LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password
Debian This forum is for the discussion of Debian Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-16-2004, 07:59 PM   #1
Rav3n
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Portugal
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 36

Rep: Reputation: 15
apt-cache question


Hi all,

1- when i do a apt-cache search for the latest kernel release, the most recent kernel i get is 2.4.19. Is this apt-cache updatable or something?

2- Where can i edit the url where i download my apps?

Thanks in advance
 
Old 07-16-2004, 08:14 PM   #2
macondo
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Central America
Distribution: Slackwre64-current Devuan
Posts: 1,034

Rep: Reputation: 62
1- when i do a apt-cache search for the latest kernel release, the most recent kernel i get is 2.4.19. Is this apt-cache updatable or something...

What happens is that xterm comes with the ability to scroll back 64 lines only.
you have to config your ./Xresources, it deletes anything beyond that as in your case.

I just wrote this on another thread explaining how to expand in xterm the amount of lines in order to scrollback:

"That's because it only stores 64 lines by default. Here's my xterm properties:

xterm*background: black
xterm*foreground: gray90
xterm*font: 10x20
xterm*scrollBar: true
xterm*rightScrollBar: true
xterm*saveLines: 20000
xterm*cursorColor: yellow

copy/paste it into your /home/your_user_name/.Xresources file with your favorite editor as root. Save and exit.

after that, still as root, on the terminal type this:


xrdb -merge /home/your_user_name/.Xresources

then logout/login

after you come back, you will be able to scroll back (by pressing the middle button of your mouse on the xterm scrollbar) 20000 lines, you will have a yellow cursor, a scrollbar and a larger, easy to see xterm with a black background and white fonts.



About your second question, sometimes i don't understand , are you referring to the sources list in order to dist-upgrade to a different version? If so:

/etc/apt/sources.list

read the second article on my signature, Part II

boa sorte!

Last edited by macondo; 07-16-2004 at 08:34 PM.
 
Old 07-16-2004, 08:28 PM   #3
Rav3n
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Portugal
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 36

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
1- Even with the scroll, what i meant was that if i do
Code:
apt-cache search kernel-source | grep 2.6
no results are found.

2- For example, if i do
Code:
apt-get install kde
it will get the packages from ftp.uevora.pt, and i want to change that
 
Old 07-16-2004, 08:48 PM   #4
macondo
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Central America
Distribution: Slackwre64-current Devuan
Posts: 1,034

Rep: Reputation: 62
if you fix the number of lines to scrollback in xterm, following the instructions, and do a:

apt-cache search kernel 2.6

it will bring everything dealing with kernel 2.6, because NOW, it has the space to show it there.

"it will get the packages from ftp.uevora.pt, and i want to change that "

as root:

apt-setup

it will take you to the config page identical to the one you used during the installation. Choose your continent, server, etc. IIRC, it will give you a default Sarge sources.list. change it according to your needs, afterwards, do an

apt-get update
apt-get upgrade (if you want to stay there) OR
apt-get dist-upgrade

(if you want to move up to Sid, and if you have changed the sources.list to sid, obvio)

I hear germany has good fast servers.
 
Old 07-16-2004, 09:21 PM   #5
Rav3n
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Portugal
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 36

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
What happens is that i dont use xterm(i still dont have X), i'm using the console and at the moment i'm replying this post with lynx, which is a very hard task for a newbie like me hehe.
 
Old 07-16-2004, 09:26 PM   #6
macondo
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Central America
Distribution: Slackwre64-current Devuan
Posts: 1,034

Rep: Reputation: 62
at the console do a 'su', become root:

#apt-get install discover mdetect read-edid fluxbox

reboot

see if you get in, login as username/password, once in, right-click on the desktop and choose xterm. Read the articles listed in my signature so you have a clue what you're doing, and will talk tomorrow.

ˇLé os artigos, sim isso, nao dá pé!

Last edited by macondo; 07-16-2004 at 09:35 PM.
 
Old 07-17-2004, 08:25 AM   #7
macondo
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Central America
Distribution: Slackwre64-current Devuan
Posts: 1,034

Rep: Reputation: 62
at the console do a 'su', become root:

#apt-get install discover mdetect read-edid fluxbox


I forgot to add that after installing these apps, do a:

dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xfree86
 
Old 07-17-2004, 09:38 AM   #8
Rav3n
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Portugal
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 36

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Maybe i haven't explained very well. I don't have X, because i can't get it my mouse to work. The reason i want to update the kernel is simply to get my mouse to work. Till then, i don't have X, and i don't use xterm. So everything i do is using console and i can't find kernel 2.6.7 in the search.
 
Old 07-17-2004, 10:34 AM   #9
Dead Parrot
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Debian GNU/kFreeBSD
Posts: 1,597

Rep: Reputation: 46
You can use apt-setup to choose a Debian mirror close to you. Then you can open /etc/apt/sources.list using a text editor (such as nano) and make sure that you've got the repository you want (stable, testing, or unstable).

Then you need to update APT database by doing "apt-get update" (or by launching aptitude and pressing the "u" key). After this "apt-cache search kernel-source | more" should show you the available kernel source packages. (In aptitude the kernel-source packages are under "devel -> main" category.)

You need to point sources.list to testing or unstable to get any results for 2.6.x kernels -- you won't find kernel 2.6.x from stable repositories.

Last edited by Dead Parrot; 07-17-2004 at 10:39 AM.
 
Old 07-17-2004, 10:49 AM   #10
macondo
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Central America
Distribution: Slackwre64-current Devuan
Posts: 1,034

Rep: Reputation: 62
"Maybe i haven't explained very well."

no kidding.

"I don't have X, because i can't get it my mouse to work. The reason i want to update the kernel is simply to get my mouse to work. Till then, i don't have X, and i don't use xterm. So everything i do is using console and i can't find kernel 2.6.7 in the search."

You should have said that at the beginning.
We still don't know what kernel you actually have, or what mouse, or what errors you were given.

If you are using kernel 2.6,x:

#debian wiki
http://www.linuks.mine.nu/debian-faq-wiki/

2.6.1. Getting PS/2 and USB mice to work with 2.6.x kernels

As root:

echo -e 'mousedev\npsmouse' >> /etc/modules
modprobe mousedev
modprobe psmouse

(You only need to do this once)

If you have kernel 2.4.x, it should work with my previous postings or the instructions from the articles on my signature, unless it's a usb mouse, something we don't know because you haven't told us.

This thread started with a problem with xterm, when in reality, is a problem of
X/mouse. You have to learn to prioritize, first fix X/mouse, then xterm, after that compile a new kernel or install a kernel-image, we all want to help you, but you don't give any pertinent information, it's like pulling teeth.

Last edited by macondo; 07-17-2004 at 11:00 AM.
 
Old 07-17-2004, 05:31 PM   #11
Rav3n
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Portugal
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 36

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Well the main reason is that i want to update my kernel to 2.6.x I have kernel 2.2. I don't understand you're bad mood, because "Dead Parrot" got it at first time, so i think he is a dentist :P
Anyway, continuing with my post:
i've edit /etc/apt/sources.list and added a few mirrors, for example: deb http://ftp.uevora.pt/debian/ unstable main contrib, among others. after doing that and saving the sources.list, i done a apt-update, and i get the following error: "dynamic MMap ran out of room!". So i can't update it.
Any ideas ?

Thanks in advance.

##EDIT## I've now used the forum search and found a possible solution for my problem... shame on me! I'll post feedback or questions in a few moments

Last edited by Rav3n; 07-17-2004 at 05:42 PM.
 
Old 07-17-2004, 06:05 PM   #12
Dead Parrot
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Debian GNU/kFreeBSD
Posts: 1,597

Rep: Reputation: 46
One step at a time. Once you'll get these initial problems sorted out, you'll find macondo's advices very useful.

No dentists in this family -- just parrots, penguins and other birds of a feather.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
apt could not lock the cache file abadile Debian 4 06-20-2005 12:35 PM
apt-cache version check allelopath Linux - Software 3 04-12-2005 11:40 AM
One apt cache to rule them all... GameboyHippo Debian 1 05-26-2004 02:43 PM
How to 'apt-cache search' & 'apt-file search' by distribution? davidas Debian 3 04-19-2004 01:56 PM
APT questions -- file on the mirror, not in the cache... MatthewSabin Linux - Software 6 06-14-2003 11:34 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration