LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 11-08-2003, 12:38 PM   #1
duerra

Distribution: FreeBSD

Rep: Reputation: 30
Choosing a Linux Distro

I'm new to Linux, and it seems that I'm constantly conflicted with which Linux Distro to go with. I don't know how quickly I'd fit into something like slackware (though it's definitely the coolest looking, and I love their site to death). I've heard that slackware doesn't do as much auto-detecting and things like that, and I'd hate to get stuck in a bind.

So I thought about Red Hat for a while (and even bought "Red Hat Linux 9 for Dummies"), then I read that Red Hat is the least standard of the top Linux Distro's. I don't know if this is acceptable or not. I wouldn't want to get caught in a bind with a company that's heading in the M$ direction, though.

Then I wantered over to SuSE. and was immediately intimidated, not to mention I can't find their documentation *anywhere*. Plus, I don't know much about SuSE other than that it's very commercial, and doesn't really seem to focus on Linux so much as it does selling you its software. They don't even make it possible to make an installation CD - you have to do ftp installation, which I don't feel is acceptable as far as reliability goes.

*sigh* So now I'm back to Mandrake. I don't want to seem like a "wuss" by going with inferior (in terms of performance), newbie software - because I want to learn Linux. But I'm lost as to what I'm able to handle starting out, while still being able to host my ever-growing site that's rapidly outliving my M$ box, and I want to do it securely at that.

Any advice is appreciated.