LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Mint
User Name
Password

Notices


Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Linux Mint 7 'Gloria'
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 31663 12-02-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.2



Description: "The team is proud to announce the release of Linux Mint 7 'Gloria'. The 7th release of Linux Mint comes with numerous bug fixes and a lot of improvements. In particular the menu system, the application manager and the upload manager now provide new features such as 'Suggestions', 'Featured applications', 'SCP and SFTP support'. The underlying base of the operating system was also strengthened with a new adjustment mechanism which makes Linux Mint more robust and less vulnerable to Ubuntu package upgrades, and the introduction of virtual and meta packages which simplify upgrade paths and the installation of multiple desktop environments."
Keywords: Gloria Improvements-Application-Manager Improvements-Upload-Manager


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 06-13-2009, 09:32 AM   #1
pierre2
 
Registered: May 2009
Distribution: LinuxMint
Posts: 370

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: MentMenu
Cons: PulseAudio



Another polished Mint product, based on the upstream Jaunty Jackalope from Canonical.

Most Debian software can be added/used from the repository.
 
Old 08-18-2009, 09:42 AM   #2
farna
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Distribution: Mint
Posts: 37

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Has many of the copyrighted CODECs and such needed for media players, nothing more to hunt and install
Cons: I'm a newbie... still some learning to do, so can't comment much on this, though some will say what I consider pros a con because it's not 100% open source


This is the most ready for mainstream use Linux distro I've tried (Mint 7.0, "Gloria"). I say that mainly because I don't have to hunt down and load CODECs to play music and video -- it's ready to go. The menu (equivalent to the "start" menu in XP) is a bit different (than XP), but real easy to navigate and intuitional once you start using it. I'm a new Linux user, played with a couple of the distros geared toward people transitioning from Windows -- MEPIS and Linspire mostly. Mint seems to be much more polished than the others. It's just familiar enough not to be intimidating, yet different enough to feel "fresh". I haven't used any Linux distro much, but the install went nice and easy on my old Athlon w/1GB RAM (623.5 MB available with just the system loaded) box. I'm going to stick with this one!

Mint has a universal edition that deletes all the copyrighted CODECs, everything that's not open source, for those who have an aversion to anything that's not open source. Many in the Linux community do, which to me hurts the mainstream acceptance. When Joe average can walk into Wal-Mart and buy software for his Linux box, it will be more accepted. Unfortunately that's contrary to what most of the Linux community wants. Open source is great for those who can program, but most users are just that -- USERS! I remember selling BASIC programs back in the home computer days. They were basically open source, all you had to do was list the code, but still sold for a reasonable sum. Would be nice if some of the Linux programs were boxed and packaged, then made available in stores for a reasonable fee. I know that's contrary to what most current Linux users want (I probably got a few sneers and curled lips at that comment!), but it's the assurance and security (I know it's false security!) that Joe Average User wants/needs.
 
Old 09-16-2009, 02:37 PM   #3
alex6500
 
Registered: Aug 2009
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to install ,Easy to use,
Cons: sometimes program freezes on my computer


I am new to Linux.This Linux mint(Gloria) was only 1 of 4 distros
i could install.I like the Linux Mint
 
Old 09-20-2009, 01:01 AM   #4
catilley1092
 
Registered: Aug 2009
Distribution: Linux Mint "Mate" x64 (primary OS), Win 7/8 x64, XP Home/Pro x32.
Posts: 61

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Everything was PERFECT!
Cons: none


This is a A+ distro. Just running the live CD will show that. Very nice home screen, fresh and unique. It is the best distro that I have ever ran. I ditched Windows XP Pro on this laptop for it. True elegance all the way.
 
Old 12-02-2009, 07:58 AM   #5
marcuss73
 
Registered: Nov 2009
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Even a newbie can use it!
Cons:


I tried a few distros last year because I was curious if an OS could be run from an USB-stick.

A month ago i tried Mint Gloria for the first time and it ran to my satisfaction from USB. After being an Microsoft OS-user for a long number of years i now threw off Vista and installed Gloria on my laptop.

Im very satisfied with its ease-of-use, although Linux is of course another cup of coffee if youre used to Microsoft. I must say, a revelation.

A new (linux) fan ;)
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration