LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 03-26-2010, 06:52 PM   #1
ipfreak
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
newbie to linux

hi all:

i am a newbie for linux and just installed debian on my laptop (cd1).

now i am wondering how i can install more packages. 30 some CDs seem to be excessive so i am downloading them to my external hard drive. now my question is:

how could i install packages by using external hard drive?

Old 03-26-2010, 07:04 PM   #2
MTK358
LQ 5k Club

Rep: Reputation: 723Reputation: 723Reputation: 723Reputation: 723Reputation: 723Reputation: 723Reputation: 723
Why not install them from the internet?

Old 03-26-2010, 07:05 PM   #3
Mr-Bisquit

Distribution: FreeBSD, OpenBSD, NetBSD, Debian, Fedora

Rep: Reputation: 68
Be sure that you have all dependencies required.
Add the package manager.
You will need to create a link between the drive and synaptic.

http://linuxappfinder.com/addrepo

Also look for apt tools which would help and install those while connected.

Old 03-26-2010, 07:23 PM   #4
jamescondron

Distribution: Ubuntu 8.10; Gentoo; Debian Lenny

Rep: Reputation: 70
I didn't even know you could burn them all to CD, thats a very, very strange way to do it. (But the only reason to do that is because you don't know better, so we'll forgive you).

Installing on Linux is very simple; you use a package manager. A package manager installs/uninstalls/reinstalls packages; which seems obvious when I point it out, but there you go.