LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password
Ubuntu This forum is for the discussion of Ubuntu Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-17-2007, 02:25 AM   #1
GNewbie
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: (U/K/X)buntu 6.1 (newer box) / D*mn Small Linux (older box)
Posts: 326

Rep: Reputation: 31
Three Users, Three Window Managers - How?


hi all,

i'd like to set up three new ubuntu users, ubuntu, kubuntu and xubuntu, each with a different window manager (ubuntu, kubuntu and xubuntu, respectively).

can i do this and, if so, how can i do this?

tia...
 
Old 03-17-2007, 03:29 AM   #2
jschiwal
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Aug 2001
Location: Fargo, ND
Distribution: SuSE AMD64
Posts: 15,733

Rep: Reputation: 682Reputation: 682Reputation: 682Reputation: 682Reputation: 682Reputation: 682
You are listing distro names and not window managers. KDE, Gnome are desktop environments. I don't know what xubuntu uses. Install one distro, such as Ubuntu and then install the kde packages.
 
Old 03-17-2007, 03:44 AM   #3
aysiu
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu with IceWM
Posts: 1,775

Rep: Reputation: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by jschiwal
You are listing distro names and not window managers. KDE, Gnome are desktop environments. I don't know what xubuntu uses. Install one distro, such as Ubuntu and then install the kde packages.
Actually, Ubuntu, Xubuntu, and Kubuntu are all the same distro--Ubuntu.

Ubuntu is Ubuntu with Gnome
Xubuntu is Ubuntu with XFCE
Kubuntu is Ubuntu with KDE

In answer to GNewbie's question, you can just install all three and each user can have a different default desktop environment.

If you already have Ubuntu installed, just install the other two:
Code:
sudo aptitude update
sudo aptitude install xubuntu-desktop kubuntu-desktop
 
Old 03-17-2007, 04:05 AM   #4
GNewbie
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: (U/K/X)buntu 6.1 (newer box) / D*mn Small Linux (older box)
Posts: 326

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by aysiu
Actually, Ubuntu, Xubuntu, and Kubuntu are all the same distro--Ubuntu.

Ubuntu is Ubuntu with Gnome
Xubuntu is Ubuntu with XFCE
Kubuntu is Ubuntu with KDE

In answer to GNewbie's question, you can just install all three and each user can have a different default desktop environment.

If you already have Ubuntu installed, just install the other two:
Code:
sudo aptitude update
sudo aptitude install xubuntu-desktop kubuntu-desktop
thanks - how do i define the default desktop?
 
Old 03-18-2007, 04:59 PM   #5
GNewbie
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: (U/K/X)buntu 6.1 (newer box) / D*mn Small Linux (older box)
Posts: 326

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by aysiu
Actually, Ubuntu, Xubuntu, and Kubuntu are all the same distro--Ubuntu.

Ubuntu is Ubuntu with Gnome
Xubuntu is Ubuntu with XFCE
Kubuntu is Ubuntu with KDE

In answer to GNewbie's question, you can just install all three and each user can have a different default desktop environment.

If you already have Ubuntu installed, just install the other two:
Code:
sudo aptitude update
sudo aptitude install xubuntu-desktop kubuntu-desktop
aysiu,

i followed th esteps you outlined, but i've gotten in some trouble.

my system wants to boot kubuntu by default. when i open a session with ubuntu (which i want to be my default), i have no option to shut down my computer.

what i want to do is create 3 users, one each that defaults to ubuntu, kubuntu and xubuntu.

while downloading the kubuntu-desktop and xubuntu-desktop, i ran into the following that may address my issue...

│ A display manager is a program that provides graphical login │
│ capabilities for the X Window System. │
│ │
│ Only one display manager can manage a given X server, but multiple │
│ display manager packages are installed. Please select which display │
│ manager should run by default. │
│ │
│ (Multiple display managers can run simultaneously if they are configured │
│ to manage different servers; to achieve this, configure the display │
│ managers accordingly, edit each of their init scripts in /etc/init.d, │
│ and disable the check for a default display manager.)

i can't identify the init scripts in /etc/init.d.

how do i associate a window manager to a user?

tia...
 
Old 03-18-2007, 05:26 PM   #6
gilead
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Distribution: Slackware64 14.0
Posts: 4,141

Rep: Reputation: 168Reputation: 168
Does your distro have the xwmconfig utility? If so, just login as each user, run it and select a different window manager each time. If you don't have it, you can manually do what xwmconfig does by creating the $HOME/.xinitrc file for each user. Here's mine (a very basic one) for starting fluxbox:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
# $XConsortium: xinitrc.cpp,v 1.4 91/08/22 11:41:34 rws Exp $

userresources=$HOME/.Xresources
usermodmap=$HOME/.Xmodmap
sysresources=/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xinit/.Xresources
sysmodmap=/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xinit/.Xmodmap

# merge in defaults and keymaps

if [ -f $sysresources ]; then
    xrdb -merge $sysresources
fi

if [ -f $sysmodmap ]; then
    xmodmap $sysmodmap
fi

if [ -f $userresources ]; then
    xrdb -merge $userresources
fi

if [ -f $usermodmap ]; then
    xmodmap $usermodmap
fi

# Start the window manager:
exec /usr/X11R6/bin/startfluxbox
 
Old 03-18-2007, 09:38 PM   #7
GNewbie
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: (U/K/X)buntu 6.1 (newer box) / D*mn Small Linux (older box)
Posts: 326

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilead
Does your distro have the xwmconfig utility? If so, just login as each user, run it and select a different window manager each time. If you don't have it, you can manually do what xwmconfig does by creating the $HOME/.xinitrc file for each user. Here's mine (a very basic one) for starting fluxbox:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
# $XConsortium: xinitrc.cpp,v 1.4 91/08/22 11:41:34 rws Exp $

userresources=$HOME/.Xresources
usermodmap=$HOME/.Xmodmap
sysresources=/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xinit/.Xresources
sysmodmap=/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xinit/.Xmodmap

# merge in defaults and keymaps

if [ -f $sysresources ]; then
    xrdb -merge $sysresources
fi

if [ -f $sysmodmap ]; then
    xmodmap $sysmodmap
fi

if [ -f $userresources ]; then
    xrdb -merge $userresources
fi

if [ -f $usermodmap ]; then
    xmodmap $usermodmap
fi

# Start the window manager:
exec /usr/X11R6/bin/startfluxbox

gilead, thanks for the lead. i installed ubuntu-desktop first. i then used aptitude to install kubuntu-desktop and xubuntu-desktop. for some reason, kubuntu's start up screen appears when i first start the computer - the ubuntu start up screen used to display prior to my installing kubuntu-desktop.

i don't have xwmconfig and it didn't show up in synaptic (i did expand my repositories beyond the basic ones).

i assume $HOME/.xinitrc means [fill in name of home directory here]/.xinitrc.

i have no clue what follows, so i'm not sure it will do me any good.

i'm thinking about just ditching kubuntu and xubuntu for now - until i can learn enough to set them up to run under different users.

will...

Code:
sudo apt-get remove kubuntu-desktop kubuntu-artwork-usplash
do the trick?

do i need to also execute...

Code:
sudo apt-get autoremove
or will that impact my ubuntu setup since i installed ubuntu first?

tia...
 
Old 03-18-2007, 10:10 PM   #8
JaseP
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2002
Location: Eastern PA, USA
Distribution: K/Ubuntu 18.04-14.04, Scientific Linux 6.3-6.4, Android-x86, Pretty much all distros at one point...
Posts: 1,802

Rep: Reputation: 157Reputation: 157
Don't confuse the boot screen with the default window manager. You can, afterwards switch to using gde as the default login manager, as opposed to kdm. In either, with the full version of the window managers installed, you should have the option so set a window manager for each of the different user accounts.
 
Old 03-19-2007, 12:52 AM   #9
GNewbie
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: (U/K/X)buntu 6.1 (newer box) / D*mn Small Linux (older box)
Posts: 326

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaseP
Don't confuse the boot screen with the default window manager. You can, afterwards switch to using gde as the default login manager, as opposed to kdm. In either, with the full version of the window managers installed, you should have the option so set a window manager for each of the different user accounts.
JaseP, okay, even if i can google a way to change the boot screen to the ubuntu boot screen*, the option to shut down is removed when i'm using gnome. it is there when i'm in xubuntu.

using ubuntu's gnome, i have to logout and then open up a secure gnome terminal session (this is from memory and i've surely messed up the name) and type "halt" to exit ubuntu.

i think i could work through this if i could just get the shutdown back in ubuntu.

*here it is...

http://ubuntu.wordpress.com/2006/02/...buntu-install/
 
Old 03-19-2007, 12:59 AM   #10
GNewbie
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: (U/K/X)buntu 6.1 (newer box) / D*mn Small Linux (older box)
Posts: 326

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 31
solution

solution:

from:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=244662

------------------------

Menu: System > Administration > Login Window

In the "Local" tab of "Login Window Preferences", make sure that "Menu Bar: Show Actions menu" is checked.

------------------------

i think the problem occurred b/c i changed from a themed login to a plain login and the above preference is a default in themed but not in plain.

thanks for the help - now i get to figure out how to default to a window manager by user.
 
Old 03-19-2007, 01:23 AM   #11
GNewbie
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: (U/K/X)buntu 6.1 (newer box) / D*mn Small Linux (older box)
Posts: 326

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by GNewbie
JaseP, okay, even if i can google a way to change the boot screen to the ubuntu boot screen*, the option to shut down is removed when i'm using gnome. it is there when i'm in xubuntu.

using ubuntu's gnome, i have to logout and then open up a secure gnome terminal session (this is from memory and i've surely messed up the name) and type "halt" to exit ubuntu.

i think i could work through this if i could just get the shutdown back in ubuntu.

*here it is...

http://ubuntu.wordpress.com/2006/02/...buntu-install/
well, i tested the link to get the ubuntu splash back... and i get the ubuntu splash on shut down and the kubuntu splash on start up. -lol-

i'll add this to my todo list for tomorrow.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Window Managers vs Window Shell Environments DJOtaku Linux - General 7 08-09-2005 12:43 PM
Window Managers DJOtaku Linux - General 13 02-15-2005 12:35 AM
Window Managers vs. Desktop Managers mikeshn Linux - General 4 02-11-2004 11:31 AM
Ddifferent users, different window managers. Possible? Onemessedupjedi Linux - Newbie 2 10-19-2003 05:33 AM
Users, window managers, bootloaders and samba shares (oh my!) Korff Linux - General 1 06-13-2003 11:00 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Ubuntu

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration