LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Server
User Name
Password
Linux - Server This forum is for the discussion of Linux Software used in a server related context.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 10-13-2013, 08:23 AM   #31
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida
Distribution: slackware64-current, puppy, ubuntu
Posts: 1,344

Rep: Reputation: 184Reputation: 184

what does grub.conf look like, if it had
Code:
root (??,??)
then it is for grub legacy. If it had
Code:
set root=(??,??)
then it is grub2. grub2 looks for grub.cfg not grub.conf

Last edited by colorpurple21859; 10-13-2013 at 08:24 AM.
 
Old 10-13-2013, 08:26 AM   #32
InventiousTech
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2013
Posts: 17

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Yep it's like so:
Code:
root (hda0,0)
So, how do I update to grub2?
 
Old 10-13-2013, 08:33 AM   #33
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida
Distribution: slackware64-current, puppy, ubuntu
Posts: 1,344

Rep: Reputation: 184Reputation: 184
This should create a grub.cfg and put it in the right location.
Code:
grub-mkconfig -o /mnt/boot/grub/grub.cfg
Not sure which grub update-grub will try and use.
 
Old 10-13-2013, 12:44 PM   #34
voleg
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2013
Distribution: RedHat
Posts: 145

Rep: Reputation: 5
Sorry repeating advise.

Since you reinstall with default layout, it is follows:
First partition is mounted as /boot
Second partition is LVM; It may include more than one LV, but all of them resides
on same second partition hidden by LVM.

Look on my very first advise, do copy-paste, and be happy
 
Old 10-15-2013, 12:42 PM   #35
InventiousTech
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2013
Posts: 17

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Ok, so I finally got it working. I decided to re-install CentOS because I had installed 5.9 i386, but because it was 32 bit, it wouldn't let me allocate more than 2GB of memory to my minecraft server, so I downloaded and burned a liveDVD of CentOS 5.9 x86_64 (6.4 gives a blank screen at the gui installer). I installed the new one, but this time, I switched the drive order so that c0d0 was first, and lo and behold there was an option to install grub on the MBR. So I selected it, and everything went fine, grub now automatically loads CentOS. Anyway, if anyone is wondering, I think the issue is that I originally installed grub from the liveDVD, so it's system analysis incorrectly detected the DVD as the main OS, and when that wasn't there at boot, it just went to a grub prompt. Thanks for all the assistance, this seems like a very helpful forum.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Grub can't find grub.cfg when booting - error: no such device Breagha Linux - Software 8 03-14-2010 12:40 PM
Get the correct boot device scristiv Linux - Newbie 7 12-28-2007 03:36 PM
correct grub.conf, reboot and cannot get grub prompt... sportivo888 Linux - Newbie 1 12-10-2007 11:47 PM
Booting with GRUB/LILO using a floppy form an ISO on a USB device? :s Toxyn Linux - Software 1 02-08-2007 08:49 AM
GRUB is not booting the correct partition in a dual drives system ps6000 Linux - Software 4 01-11-2007 10:59 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration