LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software > Linux - Kernel
User Name
Password
Linux - Kernel This forum is for all discussion relating to the Linux kernel.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 05-28-2006, 03:41 AM   #1
Ibrahimbazar

Rep: Reputation: 15
wherei do i find .config file

Problem: This is the actual problem

[/I][/U][/B]I'll start off by stating that I'm pretty new to linux so this could likely be a stupid newbie mistake. Here's the problem:

The kernel I have working is version 2.4.22 and I can still boot up to that. I compiled a 2.6 version and installed it in exactly the same way that the old version is, just appending 2-6 to the end of the file. I did this also with /etc/lilo.conf and ran lilo afterwards so when I reboot I get a menu that shows linux and linux-2.6

linux still boots up fine but when I try and boot up linux-2.6 I get some ouput and then a kernel panic with this message:

<snip>
VFS: Cannot open root device "888" or unknown-block(8,8)
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
Kernel panic: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(8,8)

I am running debian testing on a dell poweredge 1750. It has 2 Xeon processors and 1 scsi HD. The whole reason behind my compiling a kernel is trying to get support for high memory (this machine has 2 gigs of ram) and multi-processor support.

I doubt this has anything to do with lilo and suspect that I've somehow configured the kernel wrong. I am using reiserFS and I'm pretty sure I selected all scsi and driver support. Everything is compiled in and not as modules.

Solution This is the solution
could u check on IDE support, whether is turned on or not.
Check your .config and look for CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDE and CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDEDISK entries.

now how do i fine the .config file

please help me out

Old 05-28-2006, 03:49 AM   #2
prozac

Distribution: slackware 12.1