LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > Programming
User Name
Password
Programming This forum is for all programming questions.
The question does not have to be directly related to Linux and any language is fair game.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 06-28-2009, 07:26 PM   #1
Romanus81

Rep: Reputation: 31
Beginner programming language for writing a cross-platform Graphical app?

Hello,
I've been using linux for awhile and am fairly proficient at bash scripting, and would like to move on to something more advanced. I have the summer pretty much free, so I thought it would be a good time to learn to do actual coding.
I have an idea for the program I want to make. I am majoring in Classical Greek Philology (language), and I want to create a program that works in such a way that a student in type in a word, it's definition, dictionary forms, the line it appeared it, etc. and then it creates an index of words for review, kind of like a personal dictionary, which the program can then format and export in a printable format (.pdf, .txt, .doc, etc.)

The language I need would have to be
1) Cross platform, so that I can distribute it to all the windows users.
2) Have a GUI
3) Have the ability to incorperate beta code, i.e. a way to type in Greek using an English keyboard. So that a = alpha, b = beta, q = theta, you can see it in action at typegreek.com The program that website uses is written in javascript, under a creative-commons license. So if either the program could be written in javascript, or incorporate it, it would be really helpful.

Old 06-28-2009, 09:31 PM   #2
MS3FGX
LQ Guru

Distribution: Slackware, Debian

Rep: Reputation: 361Reputation: 361Reputation: 361Reputation: 361