LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-30-2003, 10:48 PM   #1
Scruff
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Location: Stoughton, MA
Distribution: Gentoo x86_64 & PPC
Posts: 949

Rep: Reputation: 30
GTK+-2.2: errors during ./configure


Here's the errors:

checking for glib-2.0 >= 2.1.4 atk >= 1.0.1 pango >= 1.0.1... Package atk was not found in the pkg-config search path.
Perhaps you should add the directory containing `atk.pc'
to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable
No package 'atk' found

configure: error: Library requirements (glib-2.0 >= 2.1.4 atk >= 1.0.1 pango >= 1.0.1) not met; consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if your libraries are in a nonstandard prefix so pkg-config can find them.

[scruff@localhost gtk+-2.2.0]$ whereis glib-2.0
glib-2: /usr/lib/glib-2.0 /usr/include/glib-2.0 /usr/share/glib-2.0

[scruff@localhost gtk+-2.2.0]$ whereis pango
pango: /etc/pango /usr/lib/pango /usr/local/etc/pango /usr/local/lib/pango

I downloaded and installed atk and pango and I get the same errors.

Searching the net showed I'm not the only one that's had this prob, though I have yet to see a solution. Anyone here get past this install?
 
Old 08-30-2003, 11:24 PM   #2
seneca
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Europe
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 45

Rep: Reputation: 15
Did you have a look at the Gome Installation Guide? This is sort of overkill, I admit, but it got lots of hints and tips and it also covers the installation of pango, atk, and gtk+

Good luck.
 
Old 08-30-2003, 11:44 PM   #3
Scruff
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Location: Stoughton, MA
Distribution: Gentoo x86_64 & PPC
Posts: 949

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Just looked. Nothing specific to my problem. I will keep searching though

<bump>
 
Old 08-30-2003, 11:49 PM   #4
greg108
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: CA USA
Distribution: FC2, FC4, Mandrake 10, Slackware 10, RedHat 9, Suse 9.1, College Linux, Debian Sarge, Gentoo
Posts: 170

Rep: Reputation: 30
Did you try:
find / -name atk.pc -print

If you found it
then:
export PKG_CONFIG_PATH=$PKG_CONFIG_PATH:/path
 
Old 08-31-2003, 12:12 AM   #5
Scruff
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Location: Stoughton, MA
Distribution: Gentoo x86_64 & PPC
Posts: 949

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
/usr/local/lib/pkgconfig/atk.pc.

I tried PKG_CONFIG_PATH=$PKG_CONFIG_PATH:/usr/local/lib/pkgconfig/atk.pc

Then I got the same errors when ./configure.

Was I correct that ':/path' was to be where I found atk?

Last edited by Scruff; 08-31-2003 at 12:16 AM.
 
Old 08-31-2003, 12:26 AM   #6
greg108
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: CA USA
Distribution: FC2, FC4, Mandrake 10, Slackware 10, RedHat 9, Suse 9.1, College Linux, Debian Sarge, Gentoo
Posts: 170

Rep: Reputation: 30
I think you should use just
/usr/local/lib/pkgconfig
for the path

And, did you use 'export' like in my post?

It has to work. That's what it says in your error:
"Perhaps you should add the directory containing `atk.pc'
to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable"

When you have the same error again make sure that it asks for the same file. Sometimes I had to add other paths for some other files during ./configure process.
 
Old 08-31-2003, 12:30 AM   #7
greg108
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: CA USA
Distribution: FC2, FC4, Mandrake 10, Slackware 10, RedHat 9, Suse 9.1, College Linux, Debian Sarge, Gentoo
Posts: 170

Rep: Reputation: 30
Also you might want to double check your variable:

echo $PKG_CONFIG_PATH
 
Old 08-31-2003, 12:43 AM   #8
Scruff
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Location: Stoughton, MA
Distribution: Gentoo x86_64 & PPC
Posts: 949

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Wow. Thanks alot It went.

I didn't include 'export' like your post the 1st time. Would you mind explaining to me what it is I just did for future reference?
 
Old 08-31-2003, 01:05 AM   #9
Allen614
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Location: Plains
Distribution: Slackware 13
Posts: 465

Rep: Reputation: 30
In a root terminal do "ldconfig". Then try your ./configure again.

Last edited by Allen614; 08-31-2003 at 01:07 AM.
 
Old 08-31-2003, 01:07 AM   #10
greg108
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Location: CA USA
Distribution: FC2, FC4, Mandrake 10, Slackware 10, RedHat 9, Suse 9.1, College Linux, Debian Sarge, Gentoo
Posts: 170

Rep: Reputation: 30
I am not sure if I can really explain that.

I found it somewhere on 'man' pages (I don't remember where anymore). It explained what the '.pc' files mean.

But anyway, when some program/command can't find something it's because the 'search path' is not specified. In this case it was PKG_CONFIG_PATH. So you had to set the search path using this variable.

You can set the path permanently in your .bash_profile by adding a line 'export blah_blah_whatever_you_need'

Also, there is another variable LD_LIBRARY_PATH that you have to setup when your compiler complains that it can't find some library. (I had this problem after I installed 'gtkmm')
 
Old 08-31-2003, 04:07 AM   #11
acid_kewpie
Moderator
 
Registered: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Distribution: Gentoo, RHEL, Fedora, Centos
Posts: 43,417

Rep: Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985Reputation: 1985
a pc (pkgconfig) file gives information about where to look to heards and libraries for dependent packages.

You are aware that you can just installl this all by RPM i hope.... A normal user would need a very good reason to want to be compiling all this from source, especially on a distro like redhat where the RPM database is so integrated into the way the system runs at the highest levels.

Last edited by acid_kewpie; 08-31-2003 at 04:09 AM.
 
Old 08-31-2003, 10:05 AM   #12
Scruff
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Location: Stoughton, MA
Distribution: Gentoo x86_64 & PPC
Posts: 949

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
I am compiling everything from source to learn more. I was building up to recompiling my kernel, which I did successfully last night

Actually, the recompiling the kernel was 10x easier than getting that damn lib installed.


Last edited by Scruff; 08-31-2003 at 10:08 AM.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Errors using TB or FF (gtk?) BroX Slackware 3 07-15-2005 12:26 PM
gtk+-2.6.0 + weird errors l00zer Linux - Newbie 6 01-23-2005 08:22 PM
can't configure GTK!-gtk-gnutella ogkyusa Linux - Software 2 08-09-2003 04:38 PM
gtk errors chrismiceli Linux - General 1 03-12-2003 03:59 AM
gtk errors chrismiceli Linux - Software 0 03-10-2003 07:49 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration