LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking > Linux - Wireless Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Wireless Networking This forum is for the discussion of wireless networking in Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-11-2002, 11:51 PM   #1
justiceisblind
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2002
Location: Stevens Point, WI
Distribution: Mandrake 10.0 (P4 2.8 w/ HT, Radeon 9700 Pro, 80 GB/120GB HDDs)
Posts: 242

Rep: Reputation: 30
How to Configure Wireless 802.11


I just installed Linux on my laptop, which has Wireless capabilities, and many of the buildings that I have classes in only have Wireless connections to the newtork. Does anyone know how I can enable wireless networking in Red Hat 7.3 with Kernel 2.4.18-10? Are there drivers and programs right on the CD's or will I be looking at downloading? I have my ethernet connection working just fine, but I cannot even begin to think of how to enable wireless.... Is this even supported in linux? Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!
 
Old 09-12-2002, 12:40 AM   #2
rohang
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Distribution: Redhat, Open BSD, SuSe, Debian, CentOS
Posts: 177

Rep: Reputation: 30
Wireless networking is supported in linux. Your wireless card will appear as ethx (either eth0, eth1, etc). When you perform an ifconfig -a does it appear?
 
Old 09-12-2002, 11:12 AM   #3
justiceisblind
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2002
Location: Stevens Point, WI
Distribution: Mandrake 10.0 (P4 2.8 w/ HT, Radeon 9700 Pro, 80 GB/120GB HDDs)
Posts: 242

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
This is what ifconfig -a returns, along with info about the loopback device. eth0 is the ethernet card, but there was no indication of the wireless card (which is internal, not PCMICA). Is there some way to enable it, because in WinXP i have to activate the card to use it.

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:E2:81:6D:67
inet addr:204.38.201.97 Bcast:204.38.201.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:3509 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:36 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
RX bytes:417076 (407.3 Kb) TX bytes:4889 (4.7 Kb)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0xd000
 
Old 09-12-2002, 01:32 PM   #4
shoot2kill
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2002
Location: California
Distribution: Red Hat
Posts: 402

Rep: Reputation: 30
try iwconfig to check if your wireless card is present?

You need to find out that the wireless lan from which the building you are accessing is using infrastructure or ad-hoc mode. From there you can configure you wireless NIC. Some info, eg ESSID, WEP key, you might want to find out more.

Try lsmod to look for the wireless module that is loaded if your hardware is detected. If you know your hardware, that will be easier to re-install the latest wireless NIC driver.
 
Old 09-12-2002, 02:06 PM   #5
justiceisblind
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2002
Location: Stevens Point, WI
Distribution: Mandrake 10.0 (P4 2.8 w/ HT, Radeon 9700 Pro, 80 GB/120GB HDDs)
Posts: 242

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
This is what the WindowsXP device manager tells me about my wireless card.

IBM High Rate Wireless LAN Mini PCI Combo Card
Manufacturer: Actiontec Electronics, Inc.
Location: PCI bus 1, device 5, function 0

I will check using lsmod to see if I can find it.
 
Old 09-12-2002, 02:27 PM   #6
shoot2kill
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2002
Location: California
Distribution: Red Hat
Posts: 402

Rep: Reputation: 30
Here is a huge list of wireless drivers available for Linux. Try to search your hardware here.
 
Old 09-12-2002, 03:27 PM   #7
justiceisblind
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2002
Location: Stevens Point, WI
Distribution: Mandrake 10.0 (P4 2.8 w/ HT, Radeon 9700 Pro, 80 GB/120GB HDDs)
Posts: 242

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
here's what I find in the Control Panel of KDE3.

01:05.0 Network controller: Harris Semiconductor: Unknown device 3873 (rev 01)
Subsystem: Action Tec Electronics Inc: Unknown device 0406
Flags: medium devsel, IRQ 11
Memory at 80300000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=4k]
Capabilities: <available only to root>

I know that this is the device because it shows that the IRQ is 11, and Windows showed that too, same memory address too...
 
Old 09-15-2002, 03:53 AM   #8
finegan
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Aug 2001
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 5,700

Rep: Reputation: 65
What model is the wireless card... I've never heard of a chipset from Harris Semiconductor before, great a new one!

Cheers,

Finegan
 
Old 10-03-2002, 02:39 PM   #9
justiceisblind
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2002
Location: Stevens Point, WI
Distribution: Mandrake 10.0 (P4 2.8 w/ HT, Radeon 9700 Pro, 80 GB/120GB HDDs)
Posts: 242

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
it's built in to the laptop.... I figure it's some cheap generic thing with the IBM logo slapped on it.
 
Old 10-05-2002, 01:16 PM   #10
justiceisblind
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2002
Location: Stevens Point, WI
Distribution: Mandrake 10.0 (P4 2.8 w/ HT, Radeon 9700 Pro, 80 GB/120GB HDDs)
Posts: 242

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
I just upgraded to RH 8.0, and There's supposedly wireless support built right in. I searced and found out that I can use the Lucent Orinoco/Prisim 2 driver set... IRQ is 11, but I can't figure out what eth it is.... I am assuming that the Wireless card and the wired NIC are both on the same card, seeing as when I look at the PCI settings they both use IRQ 11..... What's going on there? The wireless feature is built in to the laptop... not a seperate PCMICA card... I don't know anything about laptop hardware, so any insight would be helpful

This is the information that Win XP Pro gives me on the wireless card
(General)
IBM High Rate Wireless LAN MiniPCI Combo Card

Device type: Network Adaptors
Manufacturer: Actiontec Electronics Inc
Location: PCI bus 1, device 5, function 0
(Resources)

Memory Range: 80300000 - 80300FFF
IRQ: 11




Last edited by justiceisblind; 10-05-2002 at 01:24 PM.
 
Old 10-05-2002, 09:05 PM   #11
finegan
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Aug 2001
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 5,700

Rep: Reputation: 65
The only wireless card I know of on the market from Actiontec is an 802.11a card, is that what you have? If so, post back as much info you can give us on it... there's a driver in the works for it, very alpha, but 802.11a isn't compatible with 802.11b...

Weird,

Finegan
 
Old 10-07-2002, 11:28 AM   #12
Rengoku
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: 0
Hi ppl. I'm glad I found this thread cos I'm having the exact problem with this. Anyway, lemme help by providing some details for this IBM High Rate Wireless LAN Mini PCI combo card -

Actiontec Electronics, Inc
PRISM Wireless LAN

Network Driver Version 1.07.25
Configuration Utility Version 1.07.25
NIC Firmware Version 1.03.03.00

Dunno if this helps

Rengoku
 
Old 10-07-2002, 12:19 PM   #13
justiceisblind
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2002
Location: Stevens Point, WI
Distribution: Mandrake 10.0 (P4 2.8 w/ HT, Radeon 9700 Pro, 80 GB/120GB HDDs)
Posts: 242

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
the card appears to be a 802.11b card.... on actiontec's website I found what I figured to be the card... it's a 802.11b wireless and 56.6k winmodem combo card and uses a prisim chipset.
 
Old 10-07-2002, 01:28 PM   #14
finegan
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Aug 2001
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 5,700

Rep: Reputation: 65
If its PCI and indeed a prism card, you probably want to look into either the orinoco modules... which might or might not do a good job of running the card, or the www.linux-wlan.net project's gear... which may or may not work at all.

The orinoco modules are already onboard, so just try:

modprobe hermes
modprobe orinoco
modprobe orinoco_pci

and see if anything kicksm if not, you probably have an eth1.

Cheers,

Finegan
 
Old 10-10-2002, 12:26 PM   #15
justiceisblind
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2002
Location: Stevens Point, WI
Distribution: Mandrake 10.0 (P4 2.8 w/ HT, Radeon 9700 Pro, 80 GB/120GB HDDs)
Posts: 242

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
I get nothing, except for a command prompt after I do the modprobe for these modules. what does this mean exactally??
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
802.11b v 802.11g Wireless PC cards Ishkabibble Linux - Wireless Networking 1 02-24-2005 03:44 PM
wireless problems; Broadcom 802.11G Mini PCI Wireless with redhat WS surfbass Linux - Laptop and Netbook 1 12-17-2004 01:48 PM
Wireless intel PRO/Wireless 2100 802.11b WLAN gummimann Linux - Hardware 0 03-01-2004 05:20 PM
Wireless 802.11G Mogwa_ Slackware 2 02-27-2004 04:37 AM
RedHat 8.0 with 802.11a 802.11b and 802.11g Bryanx Linux - Hardware 2 05-23-2003 03:12 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking > Linux - Wireless Networking

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration