LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews
User Name
Password

Notices


» Number of reviews : 12 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review by AoS - posted: 08-06-2017 12:22 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 24065

Just trying to give this book a rating. I really liked it and keep it around for reference. I bought it at a '1/2 Priced Book Store' for MUCH less than the $49.99USA cover price.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Hacking Exposed Linux" by jeremy - posted: 02-09-2004 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by rockstar05 - posted: 07-28-2017 07:58 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 23094

Thanks for this product

Rating: 7
Product Details: "6.7" by mralk3 - posted: 07-22-2015 - Rating: ****** 6.00

Last Review by radweb - posted: 07-04-2017 09:46 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 4271

CentOS 6.x is by far the best version of CentOS (at the time of writing this review, CentOS 7.3 is the newest release version).

Rating: 10
Product Details: "6.7" by mralk3 - posted: 08-08-2015 - Rating: ********** 10.00

Last Review by rich442 - posted: 05-30-2017 10:32 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 4650

I am neither an employee of the Oracle Company nor do I presently have a professional certification on Oracle Linux or Database products. I use Oracle Enterprise Linux 7.3 (with the Oracle kernel) on two home machines (One a Lenovo Thinkpad T400 and the other a Lenovo Thinkcentre m90z). I am studying Oracle Database 11g Express Edition on Oracle Linux 7.3. I am hoping to get certified someday. These are my thoughts on the latest release of Oracle Linux 7. Oracle Enterprise Linux was created out of a need for an enterprise-class operating system that would natively and specifically support Oracle software applications like Oracle Database, Oracle Middleware, Oracle OpenStack and Oracle Cloud. It also needed to be binary compatible with Red Hat Linux. So why would anyone want to use it? If Oracle Linux is binary compatible with Red Hat, why not just stick with a Red Hat subscription? Oracle enterprise Linux has a number of extra features that a Red Hat Network subscription does not provide: 1). Ksplice provides a way of updating the kernel without a server downtime. 2). Dtrace provides a way of dynamically monitoring the performance and potential problems of a server running oracle Linux. 3). Two kernels: OEL ships with a red hat compatible kernel (RHCK) and a custom kernel called the Oracle Unbreakable Linux kernel(UEK. 4). support options. Oracle support network provides paid support that is nearly one fifth the cost of a professional subscription with Red Hat Network. This is because Oracle Support Network charges for support per server rather than per workstation. One sustaining support license lasts indefinitely rather per year and per workstation. Thus a Red Hat subscription that charges per year and per workstation is much more costly than Oracle's sustain and premier subscriptions. 5). Clustered file system As a day-to-day user of the Oracle Linux 7, there are some good things and some things that I did not like. First, Oracle's default set of applications (GNOME desktop, Libreoffice, firefox and standard text editors and terminal apps)is very good and very stable. The oel repository has a few nice package groups like scientific support, development tools and Legacy support for X window system. Perfect if you use your computer for work or research. Oracle's default wallpaper and gdm splash are rather plain--basically a flat red picture of what looks like a bundle of fiberoptic Ethernet wires. The gdm boot screen features a flat red square with a smiling penguin wearing metal armor. Oracle comes with default support for wired connections. Wireless support is not supported out-of-the-box. Oracle Linux provides packagekit in its base repository but it is not included in the minimal and liveCD iso images. Why can't non-paying users get support for Ksplice and DTrace? Finally, all updates are free but Ksplice and Dtrace are only available with the sustaining support and premium support plans. In my opinion, they are well suited to large server applications that do not want to experience large amounts of downtime because of a kernel update. DTrace is more of a system tool that allows for easy, efficient maintenance of a network (allowing for performance testing, prevention of network problems. And Is it appropriate and for casual desktop users? In two words: probably not. Like Red Hat Server, Oracle Enterprise Linux, Ksplice and DTrace are tools designed for professional deployment. Home users may be unconcerned with kernel updating and dynamic network tracing and would likely not care about service contracts or custom kernels for Database products . On the other hand, OEL seems more stable than CentOS. The ol repositories do not provide an extras or untested repo (as do CentOS, PUIAS and Scientific/Fermi). Fewer unstable components for the OS result in a more stable system. Oracle releases are implemented within days of Red Hat's own releases. Patches and bug fixes are released within hours of the update release on Red Hat network Oracle provides patches, updates and faster than the update release schedule of CentOS, Scientific/Fermi Linux and Springdale (PUIAS). I highly recommend this product over options provided by Red Hat, CentOS and other rebuilds of the Red Hat operating system. It provides the best platform to use for learning the Oracle database products. As a desktop system, it is stable and predictable with 10 years of support for each release (Oracle support licenses last as long as the life of your equipment). A great system for those who wish to use their computer for work and productivity.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "7.0" by wsteward - posted: 07-24-2014 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by arahmadi - posted: 05-07-2017 05:47 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 125827

We have been using since it was rolled. Some servers are still running with this version. Slackpkg works flawlessly, at least to the level that we aware of. Thanks Slackware !

Rating: 10
Product Details: "13.37" by wsteward - posted: 04-28-2011 - Rating: ********** 9.60

Last Review by jsbjsb001 - posted: 04-13-2017 01:28 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 16

My review is based on PCLinuxOS64 KDE5 2017.04 Desktop Edition. I have been using PCLinuxOS for at least the past year, maybe 2 years now. I have always found it to be a very stable and reliable choice for a Linux distro. As the developers of this distro, seem to be very conscious of making sure, software included is stable enough for everyday use, as well as system components like, kernel, desktop environment, etc. The biggest difference with this release is, the inclusion of KDE Plasma 5, from KDE Plasma 4 in the previous version of PCLinuxOS. Which seems stable enough for everyday use and as always with PCLinuxOS, is well integrated with the underlying system. There are also new versions of everything from Firefox, right down to the Linux kernel itself, and everything in between. Which are also stable enough and reliable enough for everyday use on the desktop or laptop. As always there is a large collection of software packages available, to suit your needs. This release is well worth the download and installation on your desktop or laptop machine.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "PCLinuxOS64 KDE5 2017.04 Desktop" by jsbjsb001 - posted: 04-13-2017 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by syspklc53 - posted: 04-07-2017 11:57 AM [ Post a Review


Views: 49366

I want to thank you guys (Dunbar and Harry Disney) for your open reviews of DSL. I have an old Dell (laptop and desktop) and have been searching (Knoppix 5.1.1, 6.2) for a distro to put on them. Also I have a newer Dell running WIN10 that I want to put Ubuntu 16.04 for on. My business project: is to host web sites. I plan to use openSUSE for that. So, I'm excited this forum is here and hope I can draw upon your (linux) expertise in the near future. ps,.. I plan on getting that mini-cd for DSL
Product Details: "1.4" by thedeadhead - posted: 08-27-2005 - Rating: ******** 8.33

Last Review by rickbishop - posted: 04-01-2017 05:21 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 9049

My brother brought over his old HP Laptop loaded with Windows 7. It was useless. It was painfully slow and could not even play a dvd. I loaded it with Linux Mint 18 and I am really impressed. I just added VLC and Handbreak and it works like a new laptop. While my interest was in loading Debian to this Desktop, I am currently minty fresh.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "17.2 "KDE", "Xfce"" by mralk3 - posted: 08-08-2015 - Rating: ********* 9.33

Last Review by Steve53 - posted: 03-30-2017 08:45 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 11015

I had managed to crash Ubuntu 16.04. But I installed to Ubuntu 16.10 that worked. I thank the unknown individual who developed nVidia graphic drivers for my old nVidia graphics card.

Rating: 9
Product Details: "14.10" by wsteward - posted: 10-24-2014 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Last Review by erivera45 - posted: 03-05-2017 07:30 PM [ Post a Review


Views: 11015

Good product overall.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "14.10" by wsteward - posted: 10-24-2014 - Rating: ********* 9.00

Next Page »



  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration