LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Red Hat
User Name
Password
Red Hat This forum is for the discussion of Red Hat Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-02-2003, 01:45 PM   #1
garyjm
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: North Idaho
Distribution: Mandrake Linux 9.1
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: 0
Post View NTFS files in Red Hat 9.0


Hi All

I am very new to Linux, and I am trying to learn it. I have a Win2000Pro OS with my Red Hat Linux 9.0 on a 80 gig H.D.
I would like to view my files that are on my Win2000Pro, in Red Hat Linux.
How do I do that?

Thanks;
GaryJM
 
Old 09-02-2003, 01:51 PM   #2
DrOzz
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Distribution: slackware
Posts: 4,185

Rep: Reputation: 60
you'll have to add the entries for the device to your /etc/fstab file...you should have ntfs support and if not you'll have to install this...you'll need to know what device has the NTFS filesystem, and if you don't already know, you can find out by typing:
fdisk -l
once you find what device it is, an example would be /dev/hdb1, you'll then add it to your fstab...
a example of a line that you could add to your fstab would be:
/dev/hdb1 /mnt/NTFSdrive ntfs defaults 0 0
so by looking at the above there is two things you should note...
the first being, you'll have to replace /dev/hdb1 with the correct device if my example is wrong, and the second thign being you'll have to make sure you have a mount point...in my example i used /mnt/NTFSdrive...if you don't have a mount point defined, then go make one using the mkdir command...
then you will use the mount command to mount it to your defined mount point, and then you'll be able to navigate the drives contents...
 
Old 09-04-2003, 07:29 AM   #3
jax79sg
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Location: Singapore
Distribution: Redhat 7.3
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: 0
Think the ntfs driver is still experimental for writing?
Should make the mount read-only to avoid making things go wrong.
 
Old 09-23-2003, 04:25 PM   #4
timmy toad
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Flitwick, BEDS, UK
Distribution: mandrake 9.1
Posts: 45

Rep: Reputation: 15
i got pointed here from the NEWBIE section, i was interested in finding out how to READ the files on my Windows Hard Drive, i have diligently followed all the links but i still find it all a bit too difficult for me to follow. sorry about that.

i shall still try to use Linux though, i think the best thing i can hope for is to find a local LUG

tim
 
Old 09-23-2003, 09:24 PM   #5
DrOzz
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Distribution: slackware
Posts: 4,185

Rep: Reputation: 60
well actually where are you getting stuck...in order to see the drive and its contents you just navigate to the mount point after you mount the drive...in other words you can READ the files after you get to the directory where you mounted the NTFS partition...so purely as example if you made a directory called /mnt/NTFSdrive and after you do, you mount it, and then all you do is type -> cd /mnt/NTFSdrive <- and then you can browse through the drive to say the least..
 
Old 09-24-2003, 12:39 AM   #6
timmy toad
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Flitwick, BEDS, UK
Distribution: mandrake 9.1
Posts: 45

Rep: Reputation: 15
trouble is buddy, i've been spoilt by Windows (which is foolproof), i just get lost in the new terms and the not quite so foolproof way of doing things.
i have Mandrake 9.1, but typing in the stuff into the command line, as it suggests in the link i dont get the output i was expecting, it doesnt look like what it should be, i was hoping red hat would be very similar, but perhaps it isnt.

As it happens all my (windoze) music files etc. i put onto a CD (as a backup) before i installed Mandrake, i have found out i can read those OK in Linux, and now i find my ****** sound doesnt work, art the same time i dont think i have a Volume control anyway to control the sound with if i did have sound !!!!!.

how do i check up on my sound card (it's easier in windows, LOL) i have a SIS SI7018 on board sound card in my lap top

TIM
 
Old 09-24-2003, 03:19 PM   #7
timmy toad
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Flitwick, BEDS, UK
Distribution: mandrake 9.1
Posts: 45

Rep: Reputation: 15
Quote:
Originally posted by DrOzz
well actually where are you getting stuck...in order to see the drive and its contents you just navigate to the mount point after you mount the drive...in other words you can READ the files after you get to the directory where you mounted the NTFS partition...so purely as example if you made a directory called /mnt/NTFSdrive and after you do, you mount it, and then all you do is type -> cd /mnt/NTFSdrive <- and then you can browse through the drive to say the least..
Thanks for trying to help me mate, but i reckon the trouble is i am a little too slow as a consequence i am often one step behind.

So how do i mount the NTFS drive for starters ???.

tim
 
Old 09-24-2003, 04:56 PM   #8
Skyline
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: Debian/other
Posts: 2,104

Rep: Reputation: 45
Quote:
So how do i mount the NTFS drive for starters ???.

tim
Open a shell and type :

su
Then type you root password then type :

mkdir /mnt/windows

Then - open /etc/fstab with:

kedit /etc/fstab

Then - put an entry at the bottom of your /etc/fstab file on a new line - (just substitute in the device name of your Partition in place of my example one)

/dev/hda1 /mnt/windows ntfs auto,ro,umask=0222 0 0

then save the file and reboot and check in /mnt/windows to see your files etc

Last edited by Skyline; 09-24-2003 at 04:58 PM.
 
Old 09-25-2003, 12:22 AM   #9
jrapp13
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: mandrake 9.1
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: 0
problems

im using mandrake 9.1 and i believe it automatically mounts the windows xp partition. i can navigate it in konqueror but when i try and open for example and mp3, xmms wont play it. any ideas?
 
Old 09-25-2003, 01:12 AM   #10
timmy toad
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Flitwick, BEDS, UK
Distribution: mandrake 9.1
Posts: 45

Rep: Reputation: 15
ok skyline, thanks, i'll try that later, i have to dash of to work now, thanks.

tim
 
Old 12-24-2003, 04:53 PM   #11
zWaR
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Slackware, Alpine Linux, Ubuntu, Debian
Posts: 219

Rep: Reputation: 35
Hy!

DrOzz, 10x for helping! I get everything, except fot installing the kernel patch.

the command patch -p1 < path/patch_name doesn't work

What should i do?
 
Old 12-24-2003, 05:51 PM   #12
wiraone
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: Diawang-awangan
Distribution: Ubuntu Hoary!
Posts: 319

Rep: Reputation: 30
For Redhat 9.0, it doesn't have NTFS comes with it .. so you need to download the respective module from here:

http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/rpm/redhat9.html

Install it .. and you don't have to worry about patching kernel etc..

and the following how-to should get you running:

http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/rpm/instructions.html

good luck

Last edited by wiraone; 12-24-2003 at 05:57 PM.
 
Old 12-25-2003, 11:58 AM   #13
shemjaza
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Location: uk
Distribution: redhat
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: 15
Is it possible to install linux redhat in an ntfs windoze file system ?
mine is fat32.any possible probs?
 
Old 12-26-2003, 02:05 PM   #14
zWaR
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Slackware, Alpine Linux, Ubuntu, Debian
Posts: 219

Rep: Reputation: 35
wiraone THANK YOU !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
IT works !!!
WUHU!!

 
Old 12-27-2003, 07:30 PM   #15
bcarl314
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: USA, Minnesota - Land of 10,000 lakes
Distribution: Red Hat 9, Mandrake 10
Posts: 56

Rep: Reputation: 15
Ohh, I just gotta say thanks for this thread. I've been trying to mount my XP partition for months (ever since I set up my dual boot). This thread helped me do it. Thanks!
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible to view files on a second NTFS hard drive? partyk1d24 Linux - Software 1 06-23-2005 02:03 PM
Cant view primary partition in red hat cosgeo99 Linux - General 1 05-22-2005 02:58 PM
NTFS on Red Hat 9 Cypher69 Linux - Newbie 1 11-09-2003 05:33 AM
Any way to view NTFS partitions from Red Hat 9? StlthMd Linux - Hardware 3 07-29-2003 06:46 PM
ntfs vs ext3 (Red Hat 8) Santorres Linux - General 4 07-03-2003 07:16 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Red Hat

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration