LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > General
User Name
Password
General This forum is for non-technical general discussion which can include both Linux and non-Linux topics. Have fun!

Notices

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 05-23-2006, 02:53 PM   #1
Splork

Angry Sort yourselves out Linux Community!!!

I know that the following post is going to annoy some people within the Linux community, but I think that this has to be said.

I am a relative beginner when it comes to Linux and the processes that are required to setting up certain software packages. I have asked many times for some answers to some simple questions, like how to play MPG files for example. However, I have yet to receive or find a straight forward, step by step guide as to how to do this. Instead I am presented with '...your codecs need updating.' or '...google xine.' or 'Open Yast, add a mirror to Packman, sell your SOUL and prey to the grim reaper.'.

Thanks for taking the time to supply me with these 'pearls of wisdom' but I came here for help. You as the Linux community are as responsible for the success of Linux as the developers who produce it. Would it not be wise to provide helpful solutions to problems that I can see that many people are facing, perhaps by doing this more users will be transported across the void from the Dark Side. The state of affairs currently leads to total confusion for the beginners who would like to try out Linux. These users who are frustrated by the lack of helpful solutions from the community that they would like to join are then going to just re-install Windows and bad-mouth Linux for the rest of their days. I think that as Linux is a community driven project it should be up to the community to make an effort to make Linux as user friendly and enjoyable as possible. Hmmmm?