything?

Try this just to see:

download ltris

http://lgames.sourceforge.net/index.php?project=LTris

tar -xvzf ltris-1.0.6.tar.gz
cd ltris-1.0.6
./configure
make
su
(password)
make install
make clean
exit (to user)
ltris

Last edited by auditek747; 06-13-2004 at 05:07 AM.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Amarok with Xine engine, strange error message Metalbarthug Linux - Software 2 11-16-2005 12:47 PM
amarok error mapesju Slackware 1 10-19-2005 07:47 AM
Amarok users..does anyone else get this error? RoaCh Of DisCor Linux - Software 2 08-05-2005 10:47 AM
I'm trying to install amarok-1.1.1 and i get an error... gbdavidx Slackware 5 12-04-2004 05:21 PM
does order in kernel compile matter? doublefailure Linux - General 2 07-06-2002 05:26 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration