LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Zorin OS
User Name
Password
Zorin OS This forum is for the discussion of Zorin OS Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-15-2017, 11:33 AM   #1
dcs.79c
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2017
Posts: 21

Rep: Reputation: 0
Multiple desktops


I know that some distros of Linux allow one to install multiple desktop environments & switch from one to another by logging out of one & logging into another. I think Linux Mint allows that.

I watched a YouTube video where multiple desktop environments were downloaded & installed into, I think, Linux Mint & the narrator switched desktops by logging out of one desktop & logging into another.

I intend to install VirtualBox on my Mac & try out different distros.

Does Zorin allow that?

I'm coming from a Windows & Mac background & this is my 1st foray into Linux. I've spent hours on Wikipedia, YouTube & Google researching the different distros of Linux. I've made a list of contenders & I'm narrowing it down.

Some distros probably don't allow multiple desktops. I know that KDE Neon only supports KDE & won't install other desktops according to their website.

There are so many desktop environments. If there's an option to have more than one desktop on a distro than to have to install a bunch of distros each with a different desktop, then that's what I want to try.
 
Old 03-15-2017, 11:47 AM   #2
Golf4Fun
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Posts: 25

Rep: Reputation: 0
All you need to do is install another desktop environment on the Linux system you use from the package manager. When you log out you should see a button to click on the login screen that allows selecting the other desktop environment.

Negative is that installing other desktop environments brings a lot of extra software you may not want. In virtualbox that will not matter too much.
 
Old 03-15-2017, 12:30 PM   #3
dcs.79c
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2017
Posts: 21

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Excellent!

I was hoping that you would say that.

By package manger do you mean Synaptic?

I'm anxious to get a bunch of flash drives & VirtualBox & Unetbootin & try out Linux.
 
Old 03-15-2017, 09:42 PM   #4
frankbell
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Debian, Mageia, and whatever VMs I happen to be playing with
Posts: 11,802
Blog Entries: 13

Rep: Reputation: 2948Reputation: 2948Reputation: 2948Reputation: 2948Reputation: 2948Reputation: 2948Reputation: 2948Reputation: 2948Reputation: 2948Reputation: 2948Reputation: 2948
Quote:
By package manger do you mean Synaptic?
Yes.

Debian-based systems also typically include command-line package managers; they all access the same repos.

Typically, desktop environments provide methods for configuring how many workspaces or virtual desktops are available. Where to do that depends on the individual environment. In KDE, you do that in the KDE system-settings dialog.

I understand that Zorin uses Gnome. You may have to install the gnome-tweak-tool to have this capability.

Last edited by frankbell; 03-15-2017 at 09:45 PM.
 
Old 03-16-2017, 02:40 AM   #5
ondoho
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,875

Rep: Reputation: 1052Reputation: 1052Reputation: 1052Reputation: 1052Reputation: 1052Reputation: 1052Reputation: 1052Reputation: 1052
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcs.79c View Post
I'm anxious to get a bunch of flash drives & VirtualBox & Unetbootin & try out Linux.
don't use unetbootin.
i think it's broken for good.
on windows you can use e.g. rufus, on linux it's 'dd' and is most probably already installed.
creation of usb media instructions always from the distro's web pages!!!
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starting Multiple Monitors / Multiple Desktops at System Startup. Kaiji Linux - Desktop 4 08-04-2014 05:18 PM
what can I do with multiple desktops? newbiesforever General 7 11-21-2006 12:15 AM
multiple desktops candyman123 Linux - Software 5 09-16-2006 08:01 PM
Multiple Desktops- What you use 'em for? TigerCardeo Mandriva 4 03-06-2004 07:35 AM
multiple desktops chrismiceli Linux - General 19 03-10-2003 03:17 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration