LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 02-14-2007, 04:40 PM   #1
Pinkks
LQ Newbie

Distribution: SUSE 10.2

Rep: Reputation: 0
Default file and directory permissions

I am still very new to Linux, and am using SUSE 10.2 to run a PDC for a Win XP network. Command line is not yet my thing, so I rely on the KDE GUI.

I did not take too long to get the PDC working and Samba set up and running more generally - especially the "quirk" that Samba users must be added manually! I now have a dozen or so users in a small charity beavering away on the new system.

Live running has flagged an issue. I want the permissions on files/folders in our shared filestore to be owner and group view/modify and others forbidden. I set the permissions as this when the disks were installed.

However, I have noticed that whenever anyone creates or edits a file/folder and saves the changes they appear to inherit permissions from somewhere other than the parent folder. This default is owner view/modify, group view and others forbidden.

Can someone explain how I set the default to Owner and group view/modify? My users are still being patient with me as they know I am a hobbiest on a steep learning curve but at the ned of the day they have a job to do, so the honeymoon period could be short-lived... gulp!

Any advice appreciated.

Old 02-14-2007, 04:55 PM   #2
kwidner
LQ Newbie

Distribution: SuSE 10.2

A decent explanation here: http://floppix.ccai.com/umask.html

Old 02-14-2007, 05:10 PM   #3
Pinkks
LQ Newbie

Original Poster