LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices


» Number of reviews : 5 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by NoobieDoobieDo - posted: 07-01-2007 05:39 AM [ Post a Review
desktop.png

Views: 521031

I installed this on two machines and on both machines the install produced 1 or more `critial` errors and the installtion had to be restarted. On this machine upon trying to shutdown from my first session X froze as soon as I hit the `shutdown` button. I had to kill it from the terminal. The Gimp crashed the first time I tried to load it and then the second time it loaded two instances but the second instance took about 5 minutes to spawn. At first I thought the splash screen was stuck because the outline of it was still there. I was nearly done using the gimp and out of no where that `frozen splash screen` becomes an active instance of the gimp. A few other aplications have `crashed` on the first few times of me running them, including at least one critial feature. I've used many distributions and I think Debian (although I like it the most) has given me the most immediate post installation failures.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "4.0 r0 (etch)" by Drax946 - posted: 04-09-2007 - Rating: ********* 9.41

Last Review by NoobieDoobieDo - posted: 10-05-2005 03:13 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 42926

Short story : Puppy saves your session info to the LiveCD you boot from (even plain CDRs) - this rocks. For such a small distro it has a lot of stuff and includes easy to use configuration utilities. Previously I used damnsmalllinux (also good) but I must say, on my systems given my experience I like this better. Also just came from Ubuntu/Suse/Mandrake so the non-bloated fast booting feel is very nice. It's only 60 some-odd MB, give it a try. Edit to add torrent link : http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/PuppyP2PDistribution

Rating: 9
Product Details: "1.0.5" by NoobieDoobieDo - posted: 10-05-2005 - Rating: ******* 7.00

Last Review by NoobieDoobieDo - posted: 06-26-2005 09:00 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 101007

So far I've used : Mandrake 7 something Mandrake 10 SUSE 9.1 (or whatever) Damn Small Linux KNOPPIX I most like the boot up of this live CD. It lets you chose language, screen resolution, keyboard and what not with easy to use selection menus. I don't recall other LiveCDS having this specific feature in this way. The desktop and gnome application bar are simple, they didn't crowd it with 100 applications trying to show off. This OS seems to be geared towards people new to linux and older hats alike. Two thumbs up.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "Hoary 5.04" by masonm - posted: 04-13-2005 - Rating: ********* 8.63

Last Review by NoobieDoobieDo - posted: 05-16-2005 12:23 AM [ Post a Review
144869dsl11.png

Views: 43284

Previous to this I used : Mandrake 8.1 Mandrake 10 CE SUSE 9.1 KNOPPIX LiveCD (a recent ver) DSL boots up fast and responds very fast once it's loaded. Even tho I don't like fluxbox, I like how DSL has their initial stuff setup, so I use it. DSL is an excellent place to start for beginers to linux or pro's, because it's so small you can take it where you want. Keep it lean or load it up with your favorite apps and what not. DSL does include some GUI tools to do configurations with and I found them very easy to use. I look forward to the next version

Rating: 9
Product Details: "1.1" by NoobieDoobieDo - posted: 05-16-2005 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by NoobieDoobieDo - posted: 04-25-2005 08:34 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 114178

First off - I've only used Mandrake 8.1, Mandrake 10 CE, Debian (never got working) and this copy of SUSE. Moving on ... The installer is (for me) old style text based one and getting it to not format all partitions took a little fooling with. Because it was text based it wasn't the easiest thing to configure. I opted to install everything and remove the bulk later just because it would be easier. The installation took a lot longer than Mandrake 10, which is 3 disc. Once I was able to boot into SUSE it was great. Much faster than Mandrake on my Dell 700mhz Celeron with 192MB RAM and onboad Intel 810 video. Even with the default settings it ran fast with more free RAM than Mandrake managed (read:many KDE programs booting in systray). However many people seem to have trouble getting it to go to 1024x768 mode. This can be fixed by changing your monitor to VESA @ 1024x768, testing it, then switching back to your normal monitor. Getting the dialup working wasn't very clear but it was figured out in about 5 mins. All the programs are called stuff like "Dial up", "Email", "Graphics Editing" so I think it's geared towards noobs maybe not looking to expand. The reason I think one of its initial purposes was `not to expand` (see:add packages) is because most of the packages needed to compile programs is not installed and it took a bit to download them all on dialup. I'd highly recommend this to anyone using Mandrake. But be ready to download about 10 packages or more so you can compile software. !! And, for some reason you can't run some programs as root from the terminal (kate or kwrite for example), which until i fix that, sucks. !!

Rating: 9
Product Details: "9.1 Personal" by jeremy - posted: 08-01-2004 - Rating: ********* 9.20



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration