LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 05-19-2007, 04:22 PM   #1
norim666
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
did something stupid

Hello everyone, I am a total newbie in linux.
At home Ive setup Asterisk PBX and LAMP box and Iam so happy with it!
But one boring evening Ive played with commands, just to learn things (you know how it goes).
And After: extract from my bash history file

chown /* root
chown root /* this one appeared to be the "killer" (from discussion below)
find / -path './etc/asterisk/' -prune -o -print
find / -path './etc/asterisk/' -prune -o -print | xargs chown root
find /etc -path './etc/asterisk/' -prune -o -print | xargs chown root
cd etc
find . -path './etc/asterisk/' -prune -o -print | xargs chown root
ls
find . -path './etc/asterisk/' | xargs chown root
find . -path './etc/asterisk/' | xargs chown root *
cd asterisk/
find . | xargs chown asterisk *

and also executed that small script pid2port.

The Following problems start to occur:
1. fstab doesnt mount my samba shares (it does but when cd to them, it just hangs.)
2. Asterisk doesn't start.
3. MySQL doesn't start (says, can't connect to local host and can't find the socket?)
(other services like apache, atftpd, sshd are working)

I also executed this commands, but I don't think they have done anything harmful.

watch -n 0.1 ls
watch -n 0.1 uptime
watch -n 0.1 ps
screen
cfdisk
kernelversion
fsck
eject
eject -d
showkey
showmount
setleds
setleds -F

Any help would be much appreciated!

Quote:
ok it works now: (all processes that couldn't start, simply were unable to write it's logs)