LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-27-2005, 08:54 PM   #16
stabone
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: 0

I had the same problem and this is what I did:

1. download a new kernel (I'm using 2.6.11.6 kernel right now)
2. use the kernel config used for your original install or update. this can be found in "/boot" directory and mine is called "config-2.6.10-1.770_FC3" (use this as your base kernel configuration)

3. once your have loaded the "config-2.6.10-1.770_FC3" into the kernel you can then remove the things you don't need or things you need. (CAUTION!!! I wouldn't change anything in the "FILE SYSTEM" area of the kernel. Some wrong changes here I believe is what causes the kernel panic.)

4. simply make the changes you need and then save the changes.

5. Give the usual commands: make all
6. make modules_install
7. make install
8. everything should be ready to go so reboot the system and choose the kernel you wish to boot from the grub loader screen.

9. if you get a kernel panic again then there is something wrong in the kernel configuration setting which you compiled (hint: you might have removed the wrong settings)

This worked for a stand alone install of Fedora Core 3 and the hard drive was NOT split to work as a dual boot. I suffered numerous kernel panics until I tried to use one of the original kernel configs and it compiled and rebooted perfectly. If you are like me and like to run a lean mean fast kernel then I would recommend trying to remove little by little from the kernel config each time your recompile. Every time you have a successful reboot simply save the kernel config and try again. If you get a kernel panic you probably went too far (changed something you shouldn't have) so go back to the last kernel config that worked and mess with settings again. I know it is a long ass lame process but it works and well worth it once you get the kernel where you want it. Save the final kernel config somewhere safe (on a CD-R) so if you need it again it will be a breeze to recompile. Good luck and hope this helps.

Here is what my "grub.conf" file looks like:

default=0
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora Core (2.6.11.6)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.11.6 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.11.6.img
title Fedora Core (2.6.10-1.770_FC3)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.10-1.770_FC3 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.10-1.770_FC3.img
title Fedora Core (2.6.9-1.667)

Last edited by stabone; 03-27-2005 at 08:55 PM.
 
Old 04-20-2005, 12:17 AM   #17
laxtlo
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: finland
Distribution: fedora redhat
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: 0
Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!

Thanks mgerste
fedora core 4 test
linux pci=nosort text really worked for me but like you said it X wont work

Meaby somebody could fix that too
 
Old 04-22-2005, 09:22 AM   #18
laxtlo
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Location: finland
Distribution: fedora redhat
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: 0
kernel panic attempted to kill init

Hi All

Finally resolution to install linux msi neon 2 platinium based motherboard update Bios 1.7v then everything works GR8
 
Old 05-20-2005, 04:11 PM   #19
QuickBrownFox
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2005
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: 0
hello,

I have exactly the same problem as the original poster (panic occuring at kernel_thread_helper). I am trying to install FC3 for the first time on a machine with only XP installed. I am using the dvd version, with the both download and the burnt dvd verified. It's not a case of updating vmware as I have not installed that nor do I have any idea what it is. I'm currently downloading the CD version to see if that works any better. A bit annoying as I have a monthly data quota but it has to be tried I suppose.
Thanks.
 
Old 05-21-2005, 05:47 AM   #20
QuickBrownFox
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2005
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: 0
Update: Exactly the same issue with the CD version. Trying suse instead...
 
Old 10-18-2005, 09:07 AM   #21
timothyfclarke
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Location: Perth, Scotland
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: 0
Lightbulb

This thread has been dead for a while, but in case someone else stumbles across it like I did, I thought I would post the solution (it worked for me anyway).

I got the following from here:
Quote:
Solution for Kernel Panic on boot from bug 159026
1- at boot: prompt just type in some random crap
2- validate, the system will just give an error
3- at the boot: prompt again, just press enter
I don't understand it and didn't expect it to work, but it did! Hope I'm not to late to help anybody!
 
Old 11-25-2005, 03:01 AM   #22
Roes500
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: 0
The Fedora Core 4

I had similar problems with the:

Kernel panic - not syncing : kill init!

the problem was the bios not sending the correct mem amount to the kernel.
when u boot with the cd,look under the F1-F4 options for the memtest,then
see what amount of memory the memtest program tests...then reboot your
machine,and at the prompt enter : linux mem=amountM

hope it helps u folks
 
Old 04-19-2006, 08:50 AM   #23
Phreakre
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Location: South-Eastern USA
Distribution: Redhat/SUSE/Knoppix
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by timothyfclarke
This thread has been dead for a while, but in case someone else stumbles across it like I did, I thought I would post the solution (it worked for me anyway).

I got the following from here:


I don't understand it and didn't expect it to work, but it did! Hope I'm not to late to help anybody!

Now this is retarded, but it did indeed work. On boot, I just spammed characters w/ my left hand, hit enter, then hit enter again after the cannot find kernal asdafasafdsfa error. Amazing.
 
Old 05-17-2006, 02:56 PM   #24
rhooper
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Distribution: RH9, FC4, DebSrg
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: 0
Spamming random characters has to be the most ridiculous bug workaround that I've ever heard of, but it worked for me on FC4, too.
 
Old 09-17-2006, 04:27 AM   #25
WhatsOnYourBrain
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Posts: 64
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 15
what to do when it happens to a previously working sys?

hi. sorry to re-open this old thread-- but, i've encountered a similar situation, and i've found little in the way of googling.

mine is a standalone Fedora Core 5 (albeit, i had an XP slaved, which i was viewing mounted via /mnt/windows/... but i'm doubting that is relevant here?)

my Fedora Core 5 was working great-- since late May 2006. coincidentally to your discussion, the Kernel has recently updated, but this all is "automatic" w/ the Yumex. everything seemed okay, and i've never had any boot problems from the start. but something i did while trying to customize some directories / move files around, i think i accidentally sent a command to the wrong directory-- and now i've got a Kernel Panic happening. i'm not Linux savvy enough to know what to do "outside of" the OS environment i'm used to. i pulled up the grub> prompt, but i don't know what to do from there.

my understanding is that the Fedora installer makes 2 partitions: one for Grub and the other for the rest of the OS (if i had to write an essay on that, i'd have to stop there because i don't really know more about what Grub vs the Os vs what's going on w/ the partitions-- but my guess is that Grub handles boot-time-config, and from there, the "other" half takes over for the "desktop environment"?)

so, if it's possible for me to solve this problem by editing something in "Grub", then i'm certain that i DON'T know where to look. likewise, if it's something i do from Grub to the Filesystem... etc., etc.. this is where i need some guidance 'cause i've no idea really what i'm looking for this far "early" in the boot processes.

thanks! my first post on the issue, before i found this thread is here:
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...d.php?t=484267

thanks! oh, and since this is my "Primary" drive, i don't really have the luxury of wiping it and starting over-- i mean, i'm hoping not to have to lose several "original" code and graphics documents.

thanks! (sorry for the long text)
 
Old 08-18-2007, 06:04 PM   #26
crenclan
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Location: North Ga. USA
Distribution: various
Posts: 39

Rep: Reputation: 15
This is an old thread, but I thought I'd add to it. I found this thread from a google search. I got the same error message with fc6 that had been working for several months. I tried an upgrade & new install of Fedora 7, same thing. After trying cmos clearing, vid card & memory swap & several other things I ran a hdd fitness test on my WD 40 gig sata hdd. It failed. Error 0225, to many errors. I wiped the drive, wrote zeroes, full. I did a fresh install of Fedora 7. All is well now. I'm sure my hdd is living on borrowed time, but this got me going again. Seems there are several things that will give this error code. Hope this helps someone.
 
Old 08-29-2007, 09:13 PM   #27
WhatsOnYourBrain
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2006
Posts: 64
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by crenclan View Post
..I wiped the drive, wrote zeroes ... I'm sure my hdd is living on borrowed time, but this got me going again..
The commonalities between your situation, crenclan, and mine seem to be limited to the fact that no filesystem could be found-- yours due to hardware failure; mine due to corrupt filesystem paths, but both resulting in a "panic" for the Kernel. In my research on the matter, I learned that there are many situations which may cause Kernel Panic.

I still have the HDD, in the same condition as when I first opened this thread. The data is still there, and there's no hardware trouble, so I'll keep it until I am able to figure out how to extract it.

I don't understand why a completely functional ext2 or ext3 Fedora Core 5 system, having that distorted HDD installed as a slave, is yet unable to "see" the partition containing the FileSystem (as WinXP, in analogy, would continue to "see" the directories of a slave "E: Drive"-- even if E:\Windows\ were removed or damaged.)

I've tried the "slave" method with 2 functional Fedora systems as well, and not been able to "see" the slave. I'm probably doing something wrong with fstab, but i don't know what.
 
  


Reply

Tags
filesystem, fstab, hdd, kernel panic, path, rename, rescue, root



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kernel panic-not syncing MRDucks Mandriva 2 11-04-2005 06:57 PM
Fedora Core 2 Kernel Panic smOked^ Fedora - Installation 3 02-10-2005 03:29 AM
Fedora Core 3 install Kernel Panic - not syncing: Halting Hook99 Linux - Newbie 5 01-24-2005 07:30 PM
kernel panic trying to bood fedora core 3 poiuytrewq Linux - General 1 12-31-2004 07:03 AM
Fedora Core 2 Kernel Panic On Vmware cperdana Fedora 10 10-08-2004 12:19 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration