LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 04-13-2005, 04:58 PM   #1
yoghurt
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
Complete newbie - some basic help

Hello there,
first of all - I am almost complete newbie (I have some experience with UNIX from work, but no administration).

I was wondering if you guys could recommend me some good websites with tutorials / guides to distribution Fedora Core 2.
Also, I am having some I would guess typical newbie problems;

1 - probably due to fact that I have newer graphics card than is the distribution, Fedora has detected my hardware as VESA generic (my card is GeForce 6600GT AGP). Now I have downloaded the drivers from nvidia website and in their instructions it says: After you have downloaded NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-1.0-7174-pkg1.run,
begin installation by exiting X, cd'ing into the directory containing
the downloaded file, and run: sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-1.0-7174-pkg1.run

When I try to do that, I get the error message "no such file or directory" and I am in the folder where is the file located...I tried to chmod 777 the file (under root) but I got the same error message. What am I doing wrong?

2 - No music! When I want to test sound, it plays the sound without problems. But if I insert the audio CD to the drive, CD player opens, but I can hear no sound (does not happen in WinXP installed on the same machine). Same is when I rip one track from that CD to OGG file, it doesn't produce any sound. Sound device is integrated to the motherboard (Gigabyte GA-K8NSNXP-939).

3-Also, Fedora has only detected one CD/DVD drive (where in fact I have two); what can I do to get it "into" the Fedora?