LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-17-2005, 02:49 PM   #1
greenthing
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Suse 9.3 pro
Posts: 116

Rep: Reputation: 15
Question Blue screen of death in linux!!!


when i run mplayer I get a blue screen and the whole thing hangs with a blue screen it only happens sometimes and if i reboot a couple of times it will start to work http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v5...es/neutral.gif Any ideas why i get this???


Link to image

output from running mplayer -vo help

Code:
gr@ad:~> mplayer -vo help
MPlayer 1.0pre6-3.3.4 (C) 2000-2004 MPlayer Team
CPU: Intel Pentium 4/Xeon/Celeron Foster (Family: 8, Stepping: 7)
Detected cache-line size is 64 bytes
CPUflags:  MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 0 3DNow2: 0 SSE: 1 SSE2: 1
Compiled with runtime CPU detection - WARNING - this is not optimal!
To get best performance, recompile MPlayer with --disable-runtime-cpudetection.


Available video output drivers:
        xv      X11/Xv
        x11     X11 ( XImage/Shm )
        xover   General X11 driver for overlay capable video output drivers
        gl      X11 (OpenGL)
        gl2     X11 (OpenGL) - multiple textures version
        dga     DGA ( Direct Graphic Access V2.0 )
        sdl     SDL YUV/RGB/BGR renderer (SDL v1.1.7+ only!)
        fbdev   Framebuffer Device
        fbdev2  Framebuffer Device
        aa      AAlib
        zr      Zoran ZR360[56]7/ZR36060 Driver (DC10(+)/buz/lml33/MatroxRR)
        zr2     Zoran ZR360[56]7/ZR36060 Driver (DC10(+)/buz/lml33/MatroxRR)
        bl      Blinkenlights driver: http://www.blinkenlights.de
        vesa    VESA VBE 2.0 video output
        directfb        Direct Framebuffer Device
        dfbmga  DirectFB / Matrox G200/G400/G450/G550
        xvidix  X11 (VIDIX)
        cvidix  console VIDIX
        null    Null video output
        mpegpes Mpeg-PES to DVB card
        yuv4mpeg        yuv4mpeg output for mjpegtools
        png     PNG file
        jpeg    JPEG file
        gif89a  animated GIF output
        tga     Targa output
        pnm     PPM/PGM/PGMYUV file
        md5sum  md5sum of each frame

gr@ad:~>

output from trying to run mplayer from terminal

Code:
gr@ad:~/media/Tv-series/24/S04/E01> mplayer 24.s04e01.hdtv-lol.avi
MPlayer 1.0pre6-3.3.4 (C) 2000-2004 MPlayer Team
CPU: Intel Pentium 4/Xeon/Celeron Foster (Family: 8, Stepping: 7)
Detected cache-line size is 64 bytes
CPUflags:  MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 0 3DNow2: 0 SSE: 1 SSE2: 1
Compiled with runtime CPU detection - WARNING - this is not optimal!
To get best performance, recompile MPlayer with --disable-runtime-cpudetection.


Failed to open /dev/rtc: Permission denied (it should be readable by the user.)
Opening joystick device /dev/input/js0
Can't open joystick device /dev/input/js0 : No such device
Can't init input joystick
Setting up LIRC support...
mplayer: could not connect to socket
mplayer: Permission denied
Failed to open LIRC support.
You will not be able to use your remote control.
Playing 24.s04e01.hdtv-lol.avi.
AVI file format detected.
VIDEO:  [XVID]  624x352  12bpp  23.976 fps  1023.5 kbps (124.9 kbyte/s)
Clip info:
 Software: VirtualDub
==========================================================================
Opening audio decoder: [mp3lib] MPEG layer-2, layer-3
AUDIO: 48000 Hz, 2 ch, 16 bit (0x10), ratio: 16000->192000 (128.0 kbit)
Selected audio codec: [mp3] afm:mp3lib (mp3lib MPEG layer-2, layer-3)
==========================================================================
vo: X11 running at 1024x768 with depth 24 and 32 bpp (":0.0" => local display)
==========================================================================
Opening video decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg's libavcodec codec family
Selected video codec: [ffodivx] vfm:ffmpeg (FFmpeg MPEG-4)
==========================================================================
Checking audio filter chain for 48000Hz/2ch/16bit -> 48000Hz/2ch/16bit...
AF_pre: af format: 2 bps, 2 ch, 48000 hz, little endian signed int
AF_pre: 48000Hz 2ch Signed 16-bit (Little-Endian)
[AO OSS] audio_setup: Can't open audio device /dev/dsp: Device or resource busy
alsa-init: got device=0, subdevice=0
alsa-init: 1 soundcard found, using: default
as you can see it hangs at alsa-init: 1 soundcard found, using: default

Last edited by greenthing; 03-17-2005 at 03:21 PM.
 
Old 03-17-2005, 03:02 PM   #2
acid_kewpie
Moderator
 
Registered: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Distribution: Gentoo, RHEL, Fedora, Centos
Posts: 43,417

Rep: Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981
the audio is failing becuase you're presumably using alsa or arts or esd as a higher level sound server, which will fully control the /dev/dsp node. try using "-ao alsa". you're getting a blue box presumably becuase you're using the xv output, but it's not completing the load for whatever reason, so can't overlay the final video onto the overlay area, i.e. the blue bit. so try a better audio output, or to make sure the video is at least ok, try "-ao null" or "-nosound" to not try to access the sound devices in the first place.
 
Old 03-17-2005, 03:33 PM   #3
greenthing
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Suse 9.3 pro
Posts: 116

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
ok tried what you suggested and the things that worked where the "-ao null" and "-nosound" commands . The "-ao alsa" did not work so what should i do next???

And i almost forgot another problem it occurs in all three players i tried (kaffiene, mplayer and xine) sometimes the bottom half of the screen flickers with two yellow rectangles on top of the video any idea why.. my guess is it has something to do with the codecs but i dont know.

Last edited by greenthing; 03-17-2005 at 03:46 PM.
 
Old 03-17-2005, 04:04 PM   #4
acid_kewpie
Moderator
 
Registered: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Distribution: Gentoo, RHEL, Fedora, Centos
Posts: 43,417

Rep: Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981
in what way didn't alsa work? if you'er in kde, try "-ao arts" if you're in gnome try "-ao esd"
 
Old 03-18-2005, 09:01 AM   #5
greenthing
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Suse 9.3 pro
Posts: 116

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
i meant that if i write "mplayer -ao alsa test.avi" in console it hangs on the same spot. the -ao arts command worked giving me both sound and video as it was supposed to (im using kde) so now twpquestions why did it work and how do i get it to work every time without having to start it from console

EDIT: Found a way by tinkering heres a pic of what i changed Link
So why did it work with -ao alsa have i gained or lost anything ie better/worse sound quality or something?

Last edited by greenthing; 03-18-2005 at 09:17 AM.
 
Old 03-18-2005, 09:08 AM   #6
greenthing
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Suse 9.3 pro
Posts: 116

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
also do you know anything about the flicker problem???
 
Old 03-18-2005, 06:00 PM   #7
acid_kewpie
Moderator
 
Registered: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Distribution: Gentoo, RHEL, Fedora, Centos
Posts: 43,417

Rep: Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981Reputation: 1981
if you're living in KDE all the time, then just use arts, it's not problem. arts will probably in turn be connecting to alsa anyway. you might want to try "mplayer -ao alsa:dmixer" to tell alsa to connect using the dmixer plugin, meaning multiple connections are allowed access to alsa. not sure why that doesn't ship as a default in alsa really, as it's real annoying when it's not there.

as for the flicker... not sure to be honest. try different video outputs i guess. due you have a very high cpu load when it flickers?
 
Old 03-19-2005, 04:20 AM   #8
greenthing
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Suse 9.3 pro
Posts: 116

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
n i dont have a high cpu load ie if i close down all aplications except mplayer and nessesary stuff cpu load will be <10% so thats not the problem. How do i switch between different video outputs. A thing i think is important is that it happens in all players with all formats (avi,wmv,asf and so on) so its probally something external affecting the decoders also if i pause it takes exactlly four seconds for the flicker to dissapera from the paused window but it comes back when i unpause.
 
Old 03-20-2005, 06:43 AM   #9
grenier
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 46

Rep: Reputation: 16
No need for reboot

I don't if you solved your problem, but I thought you'd like to know you don't have to reboot to get control back.

I know in these case, mplayer hogs everything that is X based, but the system still is available.
Just switch to a text console - CTRL+ALT+F1 (or F2, F3 and so on until F6). Log in, do ps -A | grep mplayer, and kill the offending process kill -9 <number given to you by the previous command.
You can then just switch back to your X session with CTRL+ALT+F7.

That should save you some time.
 
Old 03-21-2005, 05:26 AM   #10
greenthing
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Suse 9.3 pro
Posts: 116

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
@greinier my system dosnt hang its only mplayer that hangs no problem pressing ctrl+esc to kill it the reason i reboot is because sometimes mplayer will start to work.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue and gray screen of death -Install issues Wolvenmoon Debian 2 08-21-2005 03:15 AM
Help with Blue Screen of Death Screensaver Garibaldi3489 Linux - General 1 12-14-2004 05:47 AM
X Server hangs up on blue screen after upgrading to Mandrake Linux 10.1 Mr.Ampersand() Linux - Software 7 12-01-2004 11:09 PM
Blue Screen of Death?!?Help Kaiser Linux - General 3 09-17-2003 09:24 PM
Blue Screen of Death!! itsjustme Slackware 2 05-20-2003 09:22 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration