LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > LinuxQuestions.org > LinuxQuestions.org Member Intro
User Name
Password
LinuxQuestions.org Member Intro New to LinuxQuestions.org? Been a long time member but never made a post? Introduce yourself here.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 11-12-2008, 08:33 AM   #1
paciffier
LQ Newbie

Distribution: fedora 27

Rep: Reputation: 0
Hello everyone!!

Hey all,

Im a newbie linux user, but i downloaded fedora and for now it seems i love it =)
but i need some help trying to figure out how it works and what can be done with it.
knowledge is everything i want and the most info i can retain the better.
Im trying linux now cause im sick of windows broke all time, need to pay for everything i want to be in a good use, and that kind of stuff.

cumps,

Old 11-12-2008, 08:50 AM   #2
monsm

Distribution: Gentoo

Rep: Reputation: 37
Welcome to Linux and LQ!
Linux can do anything :-)
Free games (better and better quality by the day), free office software and browsers and no viruses. Just to name a tiny bit.

I guess your fedora installation (latest Fedora 9?) comes with the Gnome graphical environment? Get used to that first, then you will be able to learn about the command line (terminal) as you go. Many ex-windows users are slightly scared of the command line. Don't be. Many things are easier and quicker on the command line in Linux than they are in a GUI on windows.

Just post back here if you have any concrete questions.

Mons

Old 11-12-2008, 11:06 AM   #3
phantom_cyph

Distribution: Slackware & Derivatives

Rep: Reputation: 128Reputation: 128
Welcome to LQ!