LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - General
User Name
Password
Linux - General This Linux forum is for general Linux questions and discussion.
If it is Linux Related and doesn't seem to fit in any other forum then this is the place.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 05-31-2006, 08:15 PM   #1
lee_is_me
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2006
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: 0
binfmt problems


Hello all,

I am a windows developer for some years and I have started to learn some linux to run C#/mono apps. The problem that I am having is that I cannot run mono apps without first, typing "mono" first such as:

mono myapp.exe

I have tried following this article:

[Well I tried to post the link but the board will not let me post it util I have 3 posts]

but when trying to run:

modprobe binfmt

I get FATAL: Module binfmt not found.

Can anyone offer advice on how to solve this? LOL, I've been googling for about 4 hours now and cannot find a solution. At this point, I'm about to give up on mono because of the required "mono myapp.exe" requirement and use something else like FreePascal (I use delphi alot) but I'm doing a lot of work in C# lately and this fits.

I am running CentOS 4, BTW.

Thank you,

Lee
 
Old 06-01-2006, 02:21 AM   #2
timmeke
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Location: Belgium
Distribution: Red Hat, Fedora
Posts: 1,515

Rep: Reputation: 61
I'm no expert in mono, C# or anything like that, but why don't you use a simple shell script or alias to overcome your problem?

ie
Code:
#!/bin/bash
mono your_program
Then, you can run the program by just calling the name of the script.
For instance, if your program is called "test", you can make a script RunTest that runs it...

An alternative is using aliases, but I don't recommend it if you have plenty of programs:
Code:
alias prog="mono your_program"
Put that for instance in your profile or in your .bashrc (or whatever shell you prefer). It'll make you run "mono your_program" by just typing the command "prog".

I don't really see why you need a kernel module for a simple trick like this. But maybe that's just me...
 
Old 06-01-2006, 08:14 AM   #3
lee_is_me
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2006
Posts: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Thanks for the suggestion. I should have been a bit more detailed. I am using the C# app within Asterisk dialplan and it needs to be able to call the application directly (from what I understand) so that it can communicate with the application through STDIN,STDOUT, etc.

Thanks again for the suggestions!

Lee
 
Old 06-04-2006, 01:56 AM   #4
JamesNorris
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Distribution: Debian Testing
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: 0
binfmt is the binary format extension module for the kernel. I had it on here when I installed fspot.

If this helps...
 
Old 06-04-2006, 03:11 AM   #5
Tinkster
Moderator
 
Registered: Apr 2002
Location: earth
Distribution: slackware by choice, others too :} ... android.
Posts: 23,067
Blog Entries: 11

Rep: Reputation: 928Reputation: 928Reputation: 928Reputation: 928Reputation: 928Reputation: 928Reputation: 928Reputation: 928
I would have thought it needs to say something like binfmt_misc rather
than just binfmt. Of course it MAY be part of the kernel rather than
a module on your system.


Cheers,
Tink
 
Old 01-11-2008, 02:07 PM   #6
ellery
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: 0
Smile exact same problem here...

Any ideas on how to resolve this anyone?

Thx!
 
Old 03-10-2009, 07:14 PM   #7
jboulton
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: 0
binfmt may be compiled into the kernel

Hi,

On Fedora 10 binfmt is compiled into the kernel and so the module is not needed. You can check by running:
$ ls /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc

If you see something like:
register status

Then you are good to go.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cant locate modprobe binfmt-ffff hari_mj23 Linux - Hardware 0 03-10-2006 07:18 AM
Marvell Yukon Network driver problems, Lilo Windows boot Problems mellowdog Slackware - Installation 7 01-25-2006 02:18 AM
Problems with OSS while trying to avoid problems in ALSA (scratchy sound) GT_Onizuka Linux - General 1 02-05-2004 11:55 PM
Problems, problems, problems. Lets start with the soundcard Kre8ive Linux - Newbie 5 08-07-2003 01:20 AM
Problems, problems, problems. Lets start with the ES 1868 AudioDrive Kre8ive Linux - Newbie 1 08-06-2003 07:04 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - General

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration