LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > SUSE / openSUSE
User Name
Password
SUSE / openSUSE This Forum is for the discussion of Suse Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-07-2017, 06:14 AM   #1
Crb999
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2017
Location: West Coast Scotland
Distribution: Suse Linux 42.2 Now 15.1
Posts: 319

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Suse LEAP 42.2 not starting wlan0 automatically


Hi Folks,

I'm running a Dell Optiplex 8Gb RAM plenty of disk space running Suse Linux LEAP 42.2 only.

I connect to the world through my internal wireless card which gives me no problems.

When I boot or reboot, I have no wireless connection to anywhere.

to try to see what is preventing the wlan from starting during one of the boot phases I ran:

Code:
systemctl list-unit-files --type=service | grep -i netw
This returned:

Code:
dbus-org.opensuse.Network.AUTO4.service    enabled 
dbus-org.opensuse.Network.DHCP4.service    enabled 
dbus-org.opensuse.Network.DHCP6.service    enabled 
dbus-org.opensuse.Network.Nanny.service    enabled 
network.service                            enabled 
NetworkManager-dispatcher.service          enabled 
NetworkManager-wait-online.service         disabled
NetworkManager.service                     disabled
Aha! Thought I, Gottit!

Then I started the network in my normal tried and tested way:

Code:
crb999@linux-dxa1:"> NetworkManager
And within quarter of a second I get a wlan0 icon and I'm connected.

So I run the systemct command again:

Code:
systemctl list-unit-files --type=service | grep -i netw
dbus-org.opensuse.Network.AUTO4.service    enabled 
dbus-org.opensuse.Network.DHCP4.service    enabled 
dbus-org.opensuse.Network.DHCP6.service    enabled 
dbus-org.opensuse.Network.Nanny.service    enabled 
network.service                            enabled 
NetworkManager-dispatcher.service          enabled 
NetworkManager-wait-online.service         disabled
NetworkManager.service                     disabled
crb999@linux-dxa1:~>
Exactly the same as before running NetworkManager except this time the network and the internet are available!

It's not going to break me to have to type 'NetworkManager' each time I boot but it would be nicer for it to start automatically!

All the other typical network starting commands like ifup don’t work either and of course I don't need them once its running so I haven't pursued that very far.

What should I look for next?

Regards

Chris
 
Old 03-07-2017, 08:40 PM   #2
ferrari
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 5,806

Rep: Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140
You need to decide whether to use wicked or NetworkManager explicitly. The latter is more useful to those changing network environments frequently. This can be done via

YaST > System > Network Settings > Global Options

Select NetworkManager.Service from 'Network Setup Method', then OK.

Confirm NetworkManager is now enabled and active with
Code:
systemctl status NetworkManager
and wicked should be confirmed as disabled....
Code:
systemctl status wicked
For more info refer to the openSUSE guide....
https://doc.opensuse.org/documentati....basicnet.html
 
Old 03-13-2017, 05:05 AM   #3
Crb999
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2017
Location: West Coast Scotland
Distribution: Suse Linux 42.2 Now 15.1
Posts: 319

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Hi ferrari,
Thanks for your response, sorry about the delay, I've been away!

As you can see from my initial post, NetworkManager is what is being used.

I'm not involved with multiple networks and so it sounds, according to your response, that 'wicked' makes more sense however, I am primarily interested in the network connecting automatically on boot or during that process somewhere and don’t really care how that happens.

Your reply shows how I can set up NetworkManager but that is not what I want.

If you are saying that NetworkManager can't start the network automatically and that I should therefore use wicked, then I have to say that the message isn't at all clear.

If I change to wicked, will it start in the manner I require?

Regards

Chris

Code:
crb999@linux-dxa1:~> systemctl status NetworkManager
● NetworkManager.service - Network Manager
   Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/NetworkManager.service; disabled; vendor preset: disabled)
   Active: inactive (dead)
crb999@linux-dxa1:~> systemctl status wicked
● wicked.service - wicked managed network interfaces
   Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/wicked.service; enabled; vendor preset: disabled)
   Active: active (exited) since Tue 2017-03-07 11:43:50 GMT; 5 days ago
  Process: 845 ExecStart=/usr/sbin/wicked --systemd ifup all (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
 Main PID: 845 (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
    Tasks: 0 (limit: 512)
   CGroup: /system.slice/wicked.service

Warning: Journal has been rotated since unit was started. Log output is incomplete or unavailable.

Last edited by Crb999; 03-13-2017 at 05:06 AM.
 
Old 03-13-2017, 05:45 AM   #4
ferrari
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 5,806

Rep: Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140
Either can be used to get a connection up at boot. For wicked, you may need to configure first via
YaST > System > Network Settings > Overview, select the device concerned and 'Edit', follow the prompts....
 
Old 03-13-2017, 06:17 AM   #5
Crb999
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2017
Location: West Coast Scotland
Distribution: Suse Linux 42.2 Now 15.1
Posts: 319

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Hi again ferrari,

I changed to wicked

Code:
crb999@linux-dxa1:~> sudo systemctl disable NetworkManager
Code:
crb999@linux-dxa1:~> sudo systemctl enable wicked
Then I looked at ifconfig which I've truncated.

Code:
crb999@linux-dxa1:~> sudo ifconfig
wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:E0:4C:18:B1:81  
          inet addr:192.168.1.80  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::2e0:4cff:fe18:b181/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:347 errors:0 dropped:193 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:59 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:21793 (21.2 Kb)  TX bytes:11748 (11.4 Kb)
I can't really see anything wrong there but the machine is still not connected to the internet.

I tried:

Code:
crb999@linux-dxa1:~> sudo ifup wlan0
wlan0           up
and then to compare:

Code:
crb999@linux-dxa1:~> sudo ifconfig
wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:E0:4C:18:B1:81  
          inet addr:192.168.1.80  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::2e0:4cff:fe18:b181/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:493 errors:0 dropped:284 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:64 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:32564 (31.8 Kb)  TX bytes:12615 (12.3 Kb)
But I'm still unwebbed so I reverted.

Code:
crb999@linux-dxa1:~> sudo systemctl disable wicked

Removed symlink /etc/systemd/system/network-online.target.wants/wicked.service.
Removed symlink /etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants/wicked.service.
Removed symlink /etc/systemd/system/dbus-org.opensuse.Network.Nanny.service.
Removed symlink /etc/systemd/system/dbus-org.opensuse.Network.AUTO4.service.
Removed symlink /etc/systemd/system/dbus-org.opensuse.Network.DHCP4.service.
Removed symlink /etc/systemd/system/dbus-org.opensuse.Network.DHCP6.service.
Removed symlink /etc/systemd/system/network.service.
And got NM back:

Code:
crb999@linux-dxa1:~> sudo systemctl enable NetworkManager
Created symlink from /etc/systemd/system/network.service to /usr/lib/systemd/system/NetworkManager.service.
Created symlink from /etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants/NetworkManager.service to /usr/lib/systemd/system/NetworkManager.service.
Created symlink from /etc/systemd/system/dbus-org.freedesktop.nm-dispatcher.service to /usr/lib/systemd/system/NetworkManager-dispatcher.service.
Right but still no network!

So back to my original technique, which is to invoke NM

Code:
crb999@linux-dxa1:~> sudo NetworkManager
And I'm connected to everything I want to be connected to! I get a little confidence icon on the tray for the wifi connection.

Finally, just to see if there is a material difference, I run ifconfig again, truncated as before.

Code:
crb999@linux-dxa1:~> sudo ifconfig
wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:E0:4C:18:B1:81  
          inet addr:192.168.1.80  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::2e0:4cff:fe18:b181/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:741 errors:0 dropped:284 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:194 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:59004 (57.6 Kb)  TX bytes:43780 (42.7 Kb)
Well, there are more RX and TX bytes but I'm actually sending and receiving things!

I rather hope this can help find a solution.

Regards

Chris
 
Old 03-13-2017, 01:47 PM   #6
ferrari
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 5,806

Rep: Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140
No! Use YaST to disable NM and enable wicked via
YaST > System > Network Settings > Global Options

Don't then run NM from the terminal! Instead, configure your wireless network using

YaST > System > Network Settings > Overview, slect the wireless device, and 'Edit' to configure.... click 'Ok' when done.
 
Old 03-13-2017, 04:25 PM   #7
Crb999
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2017
Location: West Coast Scotland
Distribution: Suse Linux 42.2 Now 15.1
Posts: 319

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Hi Ferrari,

Thanks but at the moment, no thanks.

I don't know enough to configure my wireless device in YaST.

It has been hard enough to get to this point and so I'll need to learn a good bit more before doing as you suggest, thanks anyway.

Regards

Chris
 
Old 03-13-2017, 04:43 PM   #8
ferrari
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 5,806

Rep: Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140
I can only suggest reading the openSUSE guide I linked to back in post #2.
 
Old 03-14-2017, 03:41 AM   #9
petelq
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2008
Location: Yorkshire
Distribution: openSUSE(Leap and Tumbleweed) and a (not so) regularly changing third and fourth
Posts: 627

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crb999 View Post
Hi Ferrari,

Thanks but at the moment, no thanks.

I don't know enough to configure my wireless device in YaST.

It has been hard enough to get to this point and so I'll need to learn a good bit more before doing as you suggest, thanks anyway.

Regards

Chris
I find Yast a much easier way to do it than the console. Have you tried it?
 
Old 03-14-2017, 04:42 AM   #10
Crb999
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2017
Location: West Coast Scotland
Distribution: Suse Linux 42.2 Now 15.1
Posts: 319

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Hi Ferrari,

Yes I have. I use the gui version provided by kde.

I have had various network problems and have certainly tried to sort them using YaST, not very successfully I might add.

For example, when I first installed Suse 42.1,i was presented with two 'eth0' devices and was never connected to the network because the one that the system chose was a ghost!

All I had to do in network manager was to disconnect one and connect the other and all was right with the world.

Nothing in YaST gave me a clue as to why this was happening or how to eradicate it.

I plugged in my wifi card and though it was detected immediately it never connected automatically (hence this thread) but invoking NM connects to the network without further action on my part. I don't have to select it or switch its state if do anything at all except Sudo NetworkManager, and I'm connected.

I would still like it to be an automatic process but perhaps I have to learn a lot more about networking in general.

YaST asks too many question that I cannot find answers to, yet! One day perhaps.

Do not underestimate my ignorance quotient!

I'm prepared and ready to learn but I'm slow and getting slower. I'm at ease with that.

Regards and thanks for you guidance

Chris
 
Old 03-15-2017, 10:57 AM   #11
Crb999
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2017
Location: West Coast Scotland
Distribution: Suse Linux 42.2 Now 15.1
Posts: 319

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
A last note.

Thanks for your advice, I do listen even if I can't always make sense of it.

A case in hand:

I just bought a Blutooth usb gizmo to make downloading from my android machine simple.

There was no software to install, it was just there and it worked but, from that moment on, afaics, my wlan0 connects automatically at boot!

Who am I to argue with that? Knowing why would be nice but not necessary :-)

Thanks again, I'm closing this thread.

Regards

Chris
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
starting wireless wlan0 manually dimm0k Slackware 4 08-10-2010 09:36 PM
how to make wlan0 driver start automatically in opensuse 11? tjwoosta Linux - Newbie 2 10-21-2008 01:35 AM
Stopping wlan0 from starting up at bootup hondo Linux - General 1 02-04-2008 08:10 AM
ifup wlan0 automatically Steffen Linux - Wireless Networking 5 07-28-2005 06:28 AM
Starting wlan0 instead of eth0 eo697 Linux - Networking 2 10-12-2003 05:02 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > SUSE / openSUSE

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration