LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - General
User Name
Password
Linux - General This Linux forum is for general Linux questions and discussion.
If it is Linux Related and doesn't seem to fit in any other forum then this is the place.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 11-21-2004, 11:55 AM   #1
DavidTempler
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Distribution: Ubuntu 6.06
Posts: 172

Rep: Reputation: 30
Virtual CDrom ?


Hi,

Can you have a Virtual CDrom as you can in Windows?

I ask because I am remastering a live CD & it would be handy to be able to run from Hard Disc before burning to CD

I know I could use a CDRW but I feel a virtual drive would be easier & take less time

Anyone have any ideas ??

Dave T.
 
Old 11-21-2004, 12:05 PM   #2
secesh
Senior Member
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: Savannah, GA
Distribution: Ubuntu, Gentoo, Mythbuntu, ClarkConnect
Posts: 1,154

Rep: Reputation: 47
loopback --

Code:
mount -t iso9660 -o loop /location/of/an.iso /mount/point/
 
Old 11-21-2004, 12:08 PM   #3
The_JinJ
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Scotland
Distribution: Suse, OpenWRT
Posts: 299

Rep: Reputation: 30
Re: Virtual CDrom ?

Quote:
Originally posted by DavidTempler
Hi,

Can you have a Virtual CDrom as you can in Windows?

I ask because I am remastering a live CD & it would be handy to be able to run from Hard Disc before burning to CD

I know I could use a CDRW but I feel a virtual drive would be easier & take less time

Anyone have any ideas ??

Dave T.
Use the loopback device - should be enabled by default

mount -o loop -t iso9660 file.iso /mnt/wherever
 
Old 11-21-2004, 02:00 PM   #4
DavidTempler
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Distribution: Ubuntu 6.06
Posts: 172

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Thank you for your replies...

Can I use this in maybe a script to boot from lilo ?

Would be nice

Thanks again
 
Old 11-21-2004, 02:55 PM   #5
The_JinJ
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Scotland
Distribution: Suse, OpenWRT
Posts: 299

Rep: Reputation: 30
Quote:
Originally posted by DavidTempler
Thank you for your replies...

Can I use this in maybe a script to boot from lilo ?

Would be nice

Thanks again
Add it into fstab - use fstab-sync

Last edited by The_JinJ; 11-21-2004 at 02:58 PM.
 
Old 11-21-2004, 06:36 PM   #6
acid_kewpie
Moderator
 
Registered: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Distribution: Gentoo, RHEL, Fedora, Centos
Posts: 43,417

Rep: Reputation: 1984Reputation: 1984Reputation: 1984Reputation: 1984Reputation: 1984Reputation: 1984Reputation: 1984Reputation: 1984Reputation: 1984Reputation: 1984Reputation: 1984
just a quick note Dave. Don't think of a loopback mount as kinda link a windows virtual CD. the windows thing is a high level hack, and a poor one at that. the unix loopback device is nice and low level and very much part of the Linux subsystem. totally different league!
 
Old 11-22-2004, 03:08 AM   #7
DavidTempler
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Distribution: Ubuntu 6.06
Posts: 172

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Windows virtual Cdrom may have been a bad idea lol

I want to be able to boot iso (live CD) from Hard Disc

iso is on say /dev/hdb1 then point lilo at it then run it

so far I have had no luck

Knoppix (& others) all have different ways of booting either by using Cdrom to start boot up or floppy

So I would like to get live distro set up as I want then test (from Hard Disc) move it to USB flash drive or CDRW

Will give mount loop a try

Thanks again

Dave T
 
Old 11-22-2004, 03:55 AM   #8
qwijibow
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: nottingham england
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 2,672

Rep: Reputation: 47
ahhh.... thats different...

you need to greate 3 partitons on the hard drive... a small 10 meg boot partiton, a 700meg partiton for the cd image, and a 3rd partiton for writable space..

use the dd command to copy the cd iso onto the 700 meg partiton,
install grub on the boot partiton. boot the live-cd, then copy the kernel and initrd onto the boot partiton.
configure grub to load the livecd kernel and initrd.. and away you go...

ive only tested this with knoppix, but it works great.
the kernel and initrd scan the entire IDE bus looking for a cd-image, and they should sucessfully find it in your hard drive partiton.

the only down side, is the live cd will treat that hard drive partiton as a CD, which generates errors when you shutdown and knoppix tries to eject the disk... lol... but it isnt fatal.

Last edited by qwijibow; 11-22-2004 at 03:57 AM.
 
Old 11-22-2004, 04:25 AM   #9
DavidTempler
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Distribution: Ubuntu 6.06
Posts: 172

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Thank you for your reply

Yes thats a good idea too I can use swap partition (from old install) 10mb no problem

The thing that I do not understand is why I cannot see boot screen (where you input cheat codes) will this work doing it your way .... or do you add them to append ?

Dave T
 
Old 11-22-2004, 09:46 AM   #10
qwijibow
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: nottingham england
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 2,672

Rep: Reputation: 47
how do you mean ?
the so called "cheat codes" are just parameters that are passed to the kernel when you first boot.

i recomended using grub simply because i prefere it... if you like, you could use lilo.

but the cheat codes can be given in the usual way.
 
Old 11-22-2004, 11:59 AM   #11
DavidTempler
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Distribution: Ubuntu 6.06
Posts: 172

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Thank you

append="knoppix26" for example

Dave T.
 
Old 11-22-2004, 06:30 PM   #12
qwijibow
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: nottingham england
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 2,672

Rep: Reputation: 47
nope..... in knoppix, when you enter linux26 that is the name of the kernel you want to load...

so the lilo command to load kernel26 would be "kernel /path/to/kernel-2.6" and "initrd /path/to/initrd-2.6"
with append = optional kernel parameters

and in grub... "kernel /path/to/kernel-2.6 optional kernel parameters" and "initrd /path/to/initrd-2.6"
 
Old 11-27-2004, 06:52 AM   #13
DavidTempler
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Distribution: Ubuntu 6.06
Posts: 172

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Hi,

I need to figure out a path ;-)

I have iso loaded on /dev/hdb1

Want to know the long format ie

/dev/ide/bus*/lun0 etc..

Maybe if I can figure out path then I can get iso to load

Iknow where it is but Live Cd does not lol

Dave T.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
vsftpd, web uploads, vsftpd virtual users, apache virtual hosts, home directories jerryasher Linux - Software 7 02-18-2007 07:29 AM
virtual hosts, virtual ip's? kuplo Linux - Newbie 3 11-29-2005 09:44 PM
Virtual CDROM Drive in Suse TigerLinux SUSE / openSUSE 4 10-20-2005 05:18 AM
virtual cdrom cdemu question atentaten Linux - Software 8 11-08-2004 09:00 PM
virtual machine can't find cdrom device bruno buys Linux - Software 0 05-26-2004 07:58 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - General

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration