LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Linux Power User Bundle
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > AryaLinux
User Name
Password
AryaLinux This forum is for the discussion of AryaLinux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-10-2017, 06:01 AM   #1
raymac1946
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2012
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Question VirtualBox Guest Additions


Is there a method to install Guest Additions when running Arya Linux in VirtualBox? After installation I have only 640X480 resolution available on my display. This is with the Xfce variant.
Any attempt to build the Guest Additions with the shell script on the VirtualBox ISO fails. Source code is not available.
 
Old 03-10-2017, 06:25 AM   #2
hydrurga
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Pictland
Distribution: Linux Mint 18.1 MATE
Posts: 2,372

Rep: Reputation: 817Reputation: 817Reputation: 817Reputation: 817Reputation: 817Reputation: 817Reputation: 817
Fails how?

I assume that you've read through this - http://docs.kali.org/general-use/kal...tual-box-guest - and tried running VboxLinuxAdditions.run
 
Old 03-10-2017, 07:01 AM   #3
raymac1946
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2012
Posts: 10

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Yes of course I have. The packages like virtualbox-guest-x11 and virtualbox-guest-dkms are not available if you try to install via ALPS. The shell script from the VirtualBox ISO does not work. Logs show that the source code isn't available.
I have installed the Guest Additions many times in Debian distros and know the ropes. Arya Linux is much different.

Last edited by raymac1946; 03-10-2017 at 07:05 AM.
 
Old 03-11-2017, 06:45 AM   #4
raymac1946
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2012
Posts: 10

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I still do not have an answer for VirtualBox but I did find a YouTube tutorial that shows how to get full screen in VMware Player. I have installed Arya Linux in VMware Player and I already get many more options for display. I am going to try to install VMware Tools and see what happens. I'll report back on my findings.
 
Old 03-11-2017, 10:07 AM   #5
raymac1946
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2012
Posts: 10

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled


This is what I was able to do in VMware Player after installing the VMware Tools. I don't have the option to fit the screen inside the VM but I can get a full screen display with a floating taskbar that looks good.
Still don't have an answer for VirtualBox though.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] CentOS 7 Host and Virtualbox Win 8.1 Guest with Guest Additions Installed Sum1 Linux - Virtualization and Cloud 1 03-26-2015 02:31 PM
[SOLVED] how to check version of virtualbox guest additions currently installed in guest syste masuch Linux - Virtualization and Cloud 3 09-03-2012 01:05 AM
Problem installing guest additions on virtualbox Centos 5.5 64bit guest eljay313 Linux - Virtualization and Cloud 1 09-03-2010 08:22 AM
LXer: Install Guest additions and run fullscreen mode on VirtualBox Guest OS | Linux LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 01-17-2010 05:30 PM
problem installing guest additions in Fedora 11 guest (virtualbox) mia_tech Linux - Desktop 9 07-28-2009 12:15 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration