LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-03-2004, 03:16 AM   #1
tenchi
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: 0
tvtuner+sblive=no sound in kde


Hi!

I installed slackware 10.0 a few times on my desktop computer which is an AMD 2500+ with a tvtunre card (bttv) and an sblive 5.1. In alsamixer the tvtuner is the default card, I have tu use alsamixer -c 1 to reach the soundcard. Probably this is the reason why kde has no sound. I even upgraded to kde 3.3, but still the same. I tried everything I found on the internet but to no avail. Other applications like xmms have sound, in gnome there is also sound. What can I do to have sound in kde?
 
Old 09-03-2004, 04:38 AM   #2
suslik
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: OpenSuse 10.x
Posts: 262

Rep: Reputation: 30
I dont have 2 sound devices, but I am entertaining a guess:

In Control Center > Sound & Multimedia > Sound System > "Hardware" tab there is an option to "override default location" or "use other custom options"
One of these two should take a reference to the soundcard device.

Another way (saw it in earlier threads here) is to block TV card from being detected by hotplug, and allow the Sound card to become default for alsa. Then, you load modules for tv tuner.
 
Old 09-03-2004, 05:05 AM   #3
tenchi
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 8

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Yeah, I tried to give another location for the soundcard there, but it just didn't work. I couldn't guess the right location. Any tips?

The other solution seems interesting too, but I don't know how to do it... :-(
 
Old 09-03-2004, 06:43 AM   #4
slackrush
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Slackware 9.1
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: 0
Got thus from a post I found here, it worked for me.

Fix for alsa loading devices like bt87x as card0.
( post #1)


Synopsis:
A easy quick fix for bt87x (and possibly other things) being loaded as card0 instead of the sound card you want to have as default. The fix appears to work for other devices like modems that are set as card 0.

The Fix: Add the module you don't want alsa to use to the blacklist for hotplug.

Full FIX instructions at bottom.

Introduction:
Several people have had a problem with alsa in slack 10. It seems alsa will pick their TV capture card as card 0 and put their sound card as card 1. This is a bad thing because card 0 is the default playback device for alsa.

After looking through various suggestions for a fix I was left unsatisfied. Some fixes include: altering alsa.conf default device settings (messy) making a asoundrc file and redefining the default device (treating the symptoms not the disease?), uninstalling alsa and rebuilding from source excluding the bt87x driver (time consuming but can work), and finally removing alsa and going oss (biting off your nose to... ).

The following fix will work given certain conditions are apply:
A: You use a patch cord to get sound from your capture card to your sound cards aux input for externally to line in OR You don't need to send sound from your capture card through your computer (aka you use external speakers only that are plugged directly into the capture card)
B: cat /proc/asound/cards shows card 0 as something other then your real soundcard (example bt87x).
C. your real sound card actually functions with alsa.

Background:
In anycase here is some background, in slackware 10.0 alsa driver loading does not appear to be performed directly by /etc/rc.d/rc.alsa . As a comments in rc.alsa indicate rc.alsa will only load alsa driver if something else hasn't already, and it mentions hotplug as the example. The modules.conf alsa entries seem to be superceded by the hotplug loading of alsa I have not tested this, but needless to say a entry in modules.conf like:
alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0
is ineffectual in getting alsa to load the correct card 0 at boot, thought manually modprobing the modules, as would be expected does.

Prefix Actions Taken:
installed slackware 10.0
ran alsamixer
controls appeared for bt87x
ran alsamixer -c 1
controls for real sound card appeared, if you have three cards then it may be -c 2

THE FIX:
0.
A. Run alsaconf
B. Pick the driver for your actual sound card, interestingly enough bt87x wasn't listed when prompted to pick the card driver.
* Zero step may not be necessary but I did as it gives your some entries in modules.conf my slack 10 install did not by default have any.

1. Edit /etc/hotplug/blacklist
example:
pico /etc/hotplug/blacklist

* this file is a list of modules that are not to be loaded by hotplug, for example you
will notice oss modules are all there. The syntax for the file is simple: "driver
namealone (without any spaces) on a line. Other lines are ignored."

2. Add the bt87x module to the list.
example:
# alsa has been a bad little boy
snd-bt87x

3. Save the file

4. reboot the computer or manual reinitialize
*note telinit 1 is not enough, if you want to manually reinitialize then you better know how too.

5. After reboot run alsamixer. The correct sound card should come up. Unmute if necessary. Master and pcm at least.

6. Hopefully you have sound now.

Conclusion:
The reason I like this fix is it was simple and did not require altering alsa. It may not work given some circumstances but it worked for me and two other people I helped in IRC. Hope it works for you too. This was tested on two systems with bt87x and one with some voice modem device autoset as card 0.



Appendix:

FYI When I was working on fixing my problem I used this manual way of getting sound to work *until you reboot* it is to run alsaconf (to get some module.conf entries) then modprobe -r snd-bt87x and snd-intel8x0 (my real sound card, yours may be different) and modprobe -r all snd-* entries if neccessary. then I modprobe snd-intel8x0 and ran alsamixer. sure enough alsa had loaded correctly as set in the modules.conf file with my nforce2 card as card0 and sound worked correctly. additionally cat /proc/asound/cards showed only this entry after manually modprobe starting alsa drivers:
0 [nForce2 ]: NFORCE - NVidia nForce2
NVidia nForce2 at 0xd9080000, irq 12
 
Old 10-07-2004, 05:38 AM   #5
aylov
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: BG
Posts: 19

Rep: Reputation: 0
Thank you slackrush for your conprehensive post. Its HOWTO designed .

Last edited by aylov; 10-07-2004 at 05:42 AM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No sound SBlive 7.1 micder Slackware 6 07-31-2005 01:21 PM
mandrake 10.1 (sblive no sound) mrevo845 Linux - Hardware 15 11-25-2004 11:10 AM
SBLive 5.1 In Gentoo - tried to setup ALSA now KDE Sound doesn't even work kierl Linux - Hardware 13 04-21-2004 04:36 AM
SBLive 5.1 Analog sound Karts Linux - Hardware 2 05-10-2003 02:37 AM
On Permissions AND SBLive! Sound kenshee Linux - Newbie 11 03-08-2003 04:26 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration