LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Mandriva
User Name
Password
Mandriva This Forum is for the discussion of Mandriva (Mandrake) Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-28-2005, 11:00 AM   #1
conn-fused
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 124

Rep: Reputation: 15
nvidia, Xorg and Mandrake 10.1


I'm trying to install the nvidia drivers (NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-6629-pkg1.run) to use my Riva TNT2 on a Mandrake 10.1 system. After editting xorg.conf and trying to start X, I crash back to console with the message: Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

I've used the very same drivers with the very same hardware under Mandrake 9.2. I've even checked the screen configuration in my old (9.2) XConfig86-4.conf file. There are no differences in the screen section.

What's going on?
 
Old 01-28-2005, 11:48 AM   #2
Lakota
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: London, ON, Canada
Distribution: Mandriva 2007 Free
Posts: 507

Rep: Reputation: 30
Read and try this:
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...94#post1056394

BTW: If you don't need to use nautilus, use whatever file browser you normally use. I have since switched to Krusader. Even Konqueror will work.

Last edited by Lakota; 01-28-2005 at 11:54 AM.
 
Old 01-28-2005, 12:17 PM   #3
reddazz
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: N. E. England
Distribution: Fedora, CentOS, Debian
Posts: 16,298

Rep: Reputation: 77
If you are using a Riva TNT2 card, the 6629 drivers won't work, just search on this site and you will find that most people with Riva TNT2 drivers had to resort to the old 6111 drivers coz the 6629 drivers cause the system to hang.
 
Old 01-29-2005, 05:43 AM   #4
conn-fused
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 124

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Alright, I've tried your suggestions:

Lakota:
Calling "modprobe nvidia" (or adding nvidia to modprobe.preload) gets the module loaded and allows me to start X. Everything looks good until KDE tries to load the panel. This doesn't work out, and the panel becomes transparent. System tray icons stack on top of one another, the mouse is unusable and leaves a trail behind itself, etc., etc. Still, I'm closer now than I was before; thanks.

Reddazz:
I tried 6111 (and 6106) but neither would compile. So far, only 6629 has compiled. I will trawl through the site for more info on this. Thanks.

If anyone has any other suggestions, or knows what I've missed, I'd be happy to hear from you.
 
Old 01-29-2005, 06:38 AM   #5
conn-fused
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 124

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
OK, fixed it:

To get the 6111 drivers to work you have to go to console (leave X) and:

sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-6111-pkg1.run -x
cd NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-6111-pkg1/
emacs usr/src/nv/nv.c
change line 3697 from "case PM_SAVE_STATE:" to "case PM_SUSPEND_MEM"
su
/.nvidia-installer

Now edit your xorg.conf file as instructed (by default you should just have to change device "nv" to device "nvidia", but also make sure load "glx" is there and load "dri" and load "GLcore" are not.

modprobe nvidia (still as root; NB: to make this happen automatically after reboot, emacs /etc/modprobe.preload and add the line "nvidia")
exit (to go back to a user-level shell)
startx

And you're done. My Riva TNT2 now gets a glxgears frame rate of 267.00 FPS (it was 140 when using the nv driver).

Thanks to everyone who helped out.
 
Old 01-29-2005, 09:05 AM   #6
Lakota
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: London, ON, Canada
Distribution: Mandriva 2007 Free
Posts: 507

Rep: Reputation: 30
Conn-fused, Thanks to you too.
I did not realize there was a problem with 6629 and riva card. I use 6629 and a geforce. Never used Riva before.

I have a old p3 with a riva card I recently aquired that I will be installing Slackware, Debian, Fedora Core 3 and Free BSD. I would have been in for a big headache 4 times over later today.
 
Old 01-29-2005, 09:27 AM   #7
conn-fused
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 124

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Lakota:
Good luck with your Riva; there is a little more to this than I'd first thought...

I noticed that simple rendering was not working as quickly as it should. For instance, there was a noticable delay in filling in the background colour in a new Mozilla window, and simple games like KolorLines had delays before animation kicked in.

If you get this problem, set your colours in X down to 16 bit (not 24). You can either edit the xorg.conf file and change the value there, or, in X, choose Configure your Computer -> Hardware -> Screen Resolution and set it to 65535 colours (16 bit) there.

Last edited by conn-fused; 01-29-2005 at 09:50 AM.
 
Old 01-30-2005, 01:34 AM   #8
reddazz
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: N. E. England
Distribution: Fedora, CentOS, Debian
Posts: 16,298

Rep: Reputation: 77
The drivers for Freebsd work fine, but 6629 and riva tnt2 on Linux just don't get along fine.
 
Old 01-30-2005, 03:00 AM   #9
Lakota
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: London, ON, Canada
Distribution: Mandriva 2007 Free
Posts: 507

Rep: Reputation: 30
thanks, good to know about the BSD drivers. I installed Slackware today and it looked like........well it looked like Linux. Don't know what I expected, but playing with that today seemed like I was still using my Mandrake minus the draketools. Oh well, won't bother trying out the other distro's, might try FreeBSD to see if that peeks my interest.
 
Old 01-30-2005, 09:10 AM   #10
reddazz
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: N. E. England
Distribution: Fedora, CentOS, Debian
Posts: 16,298

Rep: Reputation: 77
The main difference is the init scripts, Slack uses BSD style init scripts, plus as you said no gui config tools. Apart from that I just find it to be similar to any other Linux distro. I do like it's simplicity though and it's a great distro for those that like to be in total control of their system.
 
Old 02-08-2005, 08:48 PM   #11
Realaxis
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: 0
This worked for me

Alright, this worked wonders for me... simple fix...
Install the most recent Nvidia driver. At the time of posting, it is 1.0-6629.
After installing drivers, open up /etc/modprobe.preload in your favorite editor and add this word on it's own line... ready for this? nvidia
That's it. Now the video drivers work just fine.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
glXgetActiveScreen, xorg 6.8.2, nvidia edong23 Linux - Software 1 11-28-2005 07:01 PM
xorg doesn't want to use the nvidia driver eantoranz Ubuntu 1 10-21-2005 02:42 PM
nvidia Uninstall with xorg ThirtySixBelow Fedora 2 08-26-2005 05:52 PM
Mandrake 10.1 Xorg nvidia tweaks crash_zero Mandriva 3 02-09-2005 05:25 PM
nvidia tv-out xorg kingterr0r Slackware 1 09-02-2004 06:01 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Mandriva

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration