LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking > Linux - Wireless Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Wireless Networking This forum is for the discussion of wireless networking in Linux.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 08-13-2006, 05:02 PM   #1
ganooch

Distribution: Slackware 11.0

Rep: Reputation: 15
Help with wireless card and Slack 10.2

I am a complete Linux/Slackware newbie. I finally managed to get Slackware 10.2 installed on my computer (dual boot with Win XP). I got KDE up and running, the sound card working, now the only things left are my wireless card and the ATI card. For now, I am mainly concerned with the wireless card.

I have already done a ton of research on the subject. I read up on the internet for 2 weeks just to get 10.2 installed, like I said, I'm a newbie. All of the information that I find states that I need to download the right module and compile it with the kernel.

1) How do I find the right module? I have an HP Pavillion zd8205 laptop with a Broadcom internal wireless card.

2) Once I get the module, how do I install it. I have my USB flash drive working, so I would need to know where to move the file to from there via terminal.

3) How do I compile the kernel once the module is added? I am using the 2.6.13 kernel if it matters.

4) Do I have to do all of this, or is there a simple command to get Slackware to search for my wireless card (and anything else I may be missing) that I don't know about?

5) I also have 128bit WEP encryption. As long as I can get the OS to use the wireless card, I can figure out the encryption stuff. I just want it to see my network.

I would appreciate any answers to the above questions, though as I am aware that this is basic stuff to all of you, I would take a link to a very good tutorial that does not assume that you helped Linus develop Linux.

Thank you in advance,

--ganooch