LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 05-20-2004, 02:28 PM   #1
soichih
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2004
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: 0
Question KDevelop - can't start gdb


I have Fedora Core 2 with Kdevelop 3.03 and gdb 6.0post.

When I try to debug from KDevelop, I get following error with a dialog.

Error while reading shared library symbols: : No such file or directory

I can run the application from KDevelop if I don't debug, and if I run gdb on command line with the application I am trying debug it works fine too. It only does this when I run on the KDevelop's debug->restart.

The GDB screen has following output.

(gdb) run
Error while mapping shared library sections:
: Success.
(gdb) info thread
Error while reading shared library symbols:
: No such file or directory.
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
[New Thread -150322080 (LWP 16379)]
(gdb) info thread
Stopped due to shared library event
[New Thread -150322080 (LWP 16379)]
2 Thread -150322080 (LWP 16379) 0x00a0f480 in _dl_debug_state () from /lib/ld-linux.so.2
[New Thread -150322080 (LWP 16379)]
3 Thread -150322080 (LWP 16379) 0x00a0f480 in _dl_debug_state () from /lib/ld-linux.so.2


Does anybody know what these mean?
 
Old 06-03-2004, 12:28 AM   #2
hanang
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: 0
"I have Fedora Core 2 with Kdevelop 3.03 and gdb 6.0post.

When I try to debug from KDevelop, I get following error with a dialog.

Error while reading shared library symbols: : No such file or directory

I can run the application from KDevelop if I don't debug, and if I run gdb on command line with the application I am trying debug it works fine too. It only does this when I run on the KDevelop's debug->restart."

Good morning.
I have the same problem. Did you, by chance, succeeded in fixing this problem?
 
Old 06-03-2004, 08:01 PM   #3
soichih
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2004
Posts: 8

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
No, I haven't got any progress so far. I tried another IDE called "anjuta" which is known to be the 2nd best from KDevelop. It works just fine. I could debug and do whatever I needed. I might just go ahead and start using this one..
 
Old 06-05-2004, 11:21 PM   #4
hanang
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: 0
Well, thanks anyway.
 
Old 06-06-2004, 12:26 AM   #5
DuneSoldier
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Debian Unstable
Posts: 21

Rep: Reputation: 15
I've hit the same problem.
 
Old 06-06-2004, 04:23 PM   #6
DuneSoldier
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Debian Unstable
Posts: 21

Rep: Reputation: 15
bump.
 
Old 06-08-2004, 02:56 PM   #7
gcruscoe
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: 0
I've got the same exact problem.

It actually started a couple weeks ago when I was doing updates from my (FCT2 (which became FCT3 and was still working)). Then I did another set of updates (not sure which ones of course :-(.

Anyway, I upgraded to FC2 from a fresh install thinking it would fix this but it is still broken. Arg!

Anybody get this working yet?
 
Old 06-12-2004, 07:19 AM   #8
Quis
Member
 
Registered: May 2001
Location: Germany, Süd-Baden
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 139

Rep: Reputation: 15
does anyone have a solution to the kdevelop-gdb problem?
 
Old 06-13-2004, 04:55 PM   #9
DuneSoldier
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Debian Unstable
Posts: 21

Rep: Reputation: 15
I'm guessing nobody does.
 
Old 07-08-2004, 08:59 AM   #10
berty
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: 0
It solved :)

Ok, the problem is the GDB itself, by default Fedora 2's GDB is 6.0 version.
And debugging under kdevelop doesn't work.
The solutions is to upgrade GDB to version 6.1... -
You could take it from here:
http://rpm.pbone.net/index.php3/stat....i386.rpm.html
 
Old 07-14-2004, 05:10 AM   #11
ibobak
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: 0
Re: It solved :)

Quote:
Originally posted by berty
You could take it from here:
http://rpm.pbone.net/index.php3/stat....i386.rpm.html
I've took it from here. Launched
rpm -i gdb-6.1post-1.20040607.8.src.rpm

Nothing changed - the problem appears again.
Can anybody tell what I am doing wrong?
 
Old 07-20-2004, 06:08 AM   #12
berty
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: 0
Weird

I'm using Kdevelop 3.0.3 (Using KDE 3.2.2-6 Red Hat) and I get fixed debug problem by installing last version of gdb.

Which kdevelop do you use?
 
Old 08-07-2004, 08:33 PM   #13
RFB
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: 0
Wrong package

Ibobak, you've installed the source rpm, that means you'd have to build the binary package and install it before you see any change.
I'd suggest downloading the binary rpm (the one with i386 in the name) and installing that.

I've just now intalled it myself and it fixed for me. )
 
Old 09-01-2004, 02:46 AM   #14
jcch9
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: 0
And the solution is...

just follow the recipe found in

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla....cgi?id=127274

Good luck.
 
Old 10-11-2004, 10:19 AM   #15
netic
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: 0
hi. i also had the same problem. i'm using debian though and i'm newbye too so since it doesn't use rpm packages, i was not able to work it out the above way. i realised though that i was using some unstable sources in my /etc/apt/sources.list so i uncommented them and upgraded to sarge. it works now.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kdevelop doesn't start Biased turkey Debian 3 08-06-2005 05:06 PM
Windows C++ developer tears hair out getting started with kdevelop, gdb, etc cj12345 Programming 13 12-28-2004 11:31 PM
my program does not single step with gdb in kdevelop tcma Linux - Software 0 08-12-2004 04:48 PM
using gdb with kdevelop 3.0 asmith Programming 7 05-16-2004 05:45 AM
kdevelop + gdb Zig Linux - Software 0 09-07-2003 12:49 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration