LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 08-26-2005, 04:11 AM   #1
Azhrarn

Rep: Reputation: 15
SCSI & Generic Drive issues

Hi there!
I m a complete newbie, notwithstanding tho, I have misteriously managed to install a Red Hat 9.0 Server, upgrade it, configure Samba & get it to run as the main file server of the office, which I am pretty proud of :P
Miracles of Webmin you're probably thinking, and you'd be right!

The problem is that now I m tackling Amanda with a HP SureStore Dat 8 SCSI external drive & its driving me nuts.

There are several issues, but the main on is that I still don t understand how Drives work in Linux. As a Windows Admin, I m used to adding drives, and once installed, seeing them appearing with a specific letter on the computer.

Linux however places these in the /dev/ folder with names such as sda1, sdb1 ect.
Why is this? Is there a logic behind the naming format? Is it somehow sequential?

I added the SCSI card & RH9 found it with the hardware demon, under Info, in the Control Panel, it displays the Adaptec SCSI card under the PCI field but not under the SCSI field, is this correct?
Am I supposed to install drivers for the SureStore Dat 8 or is the SCSI card sufficient?

How do I access the drive, how do I find out what name it has under /dev/ ?

I know it's a lot to ask, but its probably bread and butter for you guys, and its a bloody mountain for me, and I ve got enough on my hand without wasting hours & hours reading on the internet for stuff I don t know how to find!
Thanks a million
Cheers
Paul

Old 08-26-2005, 11:18 AM   #2
jlinkels
LQ Guru

Distribution: Debian /Jessie/Stretch/Sid, Linux Mint DE