LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware > Slackware - Installation
User Name
Password
Slackware - Installation This forum is for the discussion of installation issues with Slackware.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 03-23-2006, 11:23 AM   #1
BruceTSpruce
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
My DVD-ROM or CD-RW not recognized

OK here is the deal..I can boot up with Slackware10.1 install cd and I have made it as far as setting up Linux partitions and s swap file, etc...but the setup program tells me it can't find a cd-rom...what gives? I tried auto scanning for one(I have a dvd and a cd-rw), to no avail. I'm new to Linux(trying to cross over from the EVIL EMPIRE! heh) My config: Gigabyte GA-915PL-G mobo with(Intel 915PL Chipset)...Now this motherboard has 3 IDE slots...primary HDD(slot 1) and CD/DVD(slot 2--but they are recognized by the bios as being a RAID array)hmmmmm.....I'm clueless...please help!

Old 03-23-2006, 12:39 PM   #2
cynedyr
LQ Newbie

Distribution: Slackware 10.2

Try using mount (mount /dev/hdc /mnt/cdrom) or specifying hdc or hdd when looking for the source directory, perhaps, then rerunning setup.

I had the same error on the first machine I setup, sometimes it seemed like the cd drive wouldn't spin up fast enough for linux to acknowledge that it was there.

Old 03-23-2006, 04:55 PM   #3
BruceTSpruce
LQ Newbie

Original Poster
Thanks, cynedyr! I'll check it out and let ya know...

Old 03-26-2006, 12:48 PM   #4
lestoil

Distribution: win2k,ubuntu,sw13,arch,centos5.3

Rep: Reputation: 31