LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 07-25-2009, 08:04 PM   #1
rizean
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
Fix for CAudioSourceMemWave (xxx): GetDataPointer() failed

I am reposting this here for people doing a Google search or a search here. This is my first contribution to the Linux world and hopefully a lot more to follow. Thanks to all the people who have helped my transition to Linux. Below is the fix as I posted on Code Weavers - https://www.codeweavers.com/compatib...um=1;msg=48288

I have fix this problem via the console inside TF2. Before I move on let me say that I am a Linux newbie (less than 6 months) and this was my first WINE app. I have been a DOS/Windows user for about 25 years and a hobbyist programmer much of that. With that said I hate windows thus here we are...

After searching the net for a possible fix I stumbled across this post and a post by Valve on the beta steam. Beta steam appears to be having this problem more frequently and on windows machines. This lead me to believe this is a problem with Steam/TF2. So now on to the fix. I'm sorry to say it was late at night and I did not record exactly what I did and in what order but here it is as I remember.

In console I tried various commands in the order list below as best I can remember.

snd_rebuildaudiocache - This actually crashes TF2 with the same bug. I tried this a few times always resulting in a crash on different files. Note: After my game started working this still crashes with the CAudioSourceMemWave error.
cl_soundemitter_flush
cl_soundscape_flush
soundscape_flush
snd_async_fullyasync 1 - This setting was not saved.