LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-29-2016, 10:10 AM   #31
JeremyBoden
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2011
Location: London, UK
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 1,947

Rep: Reputation: 511Reputation: 511Reputation: 511Reputation: 511Reputation: 511Reputation: 511

If you have a UEFI BIOS a small partition formatted as FAT32 is required.
Have you tried running
Code:
lsusb
Don't worry about the kernel or the disks unless you have confirmed that USB is OK (or not).
Change one thing at a time.
 
Old 09-29-2016, 10:13 AM   #32
zzremix
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2016
Posts: 27

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
You say it i'm on it bud. I provided this. Not sure at all if this means anything.

Code:
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 8087:8001 Intel Corp. 
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 8087:8009 Intel Corp. 
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 003 Device 003: ID 046d:c537 Logitech, Inc. 
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 0461:4d8a Primax Electronics, Ltd 
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
 
Old 09-29-2016, 11:17 AM   #33
JeremyBoden
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2011
Location: London, UK
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 1,947

Rep: Reputation: 511Reputation: 511Reputation: 511Reputation: 511Reputation: 511Reputation: 511
That lsusb looks OK
Guessing that you have a Primax keyboard & a logitech mouse - and nothing else.
You can look up most devices in https://wiki.debian.org/HowToIdentifyADevice/USB or http://www.linux-usb.org/usb.ids, using those hex digits.

Your devices aren't listed though, which doesn't necessarily mean anything.

Are you still having problems?

One suggestion would be to boot a live distro from USB or DVD and see if it still has problems.
This would rule out your HD.
 
Old 09-29-2016, 11:18 AM   #34
zzremix
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2016
Posts: 27

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Bro they are, they just sit there even when i got to a usb or cd live version, they just sit there, i reformat, there still there, i turn off the computer, hey there still there, this amazingly sucks. Does that link i posted in the first page of this post mean anything somebody told me that was the answer at a time.

Last edited by zzremix; 09-29-2016 at 11:24 AM.
 
Old 09-29-2016, 11:37 AM   #35
JeremyBoden
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2011
Location: London, UK
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 1,947

Rep: Reputation: 511Reputation: 511Reputation: 511Reputation: 511Reputation: 511Reputation: 511
If a live version doesn't work it comes down to hardware.
(I trust you've tried a non-KDE live version?)

If something like Debian fails, then you need to test things like RAM.
 
Old 09-29-2016, 11:41 AM   #36
zzremix
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2016
Posts: 27

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Bro, i appreciate your response i will say this one more time though. they are stuck in uninterpretable processes from a virtual box instance and within that virtual box instance a program kept closing and i kept reopening it. Which in turn spit out all these processes.

From what i have read. i need to send a signal to them to end them, that is how i do it but i have no idea how to go about that.
 
Old 09-29-2016, 12:59 PM   #37
c0wb0y
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2012
Location: Inside the oven
Distribution: Windows
Posts: 421

Rep: Reputation: 74
get the PID of that process/es then inspect with lsof and see which files that processes is working on.

lsof -p <PID>
 
Old 09-29-2016, 01:02 PM   #38
zzremix
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2016
Posts: 27

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
hey cowboy, i truly appreciate your wisdom into this situation. here is the terminal lines.

Code:
/home/xd# lsof -p 2
COMMAND  PID USER   FD      TYPE DEVICE SIZE/OFF NODE NAME
kthreadd   2 root  cwd       DIR    8,1     4096    2 /
kthreadd   2 root  rtd       DIR    8,1     4096    2 /
kthreadd   2 root  txt   unknown                      /proc/2/exe
here is another one also, there is about 40+

Code:
migration  32 root  cwd       DIR    8,1     4096    2 /
migration  32 root  rtd       DIR    8,1     4096    2 /
migration  32 root  txt   unknown                      /proc/32/exe
is this helpful at all?

Last edited by zzremix; 09-29-2016 at 01:06 PM.
 
Old 09-29-2016, 01:45 PM   #39
c0wb0y
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2012
Location: Inside the oven
Distribution: Windows
Posts: 421

Rep: Reputation: 74
I did a bit of googling for you and realized that this is a kernel process similar with PID 1. So you cannot kill or remove it and should not even attempt to. It gets started by the kernel itself denoted by its brackets. I am not a kernel hacker but I think we are barking a a wrong tree here. If something is bothering you, maybe find I/O, network or hardware issues instead or maybe a rogue user-space processes. I don't think it is the cause of perceived high CPU usage.

My 2cents.
 
Old 09-29-2016, 01:51 PM   #40
zzremix
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2016
Posts: 27

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I appreciate you a ton man, like i said your wisdom is welcome. I see what your saying and i agree. It was a program that was sending stuff on line, the program that was crashing and i was using in virtual box to run it. So that makes perfect sense, i did read about something i/o in the past. i can signals to these process to get to get them leave but i don't know how. There is programs but i have no idea how to use them.

i look at your post and your join date. i do appreciate you man you don't insert yourself to often so thank you again.

Last edited by zzremix; 09-29-2016 at 01:52 PM.
 
Old 09-29-2016, 01:57 PM   #41
c0wb0y
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2012
Location: Inside the oven
Distribution: Windows
Posts: 421

Rep: Reputation: 74
Glad to help.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who wakes the kthreadd daemon during SD card read? sanrio alvares Linux - Newbie 0 09-07-2012 01:02 AM
[SOLVED] booting slackware may get stuck during syslogd. an explanation and a fix nass Slackware 3 04-23-2012 03:07 AM
My webserver stuck very often because of httpd processes duzap Linux - Server 2 07-17-2011 08:40 AM
LXer: Mozilla to fix 9-month-old JAR URL handling bug LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 11-19-2007 11:40 PM
stuck sshd processes HELP ! khayll Debian 5 03-07-2005 03:25 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration