LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices


» Number of reviews : 4 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by samuelmp - posted: 05-07-2007 05:02 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 20407

Well another good Mepis Distro as usual, Beryl rocks out of the BOX but I guess we are all noobs to Beryl, I ain't seen any of the problems that the other review had, SimplyMepis does not come with Kaffeine this time around but gimp is back and I guess all one CD distros are really out of space now. This distro is one of the best out of the box as the other are too true towards open source and mepis comes with some small amount of property software but the a gen I hear Ubuntu does too and SimplyMepis has to be said is easier on the noob as it has those drivers that others wont give you like the Nvidia driver, this can be time conusming to some and there are other thing like media codecs JAVA as well it's easy to see from this why SimplyMepis is easier, and the best part using Ubuntu software with Apt-Get, but look at it closely that where the similarity's end, and don't for get SimplyMepis uses it's own fairly modified Linux kernel, It has it's own modified KDE which has not come from Kubuntu. I would diffidently give this distro a spin and see what you can get from it, I'd say don't let this one simply pass you by. There now is a 64-bit and 32-bit SimplyMepis. Their is also a podcast from the founder him self all about SimplyMepis.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "SimplyMepis 6.5" by Brianfast - posted: 04-11-2007 - Rating: ******** 8.29

Last Review by samuelmp - posted: 07-25-2006 11:39 AM [ Post a Review
SimplyMEPIS_6_0.png

Views: 243014

must say what a gerate distro it keeps on geting better and better it's realy fast now, faster than 3.4.3! there are some new nice wall papers now too the only problem is that there is no mp3 codecc but apt-update fixes this anyway it's not that bad because nearly all distros do not include this kind of support what is anoying is that when you go to play mp3's in ammarok it just closes off straight away but as i have said apt-get update fixes this and amarok then plays mp3 files other than that it is an exclent distro gimp is not hear in this relise though i think it was jue to space [kubuntu and ubuntu dont] synaptic easly installs this every thing elce you will be pleased about though defantly give this one a try people it's top 2 at distro watch

Rating: 10
Product Details: "6.0." by samuelmp - posted: 07-22-2006 - Rating: ******** 8.47

Last Review by samuelmp - posted: 05-08-2006 04:23 PM [ Post a Review
logo.jpg

Views: 68033

exclent hardware dection reconised my webcam DVB-T nova card a LAN internet connecton and sound. must say I am pleased thats not to menson the MP3 support out of the box and java installed. one of the things that supprised me about is the quick time it takes to boot when you have installed the OS! it's even quicker than ubuntu 5.04 and that uses gnome comes with Firefox - armarok - gimp - k3b - ktorrent -openoffice - and many more and it's now in the top 4 at distrowatch simply going places

Rating: 10
Product Details: "SimplyMEPIS 3.4-3" by samuelmp - posted: 05-07-2006 - Rating: ********* 8.75

Last Review by samuelmp - posted: 10-13-2005 11:10 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 56441

Xandros is the easiest distro I have ever tried. I just love the Xandros networks package installer I installed many packages in no time on a broadband connection {512} itís a GUI application so no dumb terminals. Xandros has modded KDE to look like it's own it does not try to look like XP or Mac or gnome it does look like kde but it has changed it around a bit which I absolutely love, how many distros have you tried that always look similar?. Installation was a breeze and installed along XP fine. I have tried many distros, I use to be a Suse user and have used suse 7.3 and 9.1, Xandros has changed me and that is pretty hard to beat hardly any one has a bad thing to say about suse, now I have gone for good and am never coming back. I have used mandriva 2005 LE, kubuntu [64-bit], ubuntu, fedora core 2, berry linux, dam small Linux and knoppix and have installed knoppix on to hard drive none of these compare to Xandros and believe me I have used those distros and configured them I still love Xandros!. it's the easiest fastest distro I have used. If you want and easy distro that just works them Xandros is your man.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "3.0.1 OCE" by jollyjoice - posted: 03-24-2005 - Rating: ******* 6.86



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration