LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Complete CCNA, CCNP & Red Hat Certification Training Bundle
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-18-2017, 08:57 PM   #1
bilbod
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Posts: 134

Rep: Reputation: 33
Problem with slackrepo and f3


I cannot get the experimental version of f3 to build correctly with slackrepo. My f3.hint file:

Code:
cat /etc/slackrepo/SBo/hintfiles/f3.hint
EXPERIMENTAL="YES"
CFLAGS="-fgnu89-inline"
Does not work.

It does build correctly manually

Code:
wget -c https://slackbuilds.org/slackbuilds/14.2/system/f3.tar.gz
tar -xzvf f3.tar.gz
cd f3
wget -c 'https://github.com/AltraMayor/f3/archive/v6.0/f3-6.0.zip'
CFLAGS="$CFLAGS -fgnu89-inline"
export CFLAGS
EXPERIMENTAL=YES ./f3.SlackBuild
installpkg /tmp/f3-6.0-x86_64-1_SBo.tgz
What is wrong with my hint file?
 
Old 06-18-2017, 10:06 PM   #2
55020
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2009
Location: Yorks. W.R. 167397
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 1,098
Blog Entries: 4

Rep: Reputation: 1456Reputation: 1456Reputation: 1456Reputation: 1456Reputation: 1456Reputation: 1456Reputation: 1456Reputation: 1456Reputation: 1456Reputation: 1456
That's not how hintfiles work. You can't just dump random stuff in them.

EXPERIMENTAL=YES is a SlackBuild option, so the correct hint would be OPTIONS="EXPERIMENTAL=YES".

What you are trying to do with CFLAGS is not supported. The "right thing", assuming this is needed for -current, would be to apply that fix to the SlackBuild in a temporary git branch and pass it upstream to ponce.

Edit: I've just had a chance to test build it with a hint OPTIONS="EXPERIMENTAL=YES" as above, and it builds ok like that on 14.2, it doesn't need CFLAGS to be set.

Last edited by 55020; 06-19-2017 at 06:42 AM.
 
Old 06-19-2017, 12:30 PM   #3
bilbod
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Posts: 134

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by 55020 View Post
That's not how hintfiles work. You can't just dump random stuff in them.

EXPERIMENTAL=YES is a SlackBuild option, so the correct hint would be OPTIONS="EXPERIMENTAL=YES".

What you are trying to do with CFLAGS is not supported. The "right thing", assuming this is needed for -current, would be to apply that fix to the SlackBuild in a temporary git branch and pass it upstream to ponce.

Edit: I've just had a chance to test build it with a hint OPTIONS="EXPERIMENTAL=YES" as above, and it builds ok like that on 14.2, it doesn't need CFLAGS to be set.
It needs -fgnu89-inline if you use any optimizations.

I tested it and it seems to work OK with just the SlackBuild option.
 
Old 06-19-2017, 12:33 PM   #4
ponce
Senior Member
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Location: Pisa, Italy
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 3,786

Rep: Reputation: 1852Reputation: 1852Reputation: 1852Reputation: 1852Reputation: 1852Reputation: 1852Reputation: 1852Reputation: 1852Reputation: 1852Reputation: 1852Reputation: 1852
Quote:
Originally Posted by bilbod View Post
It needs -fgnu89-inline if you use any optimizations.
I tested it too and it seems not to need those...
Are you by any chance using a custom SlackBuild (not the one on SBo)?
 
Old 06-19-2017, 12:48 PM   #5
kjhambrick
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Location: Round Rock, TX
Distribution: Slackware64 14.2 + Multilib
Posts: 953

Rep: Reputation: 420Reputation: 420Reputation: 420Reputation: 420Reputation: 420
bilbod --

You made me look

The f3.SlackBuild works OK here too without any mods ( other than EXPERIMENTAL=YES ./f3.SlackBuild )

One thing of note is that in the 'next version' ( f3 Version 7.0 and in the Current Source from AltraMayor's github Repo ), the EXPERIMENTAL=YES Flag will be/is replaced by 'extra' as in make extra && make install-extra instead of make experimental && make install-experimental ...

According to AltraMayor's github Issue Tracer Version 7.0 will be out later this year.

HTH.

-- kjh
 
Old 06-19-2017, 01:00 PM   #6
bilbod
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Posts: 134

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by ponce View Post
I tested it too and it seems not to need those...
Are you by any chance using a custom SlackBuild (not the one on SBo)?
I don't know enough to customize anything. I was using -O2 optimization and the experimental function did not get built without -fgnu89-inline in CFLAGS.

This is a quote from the author of f3:

"the problem seems to be a bug in the gnu c library argp. Upstream is aware of it and they should patch it eventually."

and he recommended using -fgnu89-inline in CFLAGS until they fix the library.

Without -O2 optimization you don't need to modify CFLAGS.

I don't modify anything anymore, I just use the defaults, slackrepo does all the work. I ran into trouble with f3 because I did not know how to put SlackBuild options in the hint file.
 
Old 06-19-2017, 01:01 PM   #7
bilbod
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Posts: 134

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjhambrick View Post
bilbod --

You made me look

The f3.SlackBuild works OK here too without any mods ( other than EXPERIMENTAL=YES ./f3.SlackBuild )

One thing of note is that in the 'next version' ( f3 Version 7.0 and in the Current Source from AltraMayor's github Repo ), the EXPERIMENTAL=YES Flag will be/is replaced by 'extra' as in make extra && make install-extra instead of make experimental && make install-experimental ...

According to AltraMayor's github Issue Tracer Version 7.0 will be out later this year.

HTH.

-- kjh
That's good to know, thanks for the info.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with slackrepo and searchmonkey bilbod Slackware 6 06-21-2017 08:56 AM
How to use slackrepo with a VM bilbod Slackware 1 05-06-2017 12:53 PM
[SOLVED] Problem with slackrepo and slackpkg+? bilbod Slackware 6 05-05-2017 11:24 PM
[SOLVED] slackrepo Problem with gpg bilbod Slackware 5 04-28-2017 06:54 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration