LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password
Debian This forum is for the discussion of Debian Linux.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 11-01-2003, 02:44 PM   #1
ellen
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
how install external modem?

I'm a newbie. I've installed Debian via the Knoppix CD but the 3com usrobotics 56K faxmodem hasn't been recognised. I can't find how to install it manually. I can't find how to install any device manually!

When I ran Knoppix from CD, it recognised the modem and "query modem" in kppp was ok. However, I could not connect to the internet. Now I've installed onto hard disk, it won't install modem.

Old 11-01-2003, 05:47 PM   #2
PsychosisNode

Distribution: Mandriva 2006

Rep: Reputation: 30
What kind of modem? RS-232? PCI? Winmodem? Hardware modem?

It may be driver trouble, looking at the pppd error messages might help, else, it may be a problem I had: The modem connected alright, and pppd was up and running but no DNS (only connections to actual IP addresses will work) - this was because I used to use an ethernet connection to the internet, and the DNS IP addresses for it were still in the resolv.conf file. If this is the case, you need to (as root) open resolv.conf in an editor and erase everything, then save the file. pppd will write it's temporary DNS IP entries into this file when it starts and if they're the only ones there then they'll be the ones used. Previous static DNS IPs will take presedence over the PPPD temporaries if they're already there.

Hope this helps!

Old 11-01-2003, 08:19 PM   #3
nightoil
LQ Newbie

Distribution: Slackware 10.0

Rep: Reputation: 15
Another Newbie here, but my experiences over the last 10 days may help !